We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No free wifi”
Review of Korea Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Korea Garden Lodge
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“No free wifi”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

booked for a business trip and while Executive room was large and beds comfortable, I ended up having to buy access to wifi as the hotel's system was 'down'.

Initial impression of the room was that it was in a bit of a state (chipped toilet seat and holed pillowcases) but it was sufficient for my needs, although why provide a kettle with no cups?

It did get very cool during the day (so much so that I took my laptop down to the poolside to work to warm up) and was chilly at night. Also my room (E7) had the 'smokers' tree outside it so the room got fumigated if people were gathered around it.

The restaurant food was good although I found the portions too big. Breakfast was good starting at 6am. Staff on the whole were friendly.

Room Tip: E7 got the sun first thing then cooled down the rest of the day. Other side of the hedge from the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    29
    44
    23
    12
See reviews for
9
24
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My sense is that must be a lot of variation between the several levels of accommodation at KGL. Or they are under new management since the reviews posted last fall.

We stayed in Gold level doubles (2nd tier, I think), only because the Silver's were all booked. We paid the most here of any hotel in Malawi: $65 USD for a double. But that included a very substantial breakfast for two, so not too bad.

The rooms were spacious, clean, quiet, and ensuite. The hot water worked (!) and the water pressure was excellent. The wi-fi was spotty, but internet worked on the two lobby computers. The dining area was lovely and the pool looked quite clean. We ate lunch and breakfast here and both meals were excellent. Breakfast included custom-made omelets, cereal, fresh fruit and avocados, and seemed to be all-you-can-eat.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Were there again, had no choice. Still not a good attitude at the front office! Not interested... Now we had the gold room (normally the executive) but not worth the price! Had to ask for second towel, poor furniture, small and not a clean bathroom.
Breakfast: Kind personal but had to ask for plates (were finished), mugs (finished), juice.....
Next time I will really go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lilongwe hotels

Boca Raton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We chose Korea Garden because of the included breakfast buffet and wifi/internet. The wifi was never working while we were there, but they have 2 computers to use free of charge. Having backpacked around the world, Africa is the only continent where we've had to pay for internet at hotels/hostels so this is a big plus. The breakfast is good too- eggs, juice, potatoes, fruit, toast, cereal, coffee, tea, and even some Korean food. The restaurant is not cheap but it's not expensive either and very good.

The budget rooms are somewhat dungeon like but they are cool and come with a fan and nets. There is also a sink for laundry. The plus side is you are paying $30/night but you have access to a nice pool, lounge, and restaurant which you wouldn't have at a hostel.

Can't speak for the other rooms, so I can recommend for backpackers looking for a break from the hostel circuit, and you can't beat the free breakfast buffet & internet!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My first time in Malawi, so went in with no expectations. Definitely not western in standards, and despite the name (Koren Garden) our group of 5 definitely experienced the 3rd world African atmosphere. First off, none of us are complainers and were simply glad for a place to recuperate after 20+ hours of flying coach, especially before driving 3 hours to a remote location near Lake Malawi. We stayed both in the Bronze rooms, and the Silver rooms (I think), one on the way out, and one on the way in. No a/c, but the windows were screened, and mosquito nets were already in place above the beds.
Differences: BRONZE ROOMS are small, just enough for two twin beds, a fan on a table in-between, a folding chair and squeezed in desk. Communal showers and toilets, nice and clean, all accessible without leaving the building where the 8 bronze rooms were located. Sink just outside main doorway, also covered. And 2 clean "chaises" by a coffee table within the covered porch. Because of room location on the property, shade, they were cool. Someone posted a comment about it being like a prison exp to stay here, yes possibly true because of their size. But my roomie and I enjoyed great chats and the size was very tolerable for just 2 nights. SILVER ROOMS are double the size, same furnishings, but with an upholstered armless chair. There is a bathroom inside the room which is much more comfortable, but it is quite worn looking. these rooms had a tv, which we had no interest in and cannot comment on, and seemed warmer at night because of their position on the property.
The RESTAURANT is very relaxing, and their breakfast buffet is fun, again remember not Western. Fresh egg omelet bar, limited choices and forgetful chef. Hot food that is more local in style, beans, chili, ground chicken/veggie patties, etc. Cereals, breads, small choice of fresh tropical fruit, incl avocados, and fresh juice. Dinner too was relaxing, portions are not big, choices n cuisine are not anything to brag about, but satisfying, convenient n relaxing. We all stayed late into the eve, past dinner hour playing games and laughing. Saw them sweep and spray for bugs every morn, tho the flying roaches (all over Malawi) are attracted to the lights at night.
The POOL is between the restaurant n bar, pretty but awkward for swimming. Small also, but didn't pick this place for that.
STAFF were friendly enough, but the majority of the reception staff was rather indifferent. At one point my friend was either bitten or developed an allergic reaction to something she ate, cause her lip swelled up quite a bit. When the reception staff was informed they sent down a young lady to look at it. We're not sure if she was a nurse or just one of the staff. She said she would call her boss and get back to us, but never did. Thankfully we had an antihistamine, and decided to go ahead with our departure.
WARNINGS:
Smoking is allowed in the restaurant which is open air.
Inspect your nets, in both our rooms my nets had many large holes.
There is no place to hang your clothes in the Bronze communal showers, will get wet.
Hot water not reliable in Bronze rooms, late afternoon showers best.
Some Bronze room windows face the staff quarters, and they're all up by 5-5:30am.
Check for bugs in high n low corners of all rooms, big ant population in one of ours.

I won't slam the lodge, none of us 5 would. Conditions better than most of the Malawians have that we've dealt with over last 4 years. If I was traveling to the Grand Canyon, Florida, Washington DC, Hawaii, or even Dominican Republic, I'd slam this place hard. But in Malawi, where soap is a luxury for many, this place was a good way to save on our team's expenses. Next trip tho, I think we're going to dish out a bit more money n try something else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Got2Teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

You'd have to be mad to stay in Lilongwe anymore then you have to. The Korean Garden Lodge certainly fills the void for a transit stop.

They have a very comfortable sports bar on the premises. Free internet service & swimming pool. The restaurant serves up a decent feed.
Overall, quite comfortable environment in the middle of a not so nice city.
The rooms are a bit delapitated, and the shower in our (silver) room sprays more water on the floor then on the human trying to bathe.
You can then use that water on the floor to bath in the morning because you'll be ankle deep in the morning. No drain.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piarts_ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Rooms were musty
Mosquito nets did not fit the beds
Breakfast was worth missing!
Location was close to the Spar and some other shops but not much else
Staff were absent except for round the very dirty looking pool
Expect an early wake as the nearby mosque called to prayer at 4am

The only up was that it was relatively near the airport

Room Tip: There isn't one I don't think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lilongwe hotels
0.4 mi away
Kiboko Town Hotel
Kiboko Town Hotel
#1 of 12 in Lilongwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
3.4 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Madidi Lodge
Madidi Lodge
#7 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunbird Capital
Sunbird Capital
#4 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbird Lilongwe
Sunbird Lilongwe
#5 of 12 in Lilongwe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korea Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korea Garden Lodge

Property: Korea Garden Lodge
Address: Plot No.3056, Tsiranana Avenue | Area 3, Lilongwe, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Central Region > Lilongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Lilongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Korea Garden Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 338
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Korea Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korea Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing