We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Korea Garden Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madidi Lodge(Lilongwe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simama Hotel(Lilongwe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Lilongwe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbird Capital(Lilongwe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
5
33
48
25
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
33
48
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsincluded in the room pricerestaurant serves good foodnice poolnice breakfastcomforttaxisbanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 123 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband was here for 3 months and I visited for the last 2 weeks of his tenure. Found all the staff to be friendly - please consider their wages before lambasting on their service. The wait staff are male, so not sure where the "rude waitress" comment came from - I found them all to be friendly and professional. The hotel is within walking distance of "Old Town", the golf course is just down the street and is perfect for jogging. The swimming pool and gardens are quite lovely. Overall, I found the hotel to be perfectly adequate. We visited a colleague who moved from the Korean Garden to the impersonal Sunbird for a conference - he much preferred the informal, personal Korean Gardens.
I didn't see the budget rooms so can't comment on them, but the suite we had was perfectly fine and our "houseboy" Chris - was a real sweetheart.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuscanyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We arrived late at night without reservations needing cheap accommodations. The "cheap" rooms were musty and unsecure and we were given keys to a room where someone was already checked in. The swimming pool is beautiful but located in the middle of the dining area. Sort of awkward. The restaurant is attractive and the food was fine. The service was indifferent to say the least.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed here and had a terrible experience. The room was disgustingly filthy, the food was awful and served reluctantly by rude waitresses. The 'free internet' didn't work in the first room I was given; the televisions showed one watchable channel.
Only redeeming feature of this place is the swimming pool but since it is right next to the restaurant there is no privacy at all from those unfortunate enough to be visiting diners.
'Gold Room' was right next to the noisy bar; had to pay more for the Executive room. Towels provided were dirty, the shower was broken. Since you have to pay everything upfront in advance, no way to express my overall displeasure by withholding payment.
Just don't stay here - you'll regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasa_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Staff:
Staff was professional and friendly.

Food & Beverage:
Food was good, especially the well stocked breakfast buffet with staff preparing your egg on the spot. Oh, and some kind of fish (catfish maybe) with sauce and baked banana! That was a nice surprise.

Room:
Our room was small and warm, but clean and sufficient (and cheap),

Facilities:
Restaurant was good but the swimming pool was dry and the WI-FI connection worked only sometimes (slow to the extent of time-outs). The last evening a very noisy party of some 40 Japanese people occupied the restaurant, so we and the other dining guests were placed on the terrace behind the pool for dinner, which was not ideal, let alone quiet.

Location:
Old town, (market and bus station) are within walking distance, as well as Crossroad Mall.

Conclusion:
All in all it is a good place to 'land' and a strategic place to start planning the next steps of your travel, stocking up, etc. I found the place decent, good value for money, not very luxurious (we were in the cheap (Bronze) rooms, but still). Basics were good, extra's were absent or bad.

Worst: Internet connection.
Best: Good value for money, combination of fish and banana.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgehoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

I have been deployed to stay in Lilongwe by my employers, and was booked to stay at the hotel for two weeks. The place is quiet with spacious rooms, but the beddings and the mosquito nets are smaller for thebeds'size.
The garden is splendid, an with the renovations at the front, the place is yet to have an improved face.
Place repair your switch board fast otherwise could not call for room service, had to go to the restaurant in person to place an order

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CkayLilongwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews