We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Hotel Sakamanga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakamanga
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We actually saw 3 different rooms in this hotel - stayed twice and had use of one of the very fine looking new rooms on way to a late flight (all arranged by our madagascar tour guide). It is quite a quirky style with narrow twisty passages and lots of artefacts from Mada history on the walls and in glass display cases. Our first room was beautiful - more like a suite. The only downside is it is all wooden floors and thin walls so noise can be a bit disturbing. The second room was very small but still comfortable and had all we needed apart from a mosquito net. We had one of our own so were able to hook it up ok. And you do need one as there are a lot of the flying monsters about! Staff very friendly and helpful and spoke english well. Their restaurant upstairs was really nice and actually surprisingly good value, very French style menu. Need to book on a weekend as it gets busy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sakamanga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 573 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I just recently had the pleasure of staying yet again at the wonderful hotel Sakamanga. The hotel, still with the same owner, has undergone another renovation with 15 new rooms just opened, around the new swimming pool. A fantastic addition to what was already my favourite place to stay in Madagascar. I was again received warmly by the staff (who also remain consistently good) and taken to my beautiful new room. Stone bathroom, wet room style, four poster bed, all the usual Sakamanga touches such as a fridge and safe, beautiful shower gel, shampoo and soap in the bathroom, and a little welcome gift personally addressed to me (I don't promise you'll get one of those!!). The new manager Beatrice is perfect for the Sakamanga, she's friendly and approachable and speaks great English. She really helped me out a lot, and constantly checked if everything was up to scratch. Obviously, with 15 new rooms opening, she was a little concerned that all was well. For 48 euros, with these standards, I just don't know why you would stay anywhere else. The standards of food are just as high as they ever were, the welcome is just as warm, the rooms are just as beautiful, the pool looks great (I didn't get in), in all, I had a wonderful ten days at the Sakamanga, and for the price, it simply cannot be beaten. Book in advance, they fill up fast. General message to all hotels: all hotel rooms should have full-length mirrors. That's my only complaint.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the new rooms around the pool, it was spacious and perfect.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadamanga_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were taken to this hotel by our taxi driver from the airport, we had no idea what to expect, and stepping in off the street is like stepping into a whole other world. The rooms are beautiful and staff very friendly. Breakfast is well worth the small fee. The restaurant is also excellent for an evening meal!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annakd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was invited to this hotel to stay couple of days in Tana. Quite low prices for certain rooms (2O euros for small one), nice restaurant (careful: book your places) and perfect location in the center, close to several others restaurants and bars.The swimming pool is a big asset, even if small. the massage is stunning, fair in price......One remark, even if I hav a fly net, mosquitos invaded my room.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windstorm232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent a few nights at this establishment on our way into Madagascar and then again on our way out. It's a really surprising space. You wind through a narrow, deep blue cultural-artefact studded corridor and emerge in a small oasis. A pretty pool, flowers, plants growing out of everything, and then rooms scattered in different locations - some in the old original house, some in the newly procured neighbouring buildings., It's a large place!

The first night that we stayed over was a little trying: first the pre-arranged airport transfer was not at the little airport to meet us, and so we had to face hoards of shouting aggressive taxi-drivers minutes after disembarking an international flight. Then we had to ask to change rooms as the one assigned to us had just been painted and immediately induced splitting headaches. We were moved to a different and decent alternative - which would have been even better had there been mosquito nets. The bathroom was probably the best we had in Madagascar.

On our way out of Madagascar (airport transfer ready to collect us this time from our internal flight) we stayed a night again and were thrilled when, upon realising they had made a booking error, we were given a large suite for no extra cost. What luxury! A real score at the end of an epic adventure.

The food was also very good at the restaurant but massively overpriced by Madagascan standards.

Room Tip: Try get a suite if you can!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A fantastic hotel, very charming, good location, very friendly and knowledgable staff. Excellent standard of rooms, superb restaurants. Would highly recommend to anyone. New pool area will be open soon and looks great!

Room Tip: Ask to see available rooms to find one to your liking
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay
Right in centre
Nice staff
Good wifi
Was here about 4 years ago
Nice staff
Rooms are large
Beds good
Food ok too
City is a very safe friendly place
People are very nice great value gemstones to be had
Shame flights to island are so dear
Lovely country

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
2.0 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.3 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakamanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakamanga

Address: Rue Ratianarivo Ampasamadinha, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: $33 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central vibrating Antananarivo, you will appreciate the peaceful atmosphere of Sakamanga. With its typical architecture, its traditional decoration (but with European standards equipments) Sakamanga is very original and different from basic standards hotels and you will certainly love its originality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sakamanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakamanga Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Sakamanga Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing