We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sakamanga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sakamanga
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Fianarantsoa, Madagascar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was invited to this hotel to stay couple of days in Tana. Quite low prices for certain rooms (2O euros for small one), nice restaurant (careful: book your places) and perfect location in the center, close to several others restaurants and bars.The swimming pool is a big asset, even if small. the massage is stunning, fair in price......One remark, even if I hav a fly net, mosquitos invaded my room.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windstorm232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    188
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
64
201
75
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent a few nights at this establishment on our way into Madagascar and then again on our way out. It's a really surprising space. You wind through a narrow, deep blue cultural-artefact studded corridor and emerge in a small oasis. A pretty pool, flowers, plants growing out of everything, and then rooms scattered in different locations - some in the old original house, some in the newly procured neighbouring buildings., It's a large place!

The first night that we stayed over was a little trying: first the pre-arranged airport transfer was not at the little airport to meet us, and so we had to face hoards of shouting aggressive taxi-drivers minutes after disembarking an international flight. Then we had to ask to change rooms as the one assigned to us had just been painted and immediately induced splitting headaches. We were moved to a different and decent alternative - which would have been even better had there been mosquito nets. The bathroom was probably the best we had in Madagascar.

On our way out of Madagascar (airport transfer ready to collect us this time from our internal flight) we stayed a night again and were thrilled when, upon realising they had made a booking error, we were given a large suite for no extra cost. What luxury! A real score at the end of an epic adventure.

The food was also very good at the restaurant but massively overpriced by Madagascan standards.

Room Tip: Try get a suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

A fantastic hotel, very charming, good location, very friendly and knowledgable staff. Excellent standard of rooms, superb restaurants. Would highly recommend to anyone. New pool area will be open soon and looks great!

Room Tip: Ask to see available rooms to find one to your liking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
649 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay
Right in centre
Nice staff
Good wifi
Was here about 4 years ago
Nice staff
Rooms are large
Beds good
Food ok too
City is a very safe friendly place
People are very nice great value gemstones to be had
Shame flights to island are so dear
Lovely country

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here at the end of a 3 week "adventure" in Madagascar. Quirky hotel with some pleasing details. We stayed in 2 of the older rooms which were fine. A few mosquitos around even in winter but we used our own nets (none supplied). Food was excellent - food in Mad usually is - and the staff charming. In peak season book a table as the resteraunt was buzzing in mid August. Only grumble was the taxis that were arranged for the airport transfer - they were pretty bad even by the normal standards of Mad cars - at 35k A i would have expected better. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zouppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is our second time staying in this hotel. It is very convenient for central Tana. It is not expensive and there are some great larger rooms. There is also a new pool. The hotel is being enlarged which may take away from its cosy feel of an old house with quirky decor, but it will likely still be a great place to stay. There is also an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms. There are a few with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalmerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Everything is "very good" and correct (like room-rate conversion at current, official exchange-rates) in this hotel, exactly as discribed on their page sakamanga.com. They have 4 cathegories of rooms and some reviewers seem to forget, that you cannot expect the same type for 20€ that you get in a "charm" room, which is big, airy, comfortable and not noisy. The Sakamanga offers 3 very different restaurants with excellent food (again see homepage and add "draft beer" at "The Saka"). The Saka was fully booked every night. The location is excellent for other close restaurants and bars and all the spots in the center. I honored their advice to go by taxi after sunset. In all: for me it was super starting point for Tana and Madagascar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#7 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#19 of 63 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#15 of 63 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sakamanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sakamanga

Property: Hotel Sakamanga
Address: Rue Ratianarivo Ampasamadinha, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#6 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central vibrating Antananarivo, you will appreciate the peaceful atmosphere of Sakamanga. With its typical architecture, its traditional decoration (but with European standards equipments) Sakamanga is very original and different from basic standards hotels and you will certainly love its originality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sakamanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakamanga Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Sakamanga Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing