We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have a very good souvenir of that hotel based in Antananarivo. Two of the staffs of the hotel were mauritians, including the manager of the hotel and the chef from the restaurant. Both were very friendly and sympathetic and the food, accommodation and service were excellent.

However the only thing missing in that hotel is the transport facilities especially regarding comfortable taxis.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Uma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLouvre, Responsable Hébergement at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Sir,
We thank you for your review and we'll forward it to all our team.

Indeed, it's difficult to find a comfortable taxi but if needed, for your next stay, we can help to you to find a comfortable hire vehicle.

Waiting to welcome you again,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

A very clean, well situated hotel. Room was standard, bathroom was stunning - very modern. Breakfast was disappointing - I couldn't get a warm meal, had to settle for the bread and fruit buffet. On the expensive side - I think you can find hotels that are as good for much cheaper, depending on what you want. Just one tip - make sure you are on the revamped floor (first Floor). According to other guests in the hotel the other floors are not so nice...

Room Tip: First Floor - revamped floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLouvre, Responsable Hébergement at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Sir,
We thank you for your review as it helps us to improve our service.
We've taken all needed measures so be sure that your next stay we'll be decidedly better.
We're happy to know that you appreciated your room.
Please note that we also have revamped rooms on the second and the third floor.

Best regards
Barbra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Staff service is good but variable. Rooms are fabulous, spa beautiful but the gym is a joke - way too small! Beatiful modern design. Food very nice. Location is great. Price is very correct.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zevadrouilleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLouvre, Responsable Hébergement at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your new review, as your comments help us to improve our services.
We're very happy to see that your stay was much better than the first.

Hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,
Barbra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Located near some great eateries, a bank and retail shops this hotel was a delight to be in. I loved the breakfast in the morning and the staff were nice enough to give directions. The fitness too is small but can be useful if you are looking for just a simple workout. The pool is divine and located under the lobby, but the steam room was my favorite place to relax. I would stay there again should I ever return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLouvre, Responsable Hébergement at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thanks for your review.
We're really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Hotel du Louvre is where I stay whenever I have to go on business to Antanarivo . Besides the good location , the hotel staff , specially at reception are courteous and friendly . To be greeted by your name when you have not seen a staff person for more than a year is always ( for me ) very special ) . Breakfast service has " new " system that is rather awkward : I refer to butter and ham , etc being under a counter that can not be accessed by patrons ! Television needs at least one or 2 more English channels . Rooms are OK , not too large and service in general quite good. Food at the restaurant or room service is of very good quality ( and room service is efficient ! For me no other hotel to choose when in " Tana ".

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdMatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLouvre, Responsable Hébergement at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for your review.
Be sure that we'll pass it to our team.
We've just added an English TV (an indian one) and we'll try to add others next year.

Hope to welcome you soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

love the view. large and comfortable bed. loved the green patio. There is security outside the hotels, which is a big plus. The service is very good.
to improve, the bathroom a bit squeezed, needs some renovations.
the breakfast a bit more variety could only be better

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepa_Manrakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Hotel Le Louvre is both a hotel and a Spa. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with good finishes and attention to detail. Mini Bar is stocked and the pillows ample. For those who read my reviews will know that the bathrooms are the one facet of my stay that irks me the most.

Well I am afraid to say that the one thing lacking is the hot water and the pressure that I so desperately seek after a long hard day travelling and working in Africa.

I really should learn to write these reviews once the annoyance has abated. When you consider the obvious expense laid out on the decor, the finishes, why the heck can you not sort out the plumbing. But I did have running water......

A nice touch is the coffee machine in the room, but what is with only one Coffee cartridge. At least offer two that I can have a second cup in the mornings. More coffee please!!

The restaurant is spacious and the staff attentive. The meal was good, especially the Fois-gras as an entree. Prices are reasonable, but certainly out of the reach of local Malagasy people.

I have now stayed at 6 different hotels in Madagascar in Antananarivo over the past 3 years and this is by far the best experience so far. But get the water sorted.......

Room Tip: Ask for 4th or 5th floor as the view over the city is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilotdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
258 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#9 of 59 in Antananarivo
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#15 of 59 in Antananarivo
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Louvre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Louvre Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Place Philibert Tsiranana, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#8 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: $86 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Louvre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in an old "Eiffel" building in 1998, Hotel du Louvre offers international rooms with free internet access, located in the center of Antananarivo, the best place to visit and to organize business appointment and your trip. You will be touched by the kindness and availability of our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Louvre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing