We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food very good, room quiet except until 11:00 M during music festival.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Food very good, room quiet except until 11:00 M during music festival.

Room clean, good service, prompt, attentive, ...

No negatives.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John David Vere F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 258 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Pleasant enough but room was very small, being on the corner, with very little wardrobe space. Staff friendly and helpful. The fact that the restaurant was moved to another room with no atmosphere so they could use the actual restaurant for a music festival to coincide with Independence celebrations was a disruption we could have done without.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not a corner room - they are even smaller than the others !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Hotel has a nice spar with a sauna, a steam room, a pool and a jacuzzi which can be used by he hotel guests.They also offer massages which has to be payed extra.
They have good food on the menu card and a generous buffet in the mornings. The staff were friendly and helpful. The place is central. The rooms are clean, but very small. Fine, if you don't want to spend a lot of your time in your room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre_Bester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I already lodged few times at this hotel in Antananarivo and I will definitely make use of it during my next stay. Its location is perfect.
Reception staff is very friendly and always ready to help you by suggesting restaurants or arranging transportation.
The breakfast is good enough.
The renewed rooms are really nice and always very clean.
SPA is small but it is wise to spend a couple of hours enjoying the nice pool too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelTrieste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, General Manager at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your opinion.

I will of course pass on your encouragement to the entire staff of the hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed the spa and the quality of the room and service.
We look forward to welcoming you again among us.

Best regards

Dimitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed a week at the Hotel du Louvre. I enjoyed it very much. the rooms were large and bright with a balcony and a great bathroom. The staff is very friendly and knowlegable. Great Bar. The restaurant is fine but could be improved.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is super nice! I especially like the small rooms on the first floor, there is no view, but the design is nice. However, the best part of the hotel is the wooden floor - no carpets = easy to clean, less dust, less allergy, and no asthma. I always found the rooms very clean, the sheets and the towels super white! The pillows are soft, the bed is comfy. The internet is free and always working (wired and wireless throughout the hotel). The swimming pool is relaxing, the water has the perfect temperature.
The staff is the friendliest I have ever encountered, always ready to help, always smiling! They instill a GREAT atmosphere in the hotel! There is one guy who can get anything for you: a phone card, a taxi, information... all you have to do is ask!
But, the food... oh... so bad! I don't know what happened: it seems to deteriorate with every stay I have. The bread in the morning was stale, the food at the buffet is dry (the creme, and the eggs), the fruit salad is soggy... I can't find one item to recommend. A la carte was good, but now they changed the menu... If it improves, is by far the best place to stay in Tana.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank griottte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 17-19 March 2012.
Choose this hotel based on reviews Tripadisor.
For sure a good choice, nice location close to the Presidential palace ( which you are not allowed to photograph).
I had a room on the first floor, overlooking the street. Advantage is a small balcony.
Buffets are ok, but nothing special as such, but fair in comparance to the price. Otherwise go for " a la carte".
very nice is the indoor pool as well as SPA, where I enjoyed a nice massage, very nicely prized as well.
Pool officially opens at 09.00 hours AM, but the friendly reception staff ( special compliment for Sarah), did open the door to the pool for me upon my request, at an earlier hour.
In that respect, 09.00 hours is a bit late...so perhaps management can reconsider same anyway.
Do bring slippers though, same are not provided with.Also for use in your room, the wooden floor as such is nice, but slippery of you walk on your socks. But this is a minor thing. Again, staff very friendly.
All in all my stay was that nice, that I changed my reservation in another hotel for later this week, to stay again in this hotel.
Mind; if you fancy a walk after dinner, do be prepared beggars will approach you. They are in that area due to the hotels present.

Room Tip: first floor will give you a balcony, at least if the room is located at the front of the hotel. A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Algorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Louvre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Louvre Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 Place Philibert Tsiranana, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: $88 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Louvre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in an old "Eiffel" building in 1998, Hotel du Louvre offers international rooms with free internet access, located in the center of Antananarivo, the best place to visit and to organize business appointment and your trip. You will be touched by the kindness and availability of our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Louvre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing