We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good quality hotel in a nice part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A good quality hotel in a nice part of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here for a few days on business in late 2011. The hotel has been done up in the last few years and the main areas have a stylish modern feeling to them. Only some of the rooms have been refurbished - all of them are clean and comfortable, but the ones that have been done up feel more 4 star, with the older ones more 3 star. Theres a spa and swimming pool in the basement and a nice restaurant and bar on the ground floor. Staff are friendly and helpful, although service isn't always as fast as it could be. Its situated high up in Tana, its opposite a park filled with Jacaranda trees with a beautiful view of the city. This isn't a spectacular hotel, but if you're looking for somewhere safe, clean and well situated without being too expensive then its a good pick.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    103
    44
    17
    11
See reviews for
17
44
15
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel du Louvre is well situated in the centre of town. The Presidential Palace is at the end of the street and the long flight of steps leading down into the town centre is one minute away. There are a couple of banks and a post office nearby as well. It’s in the next door street to the Colbert.

I stayed there three times as I made my away around the country. The first time I had a superior room on the fourth floor. It had a rather hard bed, decent sized bathroom (inc hairdryer) with large bathtub, separate shower and loo. The room was a good size and had a little terrace off it. But the fittings and décor looked rather dated and cheap and the electric door card was very difficult to operate.

The second time I had a superior room on the first floor. The first floor has had a refurbishment and the rooms are much more modern and thankfully had a different door card mechanism! It had huge floor to ceiling windows with a large terrace, a massive flat screen TV, large armchair and windows looking into a large bathroom. The bathroom was reached down three slightly steep stairs and although the sink was large there wasn’t much space for toiletries nor was there a shaving mirror but there was a hairdryer. There was a tub (but with poor water pressure it took ages to fill), separate shower and loo. There was an upstairs mezzanine with a desk and a spare single bed which would do for a child. But please note that the staircase and upstairs room had no railing. There was a large terrace with several comfortable chairs and a table.

The last time I had another superior room on the first floor but it was smaller and with only a small shower room (which included a seat inside the shower). The room had the same flat screen TV with BBC World and lots of French channels. There was free wifi but you tended to need to re-key in the password which was rather tedious. All the rooms had safes but smallish cupboards so if you are a couple and intend to unpack you might have a problem! The room also had a small terrace with a table and a couple of chairs.

There was a decent choice for breakfast; fruit, meat, cheese, pastries and an egg station and a hot plate with cooked items. They had a good coffee machine and provided a choice of juices as well as several baguettes. I had lunch and dinner there and found the food was very good and good value compared to the other hotels around the country.

The reception staff were helpful and responded promptly to my emails. They provided transfers for me from the airport several times for twenty euros as well as a driver to take me to Ambohimanga and to show me around the town centre.

Room Tip: Choose a room on first floor but you may hear the band from the restaurant as they tend to have ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qrendi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed in this hotel, on two different occasions in June 2011: on our first night in Madagascar, and on the last night before travelling back to another destination.

Here is our saga ...

First night: claustrophobic room. Toilet flushing was not working and constantly kept seeping water, meaning that we couldn't use our toilet.

Our last night: was a simple nightmare. A member of the staff ushered us to the room and 1hr after we discovered that he never gave us a card to access
the room.

When we phoned the reception to inform her that they forgot to give us our room key, she told us that they were running short of cards and that if we wanted to get in or out of the room we had to inform them every time and send someone in to help us.

The room lights were only on because the staff had previously stuffed layers of paper in the card holder. But the worse was yet to come ... I levelled up the bedcover to go to sleep and I was greeted with a white linen sheet studded with black curly body hair. A clear sign that whoever was supposed to clean our room, never bothered to wash the sheets.

Just sitting on the bed resulted in severe itcheness all over our body. We had to cover our bed with our personal clothing.

We have travelled through all the East coast of Madagascar and hopping from our hotel/resort to another. And this was by far the only horrible experience we met when it came to lodging.

It is such a pity, as Hotel du Louvre, has an outstanding decor at the reception that gives you the impression that this is a 4star hotel. Unfortunately when you enter the rooms, you find a less than a basic room, with poor furniture (chair in bedroom was literally broken).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JuliaFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimitrilouvre, Manager at Le Louvre Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
dear Madam.
(Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your recent stay at the Louvre in Antananarivo) We thank you for sending us the comment about your recent stay at the Louvre in Antananarivo.
It is comments like yours that can help us to improve the quality of our service.
Your remarks about the room was transmitted to the room service and housekeeping manager and we are investigating regarding the disturbance that you have encountered in your room.
For the room key, the machine used to encode the cards had a failure that day that it has pushed the desk to say that the stock was not enough, we apologize for the inconvenience.
We make daily efforts to provide quality service such as food served at the restaurant and the addition of the pool and spa to satisfy our customers despite the crisis that has lasted two and a half years.
A program of standardization is short of completion, and we expect to complete it late this year.
Thank you again for your cooperation.
Yours Faithfully

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Antananarivo hotels

Kent England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, on route back to the UK. We had deluxe room, which appeared to have been renovated. It was very nice, clean and tidy. Other parts of the hotel are under going renovation, but you don't notice. The breakfast and dinner were of a good standard. The bar served draft Gold beer. Staff were helpful and friendly. Security was good and even the ATM outstide has a guard watching over it. At night the street noise was loud, but then it was Independance Weekend. Out came the ear plugs. One nice touch was late check out at no extra charge. Average double room 125 Euro.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

My daughter and I stayed had two stays at du Louvre in February 2006. This is a perfectly situated hotel with historical elements linked with modern amenities and uncluttered style. We found it beyond reproach for comfort, cleanliness and service; and the staff were happy to organize tours for us (eg. Ambohimanga, the Tana markets etc) . Thanks to its location in Haute Ville it is easy walking distance to all the attractions in the city. The super marche downstairs is an added bonus for convenience. We much preferred it to Colbert which was higher priced. Happy to recommend this to any travellers to Tana looking for above budget / medium range facilities.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneMuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2008

It is a newly refurbished hotel, so its facilities are quite modern. It is well equipped for a business hotel. The rooms are your standard Holiday Inn size. The hotel is centrally situated. Payment for the hotel was frustrating, as they gave us the total in Madagascan money, but then charged us a US dollar value worked out at the hotels higher exchange rate, usually when paying with a credit card you are charged in local currency and then the credit institution charges you in your currency at the correct exchange rate. We struggled to get any TV channels in English.

  • Liked — Good Views
  • Disliked — Payment
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NeoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

Hotel du Louvre is a clean, comfortable hotel with attractive rooms. We began our honeymoon in this hotel and were touched that the hotel had left some complimentary cake for us as a gesture of congratulations. The views of the city are impressive and the restaurant is fairly good. A recommended destination.

  • Liked — The room was a welcome touch of luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#19 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tana Hotel
Tana Hotel
#16 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Louvre Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Louvre Hotel & Spa

Property: Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Address: 4 Place Philibert Tsiranana, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#8 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Louvre Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in an old "Eiffel" building in 1998, Hotel du Louvre offers international rooms with free internet access, located in the center of Antananarivo, the best place to visit and to organize business appointment and your trip. You will be touched by the kindness and availability of our staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Louvre Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing