We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, safe and clean Hotel”
Review of Tana-Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tana-Jacaranda
Ranked #6 of 92 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, safe and clean Hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was a good experience to stay with Tana Jacaranda. The hotel have number of rooms to select from according to the budget. It is very much into the heart of city and also has very clean atmosphere. The hotel serves one of the best meal available around Tana.
The staff is very helping and take care of you as a family member. I would definitely stay with Tana in future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
22
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Tana-Jacaranda is by far the best choice I've made on Hotels in Tana. It has a warm family-like atmosphere and the staff are very friendly. Internet is fine and all basic requirements such as hot water, beds etc are met. You get an amazing view of Tana from its second floor balcony. You simply can't expect a better deal for such low prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyayoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The noise from the other rooms was unbelievable! The owner apologised for the loud screaming one night- a guest had 'brought back a friend'. Interesting that the doorman allowed them entry. The sound of people walking around seemed to go on all night. I opted for the most expensive room...don't bother. The 'seating area' is some old uncomfortable furniture, mosquito nets aren't box, but hang from a single point in the ceiling...useless.
Balcony was nice but may as well sit on the communal one.
Wifi doesn't connect automatically and no instructions in room- go to the desk and they'll set it up for you. Had breakfast first morning, better off to walk up the hill and find a patisserie. Good location, KuDeTa restaurant a few minutes walk away and well worth a visit. Okay for the price but don't understand the rave reviews.

Room Tip: The cheapest option is probably a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza Town, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I originally chose the Tana Jacaranda through reading the reviews of other travellers - the choice was well made. This hotel has all the main requirements a traveller, or even a family, could wish for: the prices are good; the security is good; the staff are helpful and polite and the receptionists speak good English; the rooms are clean with piping hot shower water; the food is delicious; there is free wi-fi and, last but lot by any means least, the family owning this little gem-on-a-hill in the very centre of Tana are extremely nice and helpful people. We actually stayed there for almost thirty days with a break in between to visit Diego Suarez, they happily agreed to store all our luggage and to keep the room for our return, even though we stayed in Diego longer than anticipated. WE WILL RETURN!

Room Tip: For two to three people wishing to economize by sometimes making their own meals the family room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Highs: the staff was pleasant. Nice breakfast and dinner.
Lows: tired old towels, pillows where you can feel individual lumps of foam, hand held shower, slow internet during our stay.
Generally not a great stay. Not offensive but there are much better value places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awholeworldoutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent location, fantastic views from the communal balconies. Staff extra helpful and friendly. Great food. Reception staff seemed to have a grasp of every language known to man. The security is fantastic with a locked gate at the front door and a very attentive doorman. There's nothing fancy about this relaxed and welcoming hotel/hostel but who needs fancy? The beds were comfy, communal showers a decent size with hot water and decent water pressure. Spotlessly clean everywhere. Free wifi. Absolutely fabulous place to stay in Tana.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 4 and 8 if you can, they both have a faint smell of damp. No problems anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarveyNobum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful and the place is really central - very convenient.

Room Tip: Get one with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyx_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sole Hotel
Sole Hotel
#35 of 59 in Antananarivo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison Lovasoa
Maison Lovasoa
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.2 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tana-Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tana-Jacaranda

Property: Tana-Jacaranda
Address: 24 Rue Rainitsarovy | Antsahamanitra - Isoraka, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tana-Jacaranda guesthouse, "a home away from Home", is located in the center of Antananarivo. Room rates are reasonable, and our cooking of Malagasy, Asian, Italian and French is appreciated. Corridors provide access to balconies that offer a beautiful sight of Tana. Free use of an Internet terminal as well as a wifi connection for client laptop. "Tana-Jacaranda team" gives you useful tips for your trip. Pick up and drop off to airport can be easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tana-Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tana-Jacaranda Hotel Antananarivo
Tana-Jacaranda Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing