We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad rooms: good location”
Review of Tana-Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tana-Jacaranda
Ranked #9 of 101 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This hotel has a great location right near the President's Palace, but other than that and the free WI-FI, the hotel was just okay. The rooms were clean, but very, very old. The rooms with balcony's have a tv, and you have to go outside onto the balcony to get to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jconnell1342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Tana-Jacaranda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 102 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed here on two separate occasions in February. Lovely little spot and in a good location. Free wifi and some of the rooms have great windows/balcony access. The staff are friendly and very helpful with travel arrangements. On the downside...well, the food (dinner) in the restaurant was pretty terrible and the mattresses aren't so great. (To be fair however they're not out of line with what I experienced in other hotels in Mad.)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

it's got to be the best budget guest house in Tana
the staff is very nice, great location, clean rooms, tasty food
nice balcony and good place to meet other travelers
i highly recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Madam Noro welcomed me to her small, family-run guesthouse that is ideally located in the center of Antananarivo, the capital of Madagascar. My single room with a shared bathroom cost the equivalent of 13 U.S. dollars per night including taxes; a tasty and filling American breakfast cost $3.50 more.

A wide selection of foods and drinks are available for purchase. Laundry service and airport transfers ($15 each way) can be easily arranged. Clients have free use of an Internet terminal as well as a WiFi connection for their own laptop or netbook.

Madam Noro’s guesthouse feels just like home. Her husband, her young adult children and her employees can’t seem to do enough for the guests --and they always do it with a genuine smile. Although there is no elevator in the guesthouse, a porter will cheerfully carry your luggage to your room.

My room included a single bed, a night table with a lamp, a small desk with a chair, a color TV, and a closet. Clean towels are provided daily. The room was cleaned in the morning and the bed was remade neatly. The shared bathroom was small but adequate: commode, sink, and telephone shower. Madam Noro’s employees kept the entire guesthouse quite spotless at all times.

A wonderful view of Tana (this city’s nickname) can be had from the guesthouse’s balcony on the third floor. The dining room, which is also located there, has a color TV and a collection of magazines in various languages. I found it marvelous at meal times to look out over Tana’s cityscape. Traffic noise is minimal during the day, and non-existent in the evening. I slept like a baby!

I give the Tana-Jacaranda Guesthouse my very highest recommendation for visitors who are looking for a reasonable, no-frills and friendly place to stay in this capital city. You will be welcomed here with open arms!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

As someone who does not like big, expensive, ostentatious hotels I found the Tana was just what I hoped for. Mind you, I did spend time researching and found that this was a well reviewed hotel.
A room at the front adjacent to the balcony offered a lovely spot with a lovely view to end the day with a beer or glass of wine. The place is a short distance from shops and banks.
Free internet (slow but that's Madagascar).
The rooms were clean with good hot water and the place was made pleasant with flowers and plants. The food was good value and the staff pleasant with no hassles for tips. Madam Noora speaks good English and was most helpful. My first choice if and when I get back to Madagascar.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is a well-run budget hotel in a good location. I particularly liked the dining room which doubled as a common room: makes for a nice place to meet people, read a book or sit on the balcony.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Tana-Jacaranda guesthouse was the place we spent our first nights when we arrived to Madagascar. We also spent our last week before going back home in this guesthouse. The guesthaouse is clean, rooms have hot water and the breakfast is good and served by really friendly and smiling girls. You can get rooms for a fair price and you can use the internet for free on a suitable time for you. The location of the place is really good because it's near the citycenter and there are many good places to eat near it. The "Tana-Jacaranda family" is just the best: they give you useful tips for your trip, you can leave some of your things behind to pick them up before leaving Madagascar and they'll pick you up from the airport and also take you back there. To tell you the truth by the time we left Madagascar the guesthouse felt almost like home. I would really suggest this guesthouse to everyone who are planning to go to Madagascar!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Lovasoa
Maison Lovasoa
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sole Hotel
Sole Hotel
#48 of 59 in Antananarivo
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tana-Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tana-Jacaranda

Address: 24 Rue Rainitsarovy | Antsahamanitra - Isoraka, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range: $12 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tana-Jacaranda, "a home away from Home", is located in the center of Antananarivo. Room rates are reasonable, and our cooking of Malagasy, Asian, Italian and French is appreciated. Corridors provide access to balconies that offer a beautiful sight of Tana. Guests can enjoy free WiFi in all areas of the hotel, and a laptop is at the disposal of those who are interested. Warm water in sanitaries is provided. Tana-Jacaranda's team will give you useful tips for your trip in Madagascar. Pick up and drop off to airport can be easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tana-Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tana-Jacaranda Hotel Antananarivo
Tana-Jacaranda Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing