We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, especially for the price”
Review of Tana-Jacaranda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tana-Jacaranda
Ranked #6 of 92 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, especially for the price”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed here on two separate occasions in February. Lovely little spot and in a good location. Free wifi and some of the rooms have great windows/balcony access. The staff are friendly and very helpful with travel arrangements. On the downside...well, the food (dinner) in the restaurant was pretty terrible and the mattresses aren't so great. (To be fair however they're not out of line with what I experienced in other hotels in Mad.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
22
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

it's got to be the best budget guest house in Tana
the staff is very nice, great location, clean rooms, tasty food
nice balcony and good place to meet other travelers
i highly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
210 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Madam Noro welcomed me to her small, family-run guesthouse that is ideally located in the center of Antananarivo, the capital of Madagascar. My single room with a shared bathroom cost the equivalent of 13 U.S. dollars per night including taxes; a tasty and filling American breakfast cost $3.50 more.

A wide selection of foods and drinks are available for purchase. Laundry service and airport transfers ($15 each way) can be easily arranged. Clients have free use of an Internet terminal as well as a WiFi connection for their own laptop or netbook.

Madam Noro’s guesthouse feels just like home. Her husband, her young adult children and her employees can’t seem to do enough for the guests --and they always do it with a genuine smile. Although there is no elevator in the guesthouse, a porter will cheerfully carry your luggage to your room.

My room included a single bed, a night table with a lamp, a small desk with a chair, a color TV, and a closet. Clean towels are provided daily. The room was cleaned in the morning and the bed was remade neatly. The shared bathroom was small but adequate: commode, sink, and telephone shower. Madam Noro’s employees kept the entire guesthouse quite spotless at all times.

A wonderful view of Tana (this city’s nickname) can be had from the guesthouse’s balcony on the third floor. The dining room, which is also located there, has a color TV and a collection of magazines in various languages. I found it marvelous at meal times to look out over Tana’s cityscape. Traffic noise is minimal during the day, and non-existent in the evening. I slept like a baby!

I give the Tana-Jacaranda Guesthouse my very highest recommendation for visitors who are looking for a reasonable, no-frills and friendly place to stay in this capital city. You will be welcomed here with open arms!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

As someone who does not like big, expensive, ostentatious hotels I found the Tana was just what I hoped for. Mind you, I did spend time researching and found that this was a well reviewed hotel.
A room at the front adjacent to the balcony offered a lovely spot with a lovely view to end the day with a beer or glass of wine. The place is a short distance from shops and banks.
Free internet (slow but that's Madagascar).
The rooms were clean with good hot water and the place was made pleasant with flowers and plants. The food was good value and the staff pleasant with no hassles for tips. Madam Noora speaks good English and was most helpful. My first choice if and when I get back to Madagascar.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is a well-run budget hotel in a good location. I particularly liked the dining room which doubled as a common room: makes for a nice place to meet people, read a book or sit on the balcony.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Tana-Jacaranda guesthouse was the place we spent our first nights when we arrived to Madagascar. We also spent our last week before going back home in this guesthouse. The guesthaouse is clean, rooms have hot water and the breakfast is good and served by really friendly and smiling girls. You can get rooms for a fair price and you can use the internet for free on a suitable time for you. The location of the place is really good because it's near the citycenter and there are many good places to eat near it. The "Tana-Jacaranda family" is just the best: they give you useful tips for your trip, you can leave some of your things behind to pick them up before leaving Madagascar and they'll pick you up from the airport and also take you back there. To tell you the truth by the time we left Madagascar the guesthouse felt almost like home. I would really suggest this guesthouse to everyone who are planning to go to Madagascar!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leemur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

The three-storey house is perched on a hill slope right above the city centre; the area is
picturesque, with cobbled streets and an exotic feel. Once inside the house, when you
get to step out into the ample balconies you will not believe the panorama that spreads
out before you.
Within, the atmosphere is homely and laid-back. Every last inch of the building is
spick-and-span. Showers and washbasins come with 24 h high-pressure hot water.
Roomrates are mercifully reasonable, and their cooking is nothing short of heavenly ......,
impossible not to ask for seconds! (they cooked Chinese, Italian and French for me).
You can always arrange to be picked up/dropped off at the airport, for a fee no higher
than what a cabbie is likely to charge you, and without the hassle and haggle.
Add to all this a hospitality that is beyond words, and far beyond what you pay for. To
mention but one instance, Madame Noro, the owner, handled the reconfirmation of my
booking with the airline herself so that i may head off into the forest with peace of mind,
at no cost at all.
Such thoughtfulness and sweet disposition on the part of Madame Noro and her family
were the norm from the moment i came in to the last farewell.
It is with complete confidence that i recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sole Hotel
Sole Hotel
#35 of 59 in Antananarivo
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison Lovasoa
Maison Lovasoa
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.2 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tana-Jacaranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tana-Jacaranda

Property: Tana-Jacaranda
Address: 24 Rue Rainitsarovy | Antsahamanitra - Isoraka, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tana-Jacaranda guesthouse, "a home away from Home", is located in the center of Antananarivo. Room rates are reasonable, and our cooking of Malagasy, Asian, Italian and French is appreciated. Corridors provide access to balconies that offer a beautiful sight of Tana. Free use of an Internet terminal as well as a wifi connection for client laptop. "Tana-Jacaranda team" gives you useful tips for your trip. Pick up and drop off to airport can be easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tana-Jacaranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tana-Jacaranda Hotel Antananarivo
Tana-Jacaranda Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing