We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“surprisingly pleasant”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is my 2nd business trip to Antananrivo, and this hotel made my trip. Previously stayed at the very expensive , very disappointing Hilton hotel.
The people always make the city, and pleasant staff here delivered that. Rooms are basic but clean. Restaurant food outstanding, very inexpensive. Highly recommend and I now look forward to my next trip there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    138
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
125
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
332 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Staying at the Palissandre was a real delight. I stayed there on a business trip over the course of two weeks and can find very little to fault with it. The service was outstanding and the 180° views from the city-side rooms were amazing. You can’t really go wrong by staying here.

The location of the hotel is good, just up the hill behind the Analakely markets, providing awesome views over the city. It is a short 5 minute walk down the stairs and into the city center. There are a few small so-so restaurants within 100m of the hotel, but most of the good ones are a 10-15 minute walk away, so a little bit of downside there. The neighborhood around the hotel is a real treat to walk through – old French buildings, narrow cobblestone streets, and interesting views popping up everywhere. It’s actually only about a 30min walk up to the museum and the Rova, and a nice walk at that.

The rooms are very comfortable, of average size, and have most of the modern amenities – satellite TV (mainly French), fridge, free WiFi internet, and AC. The rooms are well maintained and spotlessly clean, and I found the king size bed very comfortable. The rooms are nicely decorated to a Malagasy theme and the floors are all polished wood. Ask for a room overlooking the city for the great views, otherwise you just get a view of buildings and a busy street.

The free breakfasts are very good, buffet style with loads of fruit and juices, breads, cereal, yogurt, crepes, etc. – a great way to start the day. The restaurant also serves a good dinner, mainly French food – tasty, well-presented, but small portions. Meals are served on a gorgeous outdoor deck overlooking the city – magical at sunset!

There is a very nice spa/pool/gym attached to the hotel. The gym and pool are free for guests while spa services (which I didn’t use) will cost you extra. The gym is fairly basic – about 8 medium quality cardio machines of various types, and a small multi-gym weight machine which is just barely adequate. The outdoor pool is small but very nice and refreshing on a hot summer day.

The service at this hotel was outstanding. All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and professional, from the security guards to the reception staff to the cleaning ladies – I was very impressed. All staff speak French and most of them speak English as well so communication was not a problem.

I had an excellent stay at the Palissandre, and I will most definitely stay here again when I am next in Tana – highly recommended to all other travelers. At around $100 per night, I found it to be of reasonable value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I really liked everything about this hotel except for the price. Food was really good, the swimming pool welcome after a day of sightseeing, and the services in the spa are reasonably priced. Views are spectacular.
Don't miss Fusion, a gift shop on the next street uphill.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This is an average city hotel. Rooms are not large but they are clean. Bathroom is modern and very clean.

Dinner was good, as was the breakfast. All staff is very friendly, that was really the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed in the hotel for business, used meeting room, had working lunch and hosted dinner for 30 persons. Very professional staff and always a friendly atmosphere. Rooms big and clean with beautiful wooden floors. Great terrace with a view over market. Unfortunately, not time to try spa and pool ....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianneBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

The hotel is on a hill overlooking the central market area of the city so there are teriffic views from the restaurant deck and rooms (some rooms face the alley at the back). This makes a convienient base to explore the central part of Tana via the many staircases and alleyways. Despite being in the middle of the city it was very quiet, even on a Saturday night. The restaurant was very pleasant with reasonable food. The rooms are clean and large with good beds, cotton sheets and very decent bathrooms. It will take quite a while to get from the airport through all the traffic as there are no freeways and minimal traffic rules it seems, but there is plenty to look at along the drive. I would stay here again to explore the city but if just stopping over between flights I'd stay nearer to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

As a toursit, you won't spend much time in Antananarivo. Typically you only need a hotel to rest upon your arrival as most tours start in the morning. This is why this hotel is good: it's quiet, it has an EXCELLENT french restaurant, a nice terrace overlooking a big market where you can enjoy an evening drink. Rooms are ok and clear, the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrVigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#22 of 59 in Antananarivo
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Palissandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Palissandre

Property: Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Address: 13 Rue Andriandahifotsy Faravohitra, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#13 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Palissandre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the hillside in the heart of the city, the Palissandre Hotel & SPA opens the doors of friendliness, hospitality and welcomes you in pure Malagasy tradition. Its 48 rooms have fine wood furnishings and rosewood are equipped with television, mini bar, safe, hairdryer, bathroom with bathtub. SPA - Outdoor Heated Pool - Space cardio - Hammam give you relaxation after a day of exploring or working from the terrace of the restaurant overlooking the city, you will enjoy fine cuisine and creative.Room service. Free Internet access, WIFI Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Palissandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palissandre Hotel
Hotel & Spa Palissandre Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing