We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views over the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great views over the city”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent our first 2 nights in Tana here and were very glad we chose it for our introduction to the city. It's on one of the city's hills so you get great views from the rooms. It is ten minutes walk to Anakely Market (which it directly overlooks) and Ave de l'lndependance and about 10 minutes in a taxi to anywhere else you're likely to want to go. It's an interesting building, with something of the ski chalet about it (sloped roof and pale wood interiors). We had a large room with a huge bed and a nice balcony (sadly lacking furniture). The decor is fairly simple with a few Madagascan touches. The restaurant is fine though, due to the aforementioned ski chalet-ness, slightly lacking in atmosphere. Food is very good and they rustled up a tasty veggie option at short notice. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking town is great.
The spa treatments we had were good but not revolutionary and the pool was closed when we wanted to use it as they were scraping varnish off the surrounding wood. I really think this could have been done in the early morning or evening.
There was intermittent wifi in our room and reception.
The staff were friendly at all times and very helpful when it came to booking restaurants and flagging down taxis for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLondonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    137
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
124
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Pretty hotel, decent though slightly sparse room. Nice views over the city. Although one cannot expect 5 star western style service in most of Africa, I've had much better, warmer service in many hotels both on the continent and in madagascar. The response to my husband slipping (and hitting the floor) on the not-properly dried polish on the floor in our room was basically a shrug of the shoulders. When we were in the taxi on our way to the airport they called up the taxi asking him to drive us back because they had not charged us for a can of coke we had from the minibar, all this as I say after no sort of appology for almost having broken my husband's arm a due to their negligence. I have since returned, always the Colbert which is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We arrived exhausted after a long set of flights via Nairobi. Even though it was well past midnight, the staff at Hotel Royal Palissandre were welcoming and helpful. We had a gorgeous room, although we didn't see much of it. We just fell into the comfy beds and tried to get a few hours' rest.

The next morning we opened the curtains to the most gorgeous view imaginable - spanning all of Antanamarivo and beyond. The breakfast buffet was first class and sat on the terrace, just wide-eyed with wonder. Inside, too, everything was beautiful. We wish we could have stayed longer. You should, if you get the chance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Windhoek_Namibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Spent a weekend at Tana on a business trip. We were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff, given the hotel Wifi password and showed to our rooms. The room is cosy with a nice view on the capital. Bathroom is clean.

We had an excellent dinner at the hotel. The food is just great and the personnel providing excellent service. Beware of mosquitoes if you are having dinner on the terrace.

The hotel provides a small but practical conference room.

Despite the winter season we managed to enjoy the swimming pool.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkcastle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Se Qld
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On our recent trip throughout Madagascar, we kept returning to this hotel on several occasions for one night at a time.
We always found the reception staff to be quite cheerful and helpful, our rooms on the top floor of the hotel always clean and comfortable.
Sunset drinks on the balcony overlooking the bustling city markets below. The meals were of an acceptable standard, albeit could have been improved upon.
We only experienced breakfast on two mornings, the food on offer was adequate, our early morning starts were not accommodated for breakfast as arranged the previous evening.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views to the west over the city and the bustling markets below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fvm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Plus:
- Nice city view (the hotel is located on a hill overlooking downtown)
- Nice rooms
- Nice and proactive staff

Average: the food was ok (good croquet-monsieur for lunch and local meal for dinner) even tough overpriced for Madagascar

Minus:

There were 10 to 15 degree Celsius, rain and wind but the windows and the terrace’s door in the dining room were always open even at 7 A.M.! We were freezing for breakfast, lunch and dinner always asking to close the door and windows that were without fail re-opened after a while by somebody else.
Unfortunately it should be a common habit in Madagascar to keep doors and windows opened no matter what kind of weather there is outside because we encountered the same problem at Andasibe Lodge. Thankfully we had the AC heating system in the room…

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripNatureLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here on three separate occasions, each for one night, during our Madagascar tour. We had a family room at the top of the hotel, which had a double bed and two single beds, and was nicely finished. Staff were pleasant and efficient, and dinner was excellent. We were always leaving early so never really got to eat a lot of breakfast, but there was a good continental variety and eggs were available. Beware though, we ordered a packed lunch for one day, which consisted of a cheese and ham baguette, some fruit and a small bottle of water each, and this cost almost the same as dinner in the restaurant the previous evening!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#21 of 59 in Antananarivo
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Palissandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Palissandre

Property: Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Address: 13 Rue Andriandahifotsy Faravohitra, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#13 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Palissandre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the hillside in the heart of the city, the Palissandre Hotel & SPA opens the doors of friendliness, hospitality and welcomes you in pure Malagasy tradition. Its 48 rooms have fine wood furnishings and rosewood are equipped with television, mini bar, safe, hairdryer, bathroom with bathtub. SPA - Outdoor Heated Pool - Space cardio - Hammam give you relaxation after a day of exploring or working from the terrace of the restaurant overlooking the city, you will enjoy fine cuisine and creative.Room service. Free Internet access, WIFI Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Palissandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palissandre Hotel
Hotel & Spa Palissandre Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing