We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is in a good central location and the bedrooms are extremely comfortable with safe, AC, balcony, TV (with some english channels!) room service etc. The spa is beautiful and the masseurs very good at what they do.
The food at the restaurant is exceptional and the bar serves some very good cocktails.
The staff are extremely friendly and speak good english. At approximately 80 euros a night, its not the cheapest hotel but its definitely worth it if you want to escape the noise and dust of the city for a few nights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Wey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    133
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
122
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good location in central Tana. Pleasant rooms with English-language TV channels, minbar, and in-room safe. We stayed in a regular room on our first visit, and were upgraded to a junior suite on our second -- pretty much the same, but bigger (with a particularly splendid bathroom).

The restaurant offers great views out over town, and fine dining in the evening at very reasonable prices (especially the menu du jour, a steal at around 8 euro for three courses)

Courteous, helpful staff complete the package, making for a hotel that it's a pleasure to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
275 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on 2 separate nights during our 3 weeks in Madagascar. It was recommended by our travel agent, Natural World Safaris, who I highly recommend. The hotel has great views of the city and is clean, secure, and comfortable. The staff is friendly and the included breakfast was one of the best we had in Madagascar - fruits, creeps, pastries, lovely cheeses and breads. The pool looked inviting but we didn't give it a try.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner and I came to this hotel to use the advertised Hammam/ spa facility. Prices for massages were 8x higher than other massage centres such as Homeopharma but we decided to pay the extra premium so we could use the hammam and pool.

Upon arrival we were advised we would need to spend 100,000 ariary per person on treatments in order to use the other facilities. We paid 200,000 ariary for two massages (2 massages at homeopharma would have cost us 20,000 ariary).

We we're advised we would need to wait 90 minutes for our massage. In the meantime we decided to use the pool and hammam.

Upon entering the pool, we discovered the water to be too chilly for swimming plus there were numerous dead bugs floating around on the surface. The hammam consisted of one simple modern steam room - hardly what you could call a hammam.

Unhappy with the facilities, we decided to leave instead of waiting for our massages. We requested a refund but offered to pay for the 10 minutes we had used to pool and hammam. The spa receptionist refused our request. We asked to speak to the manager who also refused to refund any of our money. When we explained that we would be willing to pay for the usage of the pool/ hammam he asked us to name our price. We offered 20,000 ariary (enough to pay for two massages at homeopharma). He laughed at this offer but would not give us a price which he would accept. He advised that he could not provide us with any refund. He then disappeared only to return 15 minutes later where he stood before us silently with this arms folded, avoiding eye contact. We tried to reason with the manager but he was not listening.

He once again disappeared and failed to return. We then found him at the main hotel reception desk. He handed us 100,000 ariary and advised he could do no more. He also advised his conscience was now clear.

We then decided to have one of us massaged in order to avoid losing the other 100,000 ariary.

Our dealings with the manager of this hotel were very frustrating. At no time was he understanding, helpful, accommodating or professional. After three amazing weeks in Madagascar, this experience on our last day was most unfortunate and highly disappointing.

For those who wish to use the spa and the so-called 'Hammam', I would advise you first inspect the facilities prior to paying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here on 2 occasions during a 3 week trip round Madagascar organised by a local company Rija Tours who I highly recommend. The service at the Palissandre is warm friendly and very efficient. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped. The restaurant is very good, again with friendly efficient service and good food and wine. It's located in the centre of the city on a narrow street but I didn't hear any noise at night. There is a great view over the old town from the restaurant balcony.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel was a great welcome when we arrived in Tana. The staff were kind, the room comfortable and functional- definitely above the average quality we came across. The pool is an added luxury and the central location is very helpful for finding your own way around the city. A brief stay only but wouldn't hesitate to recommend the wonderful staff who seemed to work all hours in the service of their clients.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked our honeymoon to Madagascar through Imagine Africa (who I would not hesitate to recommend) and stayed at the Palissandre on 3 separate nights of the trip. We found it to be an excellent hotel, constructed from the wood of the same name and having spacious rooms with huge beds. We were first struck with the friendliness of the staff and on each of the three occasions we stayed here we found them to be very polite and helpful. On our first and last visit we had a city view room (by far the best not only for the views but the lack of traffic fumes which can come into the rooms from a street view room). The room provided everything we needed it to, including free use of a safe which is not always the case in hotels.

We didn't use the pool or spa facilities but made use of the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The evening meals were of a very high standard however bear in mind that as this is a hotel catered for tourists and business travellers the prices are higher than in many places in Madagascar. This did not matter though when you take into account the quality of the food. Try the chocolate mousse dessert for a guilty pleasure (picture attached).

Overall this is a great hotel, not just for airport stopovers but for a longer stay to fully explore the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB7982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.4 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Palissandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Palissandre

Property: Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Address: 13 Rue Andriandahifotsy Faravohitra, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#13 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Palissandre 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the hillside in the heart of the city, the Palissandre Hotel & SPA opens the doors of friendliness, hospitality and welcomes you in pure Malagasy tradition. Its 48 rooms have fine wood furnishings and rosewood are equipped with television, mini bar, safe, hairdryer, bathroom with bathtub. SPA - Outdoor Heated Pool - Space cardio - Hammam give you relaxation after a day of exploring or working from the terrace of the restaurant overlooking the city, you will enjoy fine cuisine and creative.Room service. Free Internet access, WIFI Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Spa Palissandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palissandre Hotel
Hotel & Spa Palissandre Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing