We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot in Tana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I always stay at the Palissandre on my frequent trips to Madagascar and I have written a full review in the past. I thought that I’d make another entry, as the more I stay here, the more impressed I am with the place. What really sets this hotel apart is the great service and the extremely helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are excellent, bright and airy, with stunning views over the city center and surrounding hills. Free Wifi is also a great bonus. The outdoor restaurant terrace is a magical spot to have a cold drink and watch the sunset over the city. Exploring the charming haute-ville streets surrounding the hotel is always a highlight. At roughly $100 per night I think it is great value. Highly recommended to all travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanO68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 288 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

A clean, well run hotel, positioned in the centre of the city. The staff were helpful and there were good rates offered for money exchange. What sets it apart is the view of the entire city from the restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Ths hotel is perched on the hillside in the middle of Tana. We stayed here on 3 occasions whist on holiday in Madagascar, using it as a stopover prior to the next stage of our journey.
It is very central in town. The journey from the airport in the midst of the day takes an hour and it's really interesting. You get to see the rice fields, the shops and general city life.
The hotel is on a narrow road but as soon as you enter reception, it feels like a relaxing refuge. An ice tea was given to us on arrival, and then we were shown to our very spacious room. With a 6 year old with us, space is a luxury and the three different rooms we had all were spacious. All had great views over the market.
The swimming pool is lovely in the heat, again with great views. The hotel has a spa, but we didn't try this.
We ate in the restaurant three times and the food was fine. Pasta was available for our daughter, which again was welcomed. We also had lunch one day on the terrace, choosing from the a la carte menu. It was very fine!
Breakfast was continental only and it would have been good to be offered hot food. However on two mornings, we had early flights and we were packed off with a fantastic picnic breakfast.

Wifi is free.

A lovely hotel. Maybe a little too far away from the airport to make it really convenient for stopovers, but a great base if you want to be in the centre of Tana.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SolihullPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I just can't believe how Gorgeous is this hotel and friendly are any staff of the hotel, it is simply the best place to stay in Antananarivo and according to me one of the best place to stay in earth. I am personally staying at hotel over 150-200 nights a year for last 10 years and all the special care I receive at Palissandre hotel is just amazing to me. Very friendly, warm and absolutely helpful staff. I had a perfect stay and relaxing even after hard business day. This hotel perfectly fits too for vacation I now plan there with my family and friends. Trust me it is really enjoyable to stay in Palissandre hotel.....Really over any of my expectation. Enjoy it...and see you there may be. Ivan

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivchemtob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as a stop over hotel between places we were visiting in Madagascar for our honeymoon. We were not expecting much. Much to our surprise, it was a wonderful hotel. The food, service, room, and spa were fantastic. We bought some jewelry in the lobby as well that was beautiful from a local designer. The first night we had a room with a balcony, which was great, you had a wonderful view of the city and it was so peaceful from there. If your looking for a nice place to stay in the city, this is THE place to be. If you dont stay here, you can always come for the restaurant which was great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adiandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at the Palissandre Hotel for 4 nights and found the staff to be very helpful, the food excellent, the rooms clean and comfortable.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
The view across the city from the restaurant terrace is terrific.
If you need to find a great place to stay in Tana this is it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This may well be the best hotel in Tana and quite good but don't expect too much.  The rooms are reasonable in size but cramped in places, particularly around the desk.   However, we found that the walls and doors very thin and nowhere near sound proof.  We woke up in the middle of the night convinced that someone had opened our door and walked into the room only to discover it was a neighbour walking into their own room.  During our stays we were woken up several times by the noise of neighbors etc opening doors or just walking down the corridor.  
There is a big difference in ambience between rooms with a city view and those on the street.  Insist on a city view room. We stayed here three times and twice they tried to give us a street view room, once was one more than enough.
The restaurant has a nice deck overlooking the city which is a good place to have breakfast.  However, the food is OK but certainly not outstanding.  One of got sick eating there, we suspect the dessert.   La Varangue restaurant is a class above and we would eat there any day over the Palissandre.  Chez Mariette is also worth trying if you want a different experience.
One positive of the Palissandre is that it has wireless Internet, very unusual for Madagascar.  If you want Internet/email access around Madagascar the only way is mobile Internet, 3G in the bigger cities, 2G elsewhere.  There is an Apple dealer not too far from the old Presidential Palace who we found to be extremely helpful.  Orange seems to have the best coverage but their dealers don't know data from a phone call and you can end up in all sorts of trouble with some of them.

There is a good gallery/craft shop near the hotel.  Walk out the door, turn left then almost immediately right down a little street with some grand French style buildings.  Some way down on the right in an old house is a gallery called Fusion.

Room Tip: make sure you have a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
395 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
0.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Palissandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Palissandre

Address: 13 Rue Andriandahifotsy Faravohitra, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#13 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: $105 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Palissandre 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on the hillside in the heart of the city, the Palissandre Hotel & SPA opens the doors of friendliness, hospitality and welcomes you in pure Malagasy tradition. Its 48 rooms have fine wood furnishings and rosewood are equipped with television, mini bar, safe, hairdryer, bathroom with bathtub. SPA - Outdoor Heated Pool - Space cardio - Hammam give you relaxation after a day of exploring or working from the terrace of the restaurant overlooking the city, you will enjoy fine cuisine and creative.Room service. Free Internet access, WIFI Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Palissandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palissandre Hotel
Hotel & Spa Palissandre Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing