We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely no complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
Ranked #21 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely no complaints”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 separate nights during course of 2-week trip around Madagascar, upgrading to Deluxe room each time as these are invariably well-appointed (regular rooms vary) and most conveniently located (on the floors directly above the lobby). All were large attractive rooms with great views (2 had balconies), great beds, linens, towels & amenities.

Checking in & out was quick. Reception happily provided me with small bills (so I could tip the pleasant & efficient porters). Lobby WiFi was free & fast. Not a prostitute in sight!

Ordered twice from Room Service, my grilled ham & cheese sandwich with fries arrived well within the stated 20-minute window quoted upon ordering, well-prepared & tastefully presented. Breakfast buffet was well-stocked, eggs & crepes cooked to order also available from a delightful man stationed on the terrace, who delivered my order to my table when ready (and helped me practice my rudimentary French, tho he spoke excellent English). Other staff delivered coffee & cleared plates in a timely manner & with a smile.

Great location, close to shops & restaurants. A few (mild-mannered) hawkers and a single beggar woman with baby were sometimes patrolling outside the entrance, but I certainly never felt harassed upon arrival or departure, and hotel security was on hand to keep order if needed (which it was not).

So, absolutely no complaints, and I would definitely stay here again if ever I came back to Tana.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    106
    47
    26
    7
See reviews for
17
45
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is my second visit to "Tana" and the first time staying at the Hotel Colbert.

Location is very good - siting rigt next to the Parliament - although around 30 minutes to an hour from the airport depending on traffic.

The rooms are big but haven't been modernised in maybe 15 years. They have great views over the city and are kept pretty clean. The best thing about the hotel is the choise of facilities with 3 restaurants, a gorgeous casino, shops and bars. Its a small oasis in the heart of a chaotic city.

If you end up in "Tana" I would recommend this as the best place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

It is quite a large hotel with an old wing forming part of the initial building, and a newer wing with more modern rooms as far as I understand. I stayed in the old wing which is slightly cheaper and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything has so much character. If you are into contemporary architecture and all the latest bells and whistles, you will probably not enjoy this. Unfortunately this is about as good as it gets as one does not have the luxury of choice when it comes to 4-5 star hotels in Tana.

The room I stayed in had a large bed, safe, minibar, aircon, tv, desk.. all of which were perfectly acceptable and the look of which were in line with the old. colonial feel of the hotel. The bathroom had a bath with shower over the bath. The water pressure was not great, but under the circumstances I did not mind. It served its purpose. If this hotel was situated in a first world country I would probably have felt very different about it, but within context I found it charming and even refreshingly different to hotels I normally stay in.

One of the highlights of the hotel for me was the spa/ fitness centre. I loved the authentic look and feel of it. The fitness centre is quite disjointed with fitness equipment in various rooms but this adds to the charm. There is a lovely pool and hammam. In between the array of treatments on offer, I could have spent a full day there alone!

The only drawback in my experience was that, minus reception, the staff is generally not proficient in English which made ordering room service, for instance, challenging. With a bit of patience you will be ok though.
Unfortunately one cannot explore the area around the hotel care- and hassle-free as there are many beggars that does not easily take no for an answer. You will be greeted by the likes of them at the airport already. Most of the population live from hand to mouth so one can understand their behaviour - as annoying as it may be. Nothing more the hotel can do about this other than the security guards in the street infront of the hotel. Further afield you are on your own - which is sadly not advisable.

Take some time to explore the hotel. There are a lot of nooks and crannies with bars, eateries, a small casino and a couple of shops.

I am sure most would find a short stay of two to three days at Hotel Colbert quite pleasant.

Room Tip: At a slightly higher rate, ask for a room in the new wing with more modern rooms and fittings. For a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel-CPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Colbert on New Years eve 2012/13. We stayed in an upgraded room (one up from Standard). For Madagascar the hotel is very good and covers all the amenities you require. The patisserie is excellent and the hotel restaurant is also very good with breakfast be adequate for everyone.
We did not dine in the restaurant at night as they had a New Years eve party which you had to book and had set menu. So we had room service, which was really good and very satisfying.
All in all a very good hotel, especially for Madagascar.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chezmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Colbert a total of 6 nights over a period of 3 weeks, using it as a hub for excursions to the four corners of Madagascar. The hotel is located on a hill wnext to the President's Palace and other government buildings. The lobby is always busy with business men meeting government people and some tourists but not that many. Inspite of its location, like most of Tana, it is not a good idea to wander around by yourself, especially at night.
We ate several times at the cooffeshop, both for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet is ok on the whole, but the pastries and breads are great. Eggs to order are included in the buffet price. If you order scrambled, you get a very soft and runny mass of eggs. If you like them a little firmer, order a plain omelet. The dinner menu is very extensive; everything from local specialites to pasta dishes.
Another choice for dinner is Taverne. Inspite of the name it is a white linen fine dining restaurant with very reasonable prices. Try the fixe prix special of the night.
We stayed in the newest wing and found the rooms comfortable and quiet. Most have a view of the city and the queen's palace. There is Internet in the Hotel. Wifi in the lobby which is the most reliable. In the rooms, the intenet connection is via the power plug. You need to get a cable at reception. It worked about half the time.
All in all, I'd recommend Hotel Colbert for friendly , helpful staff, comfortable rooms, and good restaurants.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the new wing, upper floors facing the Queen's Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Sherri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

As a group of guys visiting Madagascar for holiday this was a great choice of hotel for us. It was centrally located in Tana. We stayed on a couple of separate nights and used it as our base in Madagascar (roads stink and all flights hub out of Tana so useful). The staff were gracious and smart at helping solve the usual travel problems. The front desk management team were especially helpful. The rooms were varied but always comfortable and clean. Patisserie service was friendly, efficient and food mostly good except breakfast which was excellent. The rest of the hotel was a charming maze of traditional bars, boutiques and corridors. Reasonable value for location, service, and amenities. Great to have a wonderful traditional cafe au lait!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view not looking into another building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I did not actually stay at Hotel Colbert but I used the lobby while awaiting a friend. Both times I arrived in Tana via taxi brousse, I got in at 0500 and did not want to wake my friend where I was staying so I sat in the lobby of Hotel Colbert. The staff has been more than gracious, allowing me to use wifi and get coffee. If I needed a hotel, I would check here. It is centrally located on a hill with fantastic views of the city. Also, the attached bakery is delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#22 of 59 in Antananarivo
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
2.2 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
Le Grand Mellis Hotel & Spa
#19 of 59 in Antananarivo
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino

Property: L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
Address: 29 rue Prince Ratsimamanga | BP 341, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Antananarivo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colbert Antananarivo Welcome. "The elegance, tradition and prestige are united with an attentive hospitality requirements since 1928" Hotel Restaurant Spa Colbert shines in the heart of the capital Antananarivo, in a perfect central location, prime location that will satisfy you, offering panoramic views of the different monuments city. Our goal is to make you feel at home, ensuring the effectiveness of a service associated with a unique travel experience. Whether on leisure travel, business, or romantic stay, we will answer all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colbert Hotel Antananarivo
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing