We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa(Antananarivo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Varangue(Antananarivo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Ribaudiere(Antananarivo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tana Hotel(Antananarivo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet des Roses(Antananarivo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Urban(Antananarivo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
60
128
53
26
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
128
53
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolold damesauna and steam roomsprawling hoteldelicious cakesrestaurants and barspastry shopsafe locationpost officetv channelsclose proximitybreakfast buffet isstreet vendorslovely poolmain restaurantroyal palacereception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 275 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I had dinner at the Taverna restaurant on Xmas day. The service and food were horrid! Our drinks were served after an hour of waiting and food after 2 hrs! The set menu was limited with no vegetarian or fish options and some items unavailable! The turkey we ordered, served cold, was flat with no seasoning whatsoever! Inadequately staffed, one waitress was tending to several tables with a few diners dozing off as they waited for their food!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missgoodytwoshoes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rambling sort of a hotel. I understand there are new sweets but I stayed several times in the older part. Rooms are large and clean but a little antequated. Bathrooms too are a little old, water hot but some times takes alittle time coming.
Some rooms are not acceptable but the reception is always willing to change them.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is reasonable and the restaurante for lunch or evening meal is excelent, though one can wait awhile for the food to come if they are busy. Quite a variety on the menu, good deserts. Great pastry shop and reasonable bar. Well located in the city.
Only an indoor pool, but the spa is excelent

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicholaspointon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is an expat/business hotel. Get a room on a higher floor in the new wing (but not top floor, as noisy air vents, etc. are on the roof). You will feel like you are in a mid-range Western traditional hotel. The rooms are relatively large and clean, the beds and linen are ok/average, the bathrooms LOOK luxurious with lots of marble, white towels and robes....but adequate supplies of hot water are a persistant problem. The lobby is roomy and attractive with marble floors...but I was surprised that the front desk and overall service is somewhat surly. This is the only place in Madagascar where I experienced a poor attitude from service providers. There are a couple of bars and restraurants...the bars were sadly dull and deserted during my stay, and only one of the restaurants was open. Unfortunately, it was mobbed with tour groups on the night I dined there, and the staff was overwhelmed. I ended up walking out after the first course was served, as it had taken at least 2 hours to get that far. The staff was apologetic, but that wasnt' the point. The spa is small and "ok" only. The pool was wildly crowded, so much so that my travelling companion felt uncomfortable and left after just 15 minutes. There are deserved raves for this hotel tho...and they are for the Patisserie. It operates at the very highest level. The pastries are excellent, the service is efficient and friendly, and it is simply a must-do visit for breakfast or afternoon tea. We also got supplies here for afternoon picnics (individual quiches, etc.). Overall, this is a nice break from Madagascar guest houses, and is the best bet in town if you prefer a more standard Western hotel experience.

Room Tip: A high, but not top, floor in the new wing with a view of the town
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajwsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Rooms offer a wide range of comfort, although the prices are the same.
Typically you arrive in Tananarive very late at night, so you may not have the strength to visit carefully the room you are given at the reception before you accept it. Besides, it is about the best you can find in Tana ...

Room Tip: Avoid the top floors because of the buildings ventilation noise, try and get in the newest part of the Hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanniPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The hotel was our "home base" during a two-week tour of Madagascar. My room was just fine. My only complaint, was the lack of hot water, but that was minor. The staff were all very nice and very helpful, especailly in arranging transport to the zoo and other places. It was a bit daunting to run the gantlet of people selling postcards, vanilla, and just right out asking for money right outside the front door, but that's part of being in Madagascar. The pastry shop is one of the best I've ever been in. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZOEHART
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews