We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying at Aïna = feeling at home ..”
Review of Chez Aina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Aina
Ranked #5 of 92 Antananarivo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Staying at Aïna = feeling at home ..”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

First time in Tana for a one week business trip I had the pleasure to stay at Aïna. Did not really know what to expect and I must admit I was incredibly surprised. All components were there to make my stay enjoyable.

The place is just splendid. A little paradise right in Tana. Turtles are walking in the garden while you are having breakfast ! The food is just excellent, the rooms clean and spacious. And last but not least, Aïna is always there to help and make excellent recommendations and is full of tips & tricks you would not come close to by reading 10 tourist guides.

Little hint : try some of her arranged rhum collection ...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre-Alexandr... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    26
    6
    7
    1
See reviews for
24
52
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here for one night - the first night of our honeymoon - before flying out to the west side of the island. We got in late and Aina stayed up to welcome us and make us feel at home. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and pleasant. Aina organised a taxi for us early the next morning and offered an early breakfast. I unfortunately left my make up bag in the room and Aina not only got in touch with me but also asked one of her next guests from London to take it back with them. Overall, a trustworthy, helpful host with a lovely comfortable home and rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy_fletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This place really is a wonderful escape from Tana. Aina's garden is amazing and the rooms are all beautiful. Im not sure how but the location really drowns out the noise from the city and that alone is worth the slightly high prices. Also Aina is a lovely lady and wonderful to talk to with.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesonofron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

After taking care of a friend for three weeks, it was so nice to experience someone wanting to take care of me. Aina and her family welcomed me into their home with so much warmth! The traditional house is a tucked away oasis in the noisy city Antananarivo. It felt like home immediately. The garden with all its flowers. The house with its relaxing energy, the nice jazz music in the background. My days at Chez Aina would definetely be relaxing, just what I needed. My own spacious room and clean bathroom, loved it all. Aina made sure I would be well taken care of. The home cooked meal on the first night was excellent (the meals were excellent every every evening by the way). The next day I got a massage and I even found myself sitting in a theater listening to a MadaJAZZcar concert in the evening thanks to Aina. What a great place to start my holiday in Madagascar! Aina, thank you so much for taking such good care of me. It were a couple of perfect days to regain my energy again and simply enjoying life s it comes. Big big hug, Ankie

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2badivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

After a late arrival at Antananarivo airport, it took us over an hour to queue for a visa. Aina had arranged a taxi transfer which waited for us, which was reassuring. (As roads are not generally named, we might have found it hard to locate the hotel otherwise.)

Chez Aina is well-appointed and the staff friendly and helpful, although it was useful to know some French. We would have felt intimidated walking around the capital, so arranged for the taxi driver, Eric, to give us a tour for a couple of hours at a very reasonable price. He was friendly and accomodating.

We decided to eat in and enjoyed a couple of evening meals with other people staying there. Although our visit to Chez Aina was brief, we found it an excellent, secure location in which to adjust to the very different culture in Madagascar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiccoloCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leran, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Aina, her staff, daughter and cats, are a lovely friendly family. Very helpful and welcoming.
The house is gorgeous, authentic and the gardens are a real little haven in a very busy, noisy city.

A great place to stay to enjoy the local flavour of Tana.

The concern is the noise at night, neighbourhood dogs are unbearable. But madagascar is generally noisy, a part of the local experience i guess.

Room Tip: ear plugs at night and everything should be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank French-Campagne-Chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Chez Aïna is a charming, reasonably priced B&B hideaway in Antananarivo (about $55 for a double). Aïna, the owner, inherited and remodeled this old, traditional Malagasy house and has tastefully redecorated it. The polished wooden floors shine and the restored woodwork is gorgeous. We stayed at Chez Aïna on four occasions during our recent visit and stayed in three different rooms, all of which were pleasant. Most of Aïna's guests are French, but Aïna speaks English which is constantly improving.  Home cooked dinners are available on request for about $15 p/p. Chez Aïna, like many hotels in Madagascar, does not accept credit cards so bring cash. The ATM in the international arrival/departure area of the airport was the only ATM in Antananarivo we could find which accepted our MasterCard ATM card, a real hassle.  Streets in Antananarivo are not named or marked which makes getting to and from the B&B problematical for some taxi drivers. You can arrange to be picked up from the airport or tell your taxi driver, "Sur le ponte Behoririka, estacion Total, école CNTEMAD". This will bring you the mouth of  small, steep side street  descending to the B&B. Just follow the signs. Most taxis cannot make it all way down so you may have to walk a short distanc

Room Tip: Second floor room with small balcony over garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjbud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
409.6 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
410.3 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
409.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
410.2 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
410.2 mi away
Anjary Hotel
Anjary Hotel
#34 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
410.4 mi away
Tana-Jacaranda
Tana-Jacaranda
#6 of 92 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Aina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Aina

Property: Chez Aina
Address: IVC 147 A Ambatomitsangana, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
C'est une maison typique d'Antananarivo, marie avec bonheur la rusticite du style traditionnel malgache avec ses poutres apparentes,son parquet en bois ancien et le confort et la technicite des temps modernes. Situation ideale en etant a 5mn du centre ville, a proximite d'une rue commercante,du marche artisanal d'Andravoahangy,de la station de Taxi brousse pour l'Est, des banques, taxi ect... Loin de l'agitation de la ville,dans un endroit de verdure, Chez Aina, c'est vivre une atmosphere paisible empreinte de douceur et de sereinite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Aina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Aina Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing