We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's like going home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's like going home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful place to go back to after travelling around Madagascar always a welcome smile.
Great food iffy breakfast good resterant manager.And the guy who did the transfers Mr Andrea
could not do enough for you cold water BBC news great great guy,In suce a poor country in was nice to go back to the Charlton........................Thankyou

Room Tip: either fronft of back it does not matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertsearles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Greetings from the Red Island. Thank you very much for taking time to share your impressions about the hotel. We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our services. We will always do our best to offer more quality services for your nest stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon,

Mrs Miarisoa Rajaonarivony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    162
    53
    13
    8
See reviews for
21
59
36
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice staff, correct and always very helpfull. Location in my opinion a little bit far from the city centre. But good facilities for business meetings. Nice swimming pool, good breakfast. For the view ask for a room looking at the lake. Food at breakfast and café charly was good with no hygienics problems ;-) Wifi in the room for free.

Before you arrive ask for their shuttle to and from Ivato airport. Convenient and less expensive than a taxi.

In order words, my next stay will be at Carlton again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R0cus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your candid comments, we really appreciate that you have taken time to rate us. We have aslo noticed all your preferences to give you more satisfaction for your next stay. Fell free to contact us for your next booking.

Hope to see you very soon among us,

Regards,

Mrs Miarisoa Rajaonarivony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very warm welcome, friendly staff, I like to come back to Hotel Carlton in Tana. It is conveniently located close to downtown and in the administrative district. All necessary facilities available, theyhave done some recent refurbishing of the rooms (carpet etc.), well maintained, good internet connection. Nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your comment, we are glad to read such a comment from you and to know that you have enjoyed the times spent with us.

We are always willing to serve you, so please feel free to contact us for your next visit.

Looking forward to seeing you.

Kind regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel offers good accomodation in the capital of Madagascar. Evening meals are good and breakfasts plentiful. Rooms are clean and staff helpful. Nothing startling but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Strolling_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Greeting from Carlton Hotel,

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlton Hotel during your visit in Tanà and for taking time to leave your comments as well. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the quality of our services have met you expectations.

Please feel free to contact us for your future reservation.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice place to stay! was on business for a short duration. It is centrally located and very close to the lake in Tana. The hotel had a cordial and welcoming staff and a bit of some interesting shops on the reception floor. The restaurant overlooking the large pool was good, serving breakfast. Cafe charly in the night during dinner.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a good view of the city below and the lake opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SrivatsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences with us. We are glad to know that you had good times during your stay at the Carlton and that our services have met your expectations.

We would like to let you know that your room's preference has been recorded in our database so each time you come here, you will have a room in higher floor depending the hotel's availability

Please feel free to contact us for your future reservation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Miora Rakotondrainbe (Mrs)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I think it is fair to say that the Carlton Hotel is probably the best place for business people to stay whilst visiting Antananarivo in Madagascar. The hotel is well situated and the staff are welcoming and helpful. The rooms are adequate with decent wi-fi available. The brochures mention a charge for wi-fi, but it was given to me for free (which was most appreciated as I hate having to pay additonal costs in top hotels for the internet). The hotel has a very nice restaurant which serves excellent zebu steaks (if you like your meat "medium", I'd suggest that you order it "well done") and the only little gripe that I would have is with regard to breakfast - but that's only because I'm a bacon and eggs man and the hotel serves a more French variety of breakfast which includes cheese, cold meat and some indecipherable stews. Generally, the Carlton is highly recommended as the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willierJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Carlton Hotel during your visit in Antananarivo. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your suggestions will be taken into account and shared to the responsible.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Miora Rakotndrainibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having visited Tana for a of a month earlier this year I made the Carlton part of my daily procedure. While I did not actually stay at the hotel, I signed up with a monthly membership at the fitness centre, tennis and pool, and frequented the restaurant as well as used the business centre where they have a very fast internet. The pool and bar area was my hideout in the city. A great place to meet people. The pizzas are great and all staff are super friendly and professional. In all, I don't think I could have survived my stay in the city without the Carlton!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Greeting from Carlton,

Thank you for putting your comments, we are glad that our services have met your expectations.
We are always at you disposal and hope you will stay with us for the future.

Best regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.6 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#19 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#20 of 59 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar

Property: Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Address: Rue Pierre Stibbe Anosy | PO Box 959, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Antananarivo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#4 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#10 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hotel Carlton, central location with genuine view on lake Anosy and the Queen's Palace, conference and meeting facilities for up to 550 persons, business center, outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, fitness, center, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 24 hrs rooms service, casino, free private parking, arcade shops. Since September 1st, 2008 Hotel Carlton is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts in the Lifestyle Collection. IPrefer is the loyalty program that enables guests to have special benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing