We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Nearby Hotels
Meva Guest House(Antananarivo)
$29
$28
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamboho(Antananarivo)
$135
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa(Antananarivo)
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Residence du Rova(Antananarivo)
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$157
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Relais des Plateaux(Antananarivo)
$115
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sole Hotel(Antananarivo)
$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
123
190
59
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
190
59
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreliable internetswimming poolplace to staythe hotel staffbusiness tripnice pooltravel agentmoney exchangebreakfast buffetother hotelsstayed nightsrooms are spaciousair conditioningcitygymmadagascartana
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 396 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We started our tour of Madagascar at this conveniently placed hotel. It had an inviting reception with helpful staff making you very welcome which is always a good thing after an over night flight from the UK. Rooms were reasonable fitted out and very comfortable. Had problems with the room safe but staff sorted this out very quickly. The evening meals in the restaurant were of a good qulaity and very well presented. The serving staff were very helpful and friendly. We felt very safe.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake have the better views. Higher floors allow a panoramic view of Tana giving you a better idea of scale of the capital. Beware floor 6 if you are a non-smoker as there are smoking rooms here which are fume ridden.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galaxy_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear guest,

Warm regards from the Red Island. Thank you very much for taking time to rate us.Your comments are very important as they really help us in our search of improvement to better serve you. We will forward your comments to all concerned.

Hope to see you soon among us.

Regards,

Miarisoa Rajaonarivony (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

A comfortable hotel in a good location. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good.
Whilst there we visited the Lemur Park a short drive outside the city. It was in a lovely location and well set up with close up access to the lemurs in a very natural setting. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Greeting from Carlton Hotel,

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed and it was a pleasure to have helped you during your stay with us. Carlton's team is always ready to make you feel as much comfortable as possible.

Hope to see you soon.

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I visited Tana in Aug12 and stayed in carlton. It is good hotel with good service.
Very friendly staff. Nice and huge pool, good breakfast and room service.
Fully equipped fitness centre and a night club in vicinity.
overall nice stay..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satish_M33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have spent in leaving your comments. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and promise you to give you the best of us to make your stay as much enjoyable as possible.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is the third time I have enjoyed the hospitality of the Staff of the Carlton Hotel in Antananarivo. I have always been impressed with the personal touch I have received from all levels of staff from management downwards.
On this occasion I was totally blown away when the waitress in the breakfast room recognized me and remembered from my previous visit a year before that I enjoyed decafiennated coffee with my breakfast.
A great venue for a business trip to Antananarivo

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lake. The sunrise views are stunning
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear guest,

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the two weeks spent with us and thank you also for leaving your comments here. You are always welcomed for the next operation smile.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Miora Rakotondrainibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were warmly welcomed, as always, and the staff went out of their way to be attentive and helpful. My lack of French resulted in some miscommunication about my needs, but the staff never complained or got upset. They also very kindly allowed us to use their meeting venue on two occasions. The rooms are very comfortable, with bedding changed daily and the rooms being checked several times a day; they even fold back the bedding and put sweets and chocolates next to the bed every evening! All the meals were delicious, with a good variety of dishes for anyone with specific dietary restrictions. The only downside was that Madagascar has no restrictions on where people smoke; as a non-smoker I disliked being exposed to smoke everywhere, including in the dining room.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Lac Anosy have a beautiful and interesting view; however, they are quite noisy when it's very windy, as the wind howls and whistles past.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Greeting from Tanà,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments, we really appreciate and delighted to know that you've enjoyed the two weeks spent with us. Your feedback is really important for us and they are taken into account so to make you feel comfortable for your next stay in the hotel.

Hope to see you for the next operation smile.

Kind regards,

Miora rakotondrainibe (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews