We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at Tana Carlton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed August 29, 2012

your hotel is one the best. good and welcoming. Caring public relations. Nice reception lobby area and entrance and personel. Rooma are great - nice clean bathrooms. Room amenities with good ambience. Wonderful bars, dinning, outdoor swming area cafeteria, and ku de ta bar. shopping areas, ATM etc, gymn, salons etc. one feels at home, relaxed. wonderful cusine as well with vairiety and caring staff. Need to increase cuatelery though. Overall excellent and I miss Carlton Tana.
Thank you.
Albert Obiri.

Room Tip: High and facing swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albertobiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Greeting from Tanà,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are really delighted to read such comments from our guests and glad to know that our sevices have met your expectations during your stay. We are always looking for the best to always make you feel comfortable.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 379 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is clean and the rooms are of a decent size with a large television and a nice view. We were brought bottled water and little chocolates everyday. There was tea, coffee and so on and the room and a mini bar with snack and drinks (but the latter was at a cost). The fridge was not cold and unfortunately the safe in the room was locked but the staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient so no doubt they would have solved that really quickly if we wanted them to. Very nice food at the bistro bar for affordable prices. Not bad breakfast buffet. Didnt use the shops, gym or swimming pool but they're there. The lobby ATM takes only VISA cards. There is a club/bar downstairs which is very popular and apparently one of the nicest in the city. Just be careful that when you pay your bill whether the bill is for both guests in a room or just one guest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cait312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you have spent your time in leaving your comments, thank you indeed. We are glad to know that the quality of our services have met your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay among us.

King regards,

Miora Rakotondrainibe (Mrs)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Based on the rate i got, it was a real bargain. The Staff were very helpful and very supportive. In case i needed to travel out of the hotel, they were very helpful. The room is very spacious with a view of the city. In a french speaking country, there are also a number of English channels in the place, so since i cannot understand a word in French, i really enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justus k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Greetings from Carlton hotel,

Dear guest,
We thank you very much for the interest you have shown in our establishment, and for taking time to leave your comments. Besides, we are glad to see that our services have met your expectations.
Hope to see you soon.

Miora Rakotondrainibe Mrs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Carlton Hotel's hospitality is exeptional! We were treated with friendly smiles and endearing kindness. Nothing was to difficult for the Carlton Staff to do. The housekeeping staff were brilliant in that subesquent to requesting further blankets our bed was made each day with the number of blankets requested without asking. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarin-Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for putting your comments, all carlton hotel's team was pleased to have helped the operation smile's staff during their incredible mission in Antananarivo.
We are also glad that you have enjoyed your stay witgh us.
Looking forward to seeing you on the next operation smile.

Miora Rakotondrainibe Mrs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here one week in May for work.
Pick up at airport(free) from SAA flight worked fine.Check in was efficient.
There is an ATM next to check-in that works well.
Was offered a room overlooking the back as quieter than the front.
TV selection is limited and the wifi can be spotty but no worse than elsewhere in Africa; they depend on their supplier.
Room was quiet,clean with comfortable bed. Bahroom was OK.Nice touch was the snack plate changed daily with cookies or fruit .
Staff was efficient and friendly; we spoke French but at the front desk they know English.
Breakfast was a nice buffet with good service,smoked fish(s) and several nice local cheeses; yoghurt containers often ran out but ask and it was quickly replenished .
The poolside restaurant was nice for lunch and fairly quick both time I used it.
Room service for supper offered good food within 1/2h of ordering; otherwise I went out so did not try the restaurant but they have an extensive offering of zebu meat.
Availability of both large and small taxis was good.
No boarding pass printing service offered; you have to go to the business center operated separately from the hotel (inside it) and pay for this
On check out ,they could not get the Visa card to work (PIN required) so had to use AmEx (no PIN).They apparently could not take Visa without the PIN but could take AmEx without any checks ; odd
I was there in Spring 2008 before and could see improvements since then, particularly in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Poolside is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancoistheEconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Carlton Hotel,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your comments, it's a great pleasure for us to know that our services meet your expectations. We will always do our best to provide good service by making improvement to better serve you.

Hope to see you very soon among us,

Kind regards

Mrs Miarisoa Rajaonarivony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was not a value for money hotel, thus we would expect an outstanding experience. We stayed In a suite facing a fabulous view of the lake. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean with high end amenities. However, the room decor was a bit boring and old style. Sound proofing needed improvement - we could hear cars and people shouting on the streets with the window closed. Turn down service was excellent and wifi connection was fast. Complimentary bottles of water.

Staff Service was not consistent. The lady who checked us in was not too patient so we didn't feel the friendliness upon check-in; on the contrary, the gentleman who checked us out was extremely friendly and helpful. He arranged a private driver for a city tour which was excellent.

We needed to check out and leave for the airport at 7:50am so we had planned to eat breakfast at 7:30am when the breakfast was officially served. When we arrived at the restaurant at 7:30am, we were sent away because the breakfast was not ready. We asked if we could just have whatever was available because of our tight schedule; after spending some time negotiating for some food to eat, we were unwillingly seated but only had 10 minutes to eat.

We would expect a more accommodating and consistent services from this hotel, especially with the higher rate paid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for choosing Carlton Hotel during your visit in Tanà and for taking time to leave your comments. We do appreciate your comments and suggestions, these really help us to improve in all fields to better serve you in your next stay at the hotel.

Looking forward to having you amoong us soon.

Miora Rakotondrainibe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My name is Paul Kelly and I work for Operation Smile South Africa (OSSA), a children's charity which provides free cleft lip and palate surgeries throughout Africa. The Carlton Hotel in Antananarivo has provided incredible support for OSSA's work in Madagascar over a number of years by providing free accommodation to all our volunteers who participate in our medical missions.

Recently, two OSSA volunteers and I conducted a week-long Basic Life Support training workshop in Antananarivo with local health care professionals and again the Carlton assisted our efforts. The service and care provided by the staff was truly incredible. Not only did they offer free accommodation for us, they arranged airport pickup transfers, provided free breakfasts and helped us with logistics on the ground. Their staff were professional, kind and courteous and really made us feel at home.

The hotel is truly committed to social development in Madagascar and OSSA is incredibly grateful for their support.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pskelly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMadagascar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate. We are glad to see that our services have met your expectations during your stay with us. We are always here to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Hope to see you on the next operation smile.

Miora RAkotondrainibe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
0.6 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
279 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
373 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Tamboho
Hotel Tamboho
#8 of 59 in Antananarivo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar

Address: Rue Pierre Stibbe Anosy | PO Box 959, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#1 Casino Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#10 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: $134 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hotel Carlton, central location with genuine view on lake Anosy and the Queen's Palace, conference and meeting facilities for up to 550 persons, business center, outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, fitness, center, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, 24 hrs rooms service, casino, free private parking, arcade shops. Since September 1st, 2008 Hotel Carlton is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts in the Lifestyle Collection. IPrefer is the loyalty program that enables guests to have special benefits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Antananarivo
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing