We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, good food and great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, good food and great view”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I really liked this very French, very colonial hotel. I enjoyed the contrast with the other hotels we stayed in in Antananarivo.
The view from the terrace and from the shared balcony that went with our room was wonderful and the dinner and breakfast we ate there was good.
The bed in the English Room was a true double, rather than the huge king size beds we had in some other hotels in Madagascar and it did creak rather loudly, but despite that, it was comfortable and the room was charming. (as was the service)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    37
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
104
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Quaint and colonial styled rooms with great views overlooking Antananarivo. Staff were all extremely helpful and the food at the terrace was excellent, especially their zebu salads. Trek up the hill to the hotel everyday was a bit tough but its is located in a great area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sid_wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Come here if you want something quaint, different, very French, and definitely over-the-top when it comes to the gourmet foods, soaps, tchokies, and oddities. At Lokanga, you won't believe you are in Africa, or that Madagascar ever became an independent country.

Our room had a four-footed bathtub in the middle of the room. It was filled with antiques, beauty-creams, and other all-imported little extras. Romantic: yes. Over-the-top: definitely. None of it was my taste, but it gave us a good laugh.

The staff, by the way, was wonderful - helpful, warm, and attuned to our needs. We have no complaints - just be prepared for a very different kind of experience. And from the hotel you can take a long and wonderful walk through some of the oldest parts of the city, which we did -- and enjoyed thoroughly.

Room Tip: each room is different -- all have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy_Windhoek_Namibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first hotel In Tana. After a friend and I got off a 23 hour flight.
They were very helpful getting our bags down a very scary narrow stony flight of stairs and when we got to the charming old villa. We had to go up three flights before entering our room, only to find a queen size bed awaiting us!
This was the case in all the hotels over there no single beds!
It does have great internet service!
the place does need to be updated, but s it has charm and a lovely buffet breakfast!
they do not except anything other than VISA!!!!! so no mastercard or amex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo,
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Arriving at the hotel you have to descend some 5 1 steps in wood and stone. The hotel is situated in what looks like a delipidated villa. Entering, it smells like the cheff has forgotten the fish in the hot oil. Not a subtle wiff but so strong that you feel it in your eyes.
No reception.
We had chosen The English Room.
The stairs to the room are real narrow & steep
Coming to the room-the best thing is a large veranda that you have to share with others.
The bathroom has an outdated tub which older people will not be able to enter, since the hight is roughly to the middle of your thigh. There are no steps.
There is no shower curtain.
The washbasin has 4 taps (faucets) but no possibility to mix the water and no plug for the drain. It is yellow stained at places, it is dirty, it is scratched, it is chipped. The soap holders are rusty.
A sun-downer was served at the veranda in two different wine-glasses one for white and one for red wines with a slice of fois gras (half coocked and red inside)
The door to the veranda cannot be closed from the outside which leaves plenty of space for mosquitos which in our case entered by the dozen. No mossie -net.
The paint is falling off here and there the wood is splitting up e.g. on the easy chairs, it is dirty, dirty, dirty.
Look at the photo of the towel after i moved it along the window in the bathroom!
The double bed shrieks horribly loud when you sit on it or turning during night.
When people upstairs (?) Are walking on the floor it sounds like they are walking through your room

Dinner 7-9
Ordered red wine: yes-wine good but served at 12-13 degrees.
Ordered starters: malagacy assiet - very good
Main dish: Shrimp - ok- Baked potatoes is boiled potato afterward wrapped in foil. (That is how you recognize the not caring kitchen.)
Thai soup= vegetables served in a cream sauce! None of the special Thai-taste. Cold! and on cold plate. No spoon!
Re-order: beef in malagasy pepper sauce. Beef ordered rare to medium. Appears as well done to medium in a onion cream sauce! No peppers! And a cold plate.
When serving the waitress is stretching over the food in one place to give the food to the the other party
The picture was made complete when the napkins first came together w/dessert. (But we had paper serviettes, probably left over from the previous meal.
The staff had no clue how to serve food.
The china ware -all- had chips- and it is a known fact that that is the way to promote infections.


Situation:
Way out of the city, you would need your own transportation I guess.

All in all:
not worth the money! There are so many other places which are clean and without all the nuisance of this place and with excellent trained staff. And today I know, with so much better view of the town

Positively:
There is a heater in the room
The view is OK but not the best, and the only selling point.

It is amazing that they are said to be the Winner 2012 (?). And they are displaying a Trip Advisor award where there is no year mentioned!

Room Tip: I really don't know if it possible to find a room which will satisfy anything but a first time b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abut0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the first of three hotels we stayed at in 'Tana', and it was by far the best of the three. It is a fabulous hotel, and the one I would chose to stay at again if visiting Madagascar.
We stayed for one night only, in the Rose room, on the second floor, which was excellent, and gave us the opportunity for a much needed bath, after several days of showers only. The room was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable. As with the rest of the hotel, there were quirky items of furniture and light fittings, which really made the room feel 'different'.
Evening meal was superb, and very good value, and breakfast was also extremely good, with fresh fruit, home-made muffins, etc.
The hotel has fabulous views over the city, but was very quiet, and the staff were excellent. If you need a hotel in 'Tana', look no further. Superb!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenceleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just stayed here for 1 night and it took a while to get there from the airport but it was worth it!

The staff are wonderful and have thought of everything, including giving you the directions to get back to the hotel in Madagascan for the taxi drivers to understand.

The views are breathtaking and the food was fab. If you stay in Tana stay here as long as you don't mind the hilly journey

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrtTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
7.7 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 59 in Antananarivo
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokanga Boutique Hotel

Property: Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Address: Lot VW 115 Ambohimitsimbina, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lokanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a genuine traditional Malagasy House, all in red bricks with a balcony with breathtaking views over the city. lokanga is centrally located in the heart of an historical area, perched on the royal hill of Antananarivo a few step from the Queen's Palace. All the rooms are individually styled and decorated with family antiques and full comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your Lokanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokanga Boutique Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing