We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most romantic places I've stayed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the most romantic places I've stayed!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon and we were so happy with our choice! It's perched on the royal hill, overlooking the whole of Tana and about a hundred metres from the closed down palace. While it is not in the centre of town, it is an easy and pleasant stroll downhill (we got cabs back up!) and I think the location couldn't be better. Staff were faultless and the baroque room with it's antique bed, freestanding claw foot bath and general feel of opulence was exactly what we wanted. Food was good and staff faultless. It's not cheap but worth it as a special treat. I'm already planning my return visit!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    37
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
28
104
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antananarivo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Most beautiful view of Antanarivo + pristine restorated traditional house + XIXth/early XXth century furniture + wonderful owners and staff = One of a kind in Tana.

Room Tip: The Suite is just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I was traveling with a small group and stayed one night on December, 2011. The house reminds me of some of the better, funky B&B in the UK. The house is an extensively restored, old grand house with wonderful views of the city below from the terrace. The owner and staff were wonderful. Try to have dinner there. It was very good.

Room Tip: Try one of the rear, upstairs rooms. Each one is different and has a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This little gem of a hotel is a must for anyone staying in Antanarivo. We only stayed one night, but I wish it had been longer. The rooms were funky yet elegant, with an exquisite attention to detail everywhere, the food was great, the beautiful outdoor terrace had stunning views of the city, and the staff were utterly charming. I was ill when I got there, and the owner, Fabiola, couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. An outstanding place to chill out.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you stay in TAnna This is the place to be fantastic hotel views to die for if you have had a couple of hard weeks trekking its the ideal chill before home

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
1.0 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
Le Pavillon de l'Emyrne
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lokanga Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lokanga Boutique Hotel

Property: Lokanga Boutique Hotel
Address: Lot VW 115 Ambohimitsimbina, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lokanga Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a genuine traditional Malagasy House, all in red bricks with a balcony with breathtaking views over the city. lokanga is centrally located in the heart of an historical area, perched on the royal hill of Antananarivo a few step from the Queen's Palace. All the rooms are individually styled and decorated with family antiques and full comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Lokanga Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lokanga Boutique Hotel Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing