We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close & personal”
Review of Lemurs' Park

Lemurs' Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$123.00*
and up
Full-Day Antananarivo, Ambohimanga and Lemurs Park Private Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Up close & personal”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you miss seeing lemurs in the wild, make sure you have a visit to the Lemur Park. It only takes about 1.5 hours to walk around at a slow pace and get good photos, but well worth it.
These lemurs were all confiscated pets and even though they aren't in their natural habitat, they are now in something close to it.
As they don't know how to feed themselves etc, they are well cared for in as natural an environment as possible.
There are 9 types on lemur at the park, we saw 8, and because they are used to humans, they come up close, even though they are discouraged to interact they are so curious and can't help themselves.
The guide, Tony, was very knew about his plants and their medicinal qualities.
While there, a man in a wheel chair was getting VIP treatment with the tortoises.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MissT603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    221
    57
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Natural Setting for Wonderful Lemurs”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

With an afternoon free, we visited Lemur Park and had a wonderful time. The setting was beautiful and very natural with the river serving as a barrier on one side. It was a nice and easy walk along well maintained paths. Our guide a young woman knew all about the lemurs, chameleons, and plants. The lemurs were free range, and very visible, close and entertaining in their groups. The Coquerel's Sifaka had a baby and the Black-and-White Ruffed Lemurs were active as were the Ringtails. There were many chameleons along the way and there were many plantings showing vegetation you might not see otherwise. There was also a simple cafe (we just had a soda) and a gift shop with Malagasy crafts sold for a reasonable price. The drive from the city was nice too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank safarigrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great first taste of Madagascar”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Loved the great guided tour by such a knowledgable guy. Lemurs abounded all over and were a delight to see. Lovely natural home for rescued animals. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leighites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Not to be missed whilst visiting Tana”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We hired a car and driver for the one hour drive to the Lemurs Park from Tana. We arrived at 10am and met our guide Becol. Becol spoke excellent English and provided us with an extremely knowledgeable tour of the Park (the included the lemurs and information on the different types of plants in the park). There were nine types of lemurs in the park when we visited, and we were able to see all nine.

The tour took approximately one hour and we left with hundreds of photos of lemurs. There was no rush, and we were allowed to spend as much time as wanted taking photos.

Of course you are not allowed to touch the lemurs, as the goal of the park is return them to the wild. However they are very used to humans being around, and you can get quite close to take photographs.

It costs 20,000 ariary per adult to enter, and we then tipped our guide 10,000 ariary per person (as we were told they are not paid by the park, and rely on tips).

I'd highly recommend the Lemurs Park.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful, educational nature walk”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

While you can't touch the animals it's interesting to watch them in a natural habitat. The surrounding countryside is also beautiful. Our guide was able to show us around and spoke good English. During the week call ahead if you plan to eat at the restaurant. The traditional food was good but limited selection. We stopped along the road and bought steamed corn and mashed corn cakes from some local women. The food was good and we were happy to be able to give the locals some business. Another interesting day in Tana.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemurs' Park also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to Lemurs' Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing