We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service”
Review of Cafe de la Gare

Cafe de la Gare
Ranked #5 of 192 Restaurants in Antananarivo
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

One of the best places in Tana's where you can comfortably sit outside on the terrace without being bothered by salespeople. Food is excellent and not really expensive.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaintPaul_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    246
    94
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“No better place for lunch”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is THE place for lunch. Recommend taking a table in the garden under one of the many trees. A real retreat from the hustle and bustle of Tana. The toilets in the rail wagon should not be missed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosmopolitan upscale restaurant”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved Cafe de la Gare. It has a contemporary feel, the clientele is varied, and the food I had was great. I wouldn't say it feels authentically Malagasy, but it's nice for a treat or for a taste of modern comforts. I had the eggplant parmesan and vegetable cream soup. The eggplant parmesan was one of the best dishes I had in all of Madagascar. Again, not authentically Malagasy, but very tasty and nice to find vegetarian dishes after weeks of chicken, fish and zebu. There was a live jazz band when we were there and a lively bar. The staff was nice and attentive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dclemurgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafedelagare, Public Relations Manager at Cafe de la Gare, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi dclemurgrrl,

Glad you enjoyed your time with us ! We are always grateful and happy to hear that our clients enjoy the ambiance and the food here ! And you are right, we don't serve malagasy type of food, it's much more Brasserie type !
Hope to see you soon ! And Happy New Year By the way !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

In theory the Cafe de la Gare, in splendidly restored turn of the century building, should be a very pleasant experience. Another major plus is the protected parking. However our third visit went a long way to confirming the mediocrity of the food. My salad was graced with a dead fly and the main course, served on cold plates, was equally cold. The other guests' food was not really up to standard. Service was very variable with some waiters being attentive and others simply offhand. The menus, (drinks and food) were dog eared and stained.
With a little more attention to detail the venue has the potential to be an outstanding addition to the city's restaurants. Sadly for the moment this stage has not been attained and the competition offers better value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wingfield73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafedelagare, Responsable relations publiques at Cafe de la Gare, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Be sure that we feel very sorry about that bad experience in the Café de la Gare. It is not customary of our establishment and we sincerely apologise for this misadventure.
Nethertheless, we have numerous events to come like musical entertainments and private shows. Did you taste our famous sunday brunch ? We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the Café de la Gare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

A nice place with a nice garden. Slightly posh and overpriced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafedelagare, Public Relations Manager at Cafe de la Gare, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hi Laurent K and thank you for your review. If you found our restaurant posh, you should come and enjoy a movie or the special musical entertainments every thursday night. A band comes and plays an dthere are many people dancing and making the most of it. See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de la Gare also viewed

Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
Antananarivo, Antananarivo Province
 

Been to Cafe de la Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing