We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hideaway but convenient”
Review of Hotel Tamboho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tamboho
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Friendly hotel with very modern appointments. Taxi travel essential but taxi stand within sight. Staff willingness to please counteracts minor irritations; e.g.not noticing the Do Not Disturb sign every morning. Food was good. Other travelers diverse. Owner on the premises, often with his family. Wish my French was better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hello,
Thanks for your review.
I'm happy that you enjoy your stay in Tamboho, and his modern appointments.
You need a taxi to join the historic center of the town or walk for 15-20 min (but walking is not easy in Tana, sidewalks are not in good condition).
I will tell the housekeeper to pay attention to the "do not disturb" sign.

regards

Dimitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 181 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

I booked this place by chance at the last minute and have not been disappointed during my 3-day stay. The room is spacious, beautifully appointed with ultra-modern furnishings overlooking a sparkling swimming pool and rice paddies. The bathroom is large with a spectacular rainhead shower. There's a lovely spa here where I had the relaxing bamboo massage and it truly relaxed me after Paris jet lag. I ate my first dinner at the restaurant here and it was superb and very reasonably priced. The breakfast is good and offers continental, as well as lots of fruit and Malagassy specialties. The staff is very helpful and arranged for a driver to take me to Lemurs Park, which is well worth the hour drive. Love this place so much I'm coming back at end of the month!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincessMisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thanks you for your review,
We will be happy to see you again.

Best regards

Dimitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here.
The huge bed was very comfortable and the room was a good size although I agree that the opening between the bathroom and the bedroom, although screened did make things a bit less private than each of us would have wished.
I liked the food, especially the deserts which were a treat for the eyes and the mouth. Room service for about an English pound more than the menu prices was lovely after a long day.
The terrace attached to the dining room had lovely views and the dining room was pleasant, although the number of French people smoking throughout their (and my) meals combined with the door between the terrace and the dining room being kept open meant that I sneezed through the lunches and breakfast eaten in the dining room.
I found the staff pleasant and helpful, the wifi fairly stable and the computer in the lobby linked to a printer at the desk invaluable for checking in and printing our boarding passes for our flight home.
We managed to avoid the most horrendous queues at the airport by printing the boarding passes in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Madam,
Thanks for your review,
We expect to define the dining room as a non-smoking area.
please to see you again.

Dimitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tamboho is like an oasi in antananarivo, forget all the noisy roads and the crowd, rooms are quiet and nice, expecially the ones facing the pool.

Breakfast is good too the selection offered is wide and you can have it on the terrace wich add value to the quietness of the morning.

The only ? Is the fridge in the corridors instead of havng one in the room and the hole in the wall of the bathroom which does not give the privacy that you would need especially if you are two, but it is a little thing for all the good ones you have here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anto.tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

Thanks for your review, we love our terrasse in the morning so quiet with the birds.
We took the decision to let the fridge in the corridor for the sound and because it's free.

see you soon

Dmitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice hotel, rooms are clean and modern and function well. Pool is nice (not too much shade though) and very clean. Restaurant is a good place to eat even if you aren't staying here. Conveniently located across the street from ATMs, supermarket and small shops (which are not open on Sundays - be warned). Very good security. Overall - highly recommended for both business or pleasure. They do not have family rooms, so if you need more space you might need to rent 2 rooms.

Room Tip: Personally - I feel more secure in a room that does not open to the outside (pool area) and would st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

Thanks a lot for the review,
the pool is reserved for the resident. then it is quiet

See you soon

Dimitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Tamboho is not what you prepared yourself for. It is a very nice place, great for winding down after work, nice (and surprising) room, nice pool, amazing internet and very helpful, albeit a bit forgetful, staff. All of my travel arrangements for the week were taken care of within five minutes of my arrival. One particular member of staff ensured I had the proper adaptor for my mobile phone charger, while another simply forgot to book a dinner reservation for a busy Saturday night. I found the restaurant menu to be a bit repetitive, I knew it by heart after two weeks! But great food and presentation nonetheless. And great breakfast buffet.
The inside of the restaurant should have been non-smoking, nothing worse than trying to enjoy your dinner through cigarette smoke. Staff do make a bit of a noise when clearing up after dinner.
Other than that, great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Thank for your comments about the room and the swimming pool.
We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.
We have spoken with the employee at the reception in question, and we put a procedure to avoid this kind of mistake.
We note your comments about the restaurant, and working on the implementation of a smoking area not to disturb other customers and we offer a daily special for long staying guest. The chef is at your disposal to prepare simple dishes that are not on the menu.

If you come back to our hotel, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great quiet little place. I had a day or so to relax in this business trip and this is the perfect place to do just that. When checking it, the front desk even loaned me money to pay the taxi driver as I had not yet changed currency- well done;). Internet had been hassle free- not easy to find this part of the world. Pool is great, quiet grassy ground with nice views. So far, no complaints except was personally hoping for a fitness center...and the prices were a bit steep.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamboho, Propriétaire at Hotel Tamboho, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

Thanks for your review,
we konw that internet is important and can't be charger, it's like power, it should be included

happy to see you again next time

Dimitri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis & Spa Antananarivo Ankorondrano
1.7 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 59 in Antananarivo
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Le Relais des Plateaux
Le Relais des Plateaux
#3 of 59 in Antananarivo
373 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#23 of 59 in Antananarivo
251 reviews
1.3 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tamboho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamboho

Address: Tana Water Front | Ambodivona, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range: $142 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tamboho 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an exceptional location, with a combination of authenticity and modernity, in a peaceful atmosphere, close to downtown and the business district. This boutique hotel is ideal to stroll around Antananarivo, and get into its specificities: the Zoma market, the Independance Avenue, the Queen's Palace, the Tsimbazaza zoo with Madagascar's Nature's beauties, the lemurs, the various handicrafts markets, wood sculptures, semi precious and precious stones.The Tamboho hotel and restaurant comprises 30 air-conditioned rooms with all the required comfort, offering a refined cuisine serving European meals as well as delicious local and spicy flavored dishes.You will enjoy the designed style of the lobby, the western services quality with all the Malagasy charming care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tamboho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tamboho Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing