We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it at Chalet des Roses!”
Review of Chalet des Roses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet des Roses
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed January 24, 2011

great service and super affordable rooms! the french bread in the morning was divine. There's a lovely italian restaurant at the hotel, also a short from lovely french pastry shops :) i loved the staff, very welcoming and although they speak mostly french, they were willing to understand us. nice and spacious rooms, newly renovated and nice lovely showers, recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Chalet des Roses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 151 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2010

We had originally booked Hotel Naiouly, having been put off Chalet des Roses by the indifferent reviews on this site. Big mistake - see my review of that hotel! We had three separate nights at Chalet des Roses, staying in rooms 205, 305 and 201. All three rooms were on the front but we had no disturbance at all, contrary to other reviews. All three rooms were in spotless condition with 305 being the best, particularly for its shower facilities. I think that they have all been refitted fairly recently. The only downside to the hotel is that the restaurant (fro dinner) is in the street behind which means going out of the hotel and downhill through an alley. Breakfast is in the hotel foyer and was very adequate. However we could not get breakfast at 5:30am before an early flight. Staff were extremely helpful and th ehotel has free wireless and cabled internet access, plus a PC for general use in the foyer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inspiredron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We also stayed in room 208 (at rear but updated)and my daughter stayed in 206 (at front but updated) and both rooms were very good. However for the first night of our tour we were moved to room 205 (at front and tired) and the difference was startling. Mouldy old shower curtain, smelt of smoke and mould and watch out opening the wardrobe if you have fan on! Also front rooms were much noisier than the rooms at rear. They were otherwise clean but if you can score room 208 or similar you are far better off.
Work was occurring upstairs so maybe they will update this room in time.
Overall in context of Tana good value for money as it is relatively cheap.
Best aspect is the safe location although whether that will change once the US embassy moves to its new location when built out towards airport, who knows. Close by to market and ATM's with restaurant in rear street with steps past US embassy so safe at night due to security presence.
Supermarket a short walk away.
A little english was spoken and together with basic french you can get understood and the staff were always helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcb5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Our Gap Adventure group stayed at Chalet des Roses Hotel and we found it very pleasent, so we stayed there an additional two nights after our trip. The hotel is in an excellent location (next to the US Embassy, so very safe) with easy access to many good restaurants in Upper town, 15 minute walk to Ave De L'Independance and shopping. The hotel is still adding rooms on the second and third floors and making improvements. Our first night we stayed in room 208 with a super shower, very clean room, beautiful wood floors and furniture. Our last two nights were spent in room 106; an older room with a leaking shower and lots of mildew on the ceiling, but still a very nice, clean room with beautiful wood floors, comfortable beds and tiled bathrooms. Very little English spoken. Breakfast was 6000 AR (about $4.50 US) for bread, tea or coffee, fruit and jam. The attached restaurant is excellent with a wide variety of food at great prices (less than $10 USD for dinner).

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Jolandavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: il vaut mieux comme partout en voir 2 ou 3 si possible On ne sait jamais
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Petra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#13 of 59 in Antananarivo
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 59 in Antananarivo
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#22 of 59 in Antananarivo
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sole Hotel
Sole Hotel
#48 of 59 in Antananarivo
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Lovasoa
Maison Lovasoa
#17 of 59 in Antananarivo
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#18 of 59 in Antananarivo
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet des Roses

Address: 13 Rue Antsahavola | PO Box #BP 4364, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Chalet Des Roses Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing