We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great safe location. Ask for room upstairs at rear.”
Review of Chalet des Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet des Roses
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We also stayed in room 208 (at rear but updated)and my daughter stayed in 206 (at front but updated) and both rooms were very good. However for the first night of our tour we were moved to room 205 (at front and tired) and the difference was startling. Mouldy old shower curtain, smelt of smoke and mould and watch out opening the wardrobe if you have fan on! Also front rooms were much noisier than the rooms at rear. They were otherwise clean but if you can score room 208 or similar you are far better off.
Work was occurring upstairs so maybe they will update this room in time.
Overall in context of Tana good value for money as it is relatively cheap.
Best aspect is the safe location although whether that will change once the US embassy moves to its new location when built out towards airport, who knows. Close by to market and ATM's with restaurant in rear street with steps past US embassy so safe at night due to security presence.
Supermarket a short walk away.
A little english was spoken and together with basic french you can get understood and the staff were always helpfull.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcb5022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 162 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2008

Our Gap Adventure group stayed at Chalet des Roses Hotel and we found it very pleasent, so we stayed there an additional two nights after our trip. The hotel is in an excellent location (next to the US Embassy, so very safe) with easy access to many good restaurants in Upper town, 15 minute walk to Ave De L'Independance and shopping. The hotel is still adding rooms on the second and third floors and making improvements. Our first night we stayed in room 208 with a super shower, very clean room, beautiful wood floors and furniture. Our last two nights were spent in room 106; an older room with a leaking shower and lots of mildew on the ceiling, but still a very nice, clean room with beautiful wood floors, comfortable beds and tiled bathrooms. Very little English spoken. Breakfast was 6000 AR (about $4.50 US) for bread, tea or coffee, fruit and jam. The attached restaurant is excellent with a wide variety of food at great prices (less than $10 USD for dinner).

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hermworp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: piano alto e lontano dall'ascensore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurofrecciabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ineke-Gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Juergen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.2 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#12 of 59 in Antananarivo
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 59 in Antananarivo
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Urban
Grand Hotel Urban
#10 of 59 in Antananarivo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Maison des Cotonniers
Hotel Maison des Cotonniers
#25 of 59 in Antananarivo
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Lovasoa
Maison Lovasoa
#19 of 59 in Antananarivo
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Les Trois Metis
Les Trois Metis
#7 of 59 in Antananarivo
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet des Roses

Address: 13 Rue Antsahavola | PO Box #BP 4364, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Antananarivo
Price Range: $45 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chalet des Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Des Roses Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing