We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok by Madagascar standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet des Roses

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Antananarivo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet des Roses
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Antananarivo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,108 reviews
296 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“Ok by Madagascar standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Free wifi but sometimes down, also not working on 4th floor. Breakfast good, restaurants close, some begging people out front, rooms adequate but mold on shower curtain, TV (french), staff very helpful, stored luggage for a week.
So this hotel is adequate and at least above average by Mada standards, just remember where u are, it is not even a Super 8 by NA standards.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    67
    31
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
49
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Chalet des Roses back in 2010 and again more recently in October 2012. I had tryed as well others hotels in Antanananarivo and came to the conclusion that, apart for the hotels in the upper bracket (too expensives in any case, for the standard of the Country), Chalet des Roses stands well ahead of the others of comparable range.
The people at Reception are nice and helpful. Rooms are clean, with bathrooms in full working order. Free WiFi.
Well located in the urban context, within walking distance from the two areas of town where all action takes place.
The annexe restaurant offers good Italian menu in pleasant surroundings.
I have no doubt about coming back to this hotel, next time I will be in Antananarivo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanatani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions, in different rooms. Everything was clean, and in the main all the bathroom facilities worked. The room was fairly basic. The hotel restaurant was easily reached from the reception foyer, down a staircase. Menu choices were plentiful and meals were of a fair standard. Breakfast was served in the hotel foyer; guests select items from a list and tick their piece of paper. With having no buffet, the consequence is a somewhat slow service for breakfast since people were served one person at a time, leaving possibly many waiting for a drink. Choices were a plate of fruit, yoghurts, eggs and baguette with butter and jam. Location is fairly central making walking to different local attractions easy; taxis can be flagged down near the hotel. The hotel did not have a city map for the area - only a card showing the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at four hotels in Antananarivo: Hotel Shanghai, Hotel au Mirandav, Hotel Brajas and Chalet des Roses. Of these four, the Chalet des Roses was clearly superior. There is free WiFi, a good restaurant, clean spacious rooms, a helpful staff and a nice atomsphere.

It is only a 10 minute walk to Avenue de l'Independance from the Chalet des Roses.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
535 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

My three nights in November 2011 were extremely hot. I had two different rooms, the second being 204. Both beds had matresses which were extremely hard. The way the doors close and lock are very noisy, and if anyone else in the hotel exits or enters thier room you will hear it. I didn't sleep well due to the heat. The room was clean. The shower worked well. I couldn't get the safe in room 204 to work properly, but I felt the security of the hotel was adequate. The television does not have any English stations.

The US embassy is no longer located nearby. The street is only safe directly in front of the hotel where there is a security presence. Just down the street is an area with prostitutes each night. Even when we went to a restaurant within walking distance, we were advised to take a taxi (when it was dark). During the daytime there are persistant beggars to greet you outside the hotel.

There is free wifi and a computer with Internet access in the lobby. The breakfast is good for Madagascar, but one morning it took almost an hour before we were served. The restaurant around the corner and down the stairs has good pizza and quick service.

I don't know how this hotel compares to others in Tanna, but if i went back I would not return to this hotel (I would try something different).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
216 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is an OK hotel to stay if you are only going to be one night in Antananarivo. It is very centrally located in the Haute Ville, making it easy to walk around and explore the area. The rooms are basic, but clean. There is free internet usage in the lobby. I did not find the staff very helpful when I asked questions about the local area and or for dining suggestions. They only wanted to steer me to their restaurant, a rather mediocre Italian place around the corner from the hotel entrance. I would skip the restaurant completely. The included breakfast is decent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EisBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

-clean
-safe
-well priced
-good location
-hot water
-updated bathroom and bedroom

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ribaudiere
Hotel La Ribaudiere
#14 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#21 of 60 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
Le Louvre Hotel & Spa
#19 of 60 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet des Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet des Roses

Property: Chalet des Roses
Address: 13 Rue Antsahavola | PO Box #BP 4364, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Antananarivo
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Chalet Des Roses Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing