We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“modern hotel near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Relais des Plateaux
Ranked #3 of 60 Hotels in Antananarivo
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“modern hotel near the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a day room here between our local flight into Tana and our international flight home late in the evening. The rooms were modern with good bathrooms and we would have been happy to stay overnight. We had dinner in the restaurant sitting outside by the pool, meal was good value but service a bit slow. Drinks were disappointing, asked for a pina colada and think it had been poured ready-made from a bottle, certainly not up to the standard we had experienced in other hotels in Madagascar. We had been touring for 2 weeks in not very touristy areas so it was good to delve into the little shop in the hotel; they had lots of well-made local products and all excellent value (case repacking then had to take place!). The white rum was amazingly cheap if you bought it in a standard bottle but 4 times the price in a showy bottle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    172
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
125
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stopped in this hotel twice on the way to Toamasina and I found it very nice, green and safe. Staff is friendly and helpful. And they have massage for 40,000 ariary :) bar and restaurant are good. Breakfast is okay, they can make you fresh omelet. Rooms are very nice but mattress is not very soft.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadaTata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cédric T, Responsable commercial at Le Relais des Plateaux, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are giving our best to welcome you in good conditions. We keep your recommendation about mattress and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
242 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Always great to stay at Relais des Plateaux, booking via an email was beyond superb the staff particularily Raicha was great and helpful as ever.
The pick up at he airport was smooth professional and a pleasure.
The room was nicely furnished the food super the restaurant great, and the pool clean and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the pool on a weekend are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Le Relais des Plateaux twice (arriving and leaving Madagascar). On both occasions, the staff were fantastic, the food was good and the room was very comfortable. The gift store is much better value than the shops at the airport and has a good selection if you're needing souvenirs. It's close to the airport which makes for convenient transfers but it is not in the best part of Tana.

Room Tip: We were near the pool in the new section and the room was spacious and quiet, and everything worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 742Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here when passing through to other areas in Madagascar. It’s close to the airport, everyone is lovely there and it has a great atmosphere. I’ll always stay here when I fly out there and can recommend it for short term stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've recently used this hotel for passing through 'Tana' on the way to other locales in Madagascar, and I enjoy this hotel. The rooms are way off the main road and the rooms are clean and comfortable with a good bed, ok bathroom.

Some minor issues with my TV not working properly (didnt bother me), and hot water taking a very long time to run. Breakfast was ok and reception service friendly and prompt. Shuttle service to/from airport for all domestic and international flights with boards in reception with flight and shuttle time information.

Room Tip: I hear that the bar sometimes can get a bit noisy (havent experienced it personally though) so the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJCJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was a good night's stay before an early morning flight..
+ clean room and bathroom
+ heated pool
+ decent food (nothing great)
+ good service

nothing particularly negative, but nothing particularly notable either...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Antananarivo hotels
6.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
Hotel & Spa Palissandre
#2 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton Antananarivo Madagascar
6.4 mi away
Hotel Sakamanga
Hotel Sakamanga
#1 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
L’Hotel Colbert Spa & Casino
#21 of 60 in Antananarivo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
Ibis Antananarivo Ankorondrano
#10 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Varangue
La Varangue
#5 of 60 in Antananarivo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais des Plateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais des Plateaux

Property: Le Relais des Plateaux
Address: Lot 66 B Antanetibe Ivato, Antananarivo 101, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antananarivo Province > Antananarivo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Antananarivo
#5 Business Hotel in Antananarivo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais des Plateaux 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 7.5 miles from capital city of Madagascar and 5 minutes from Ivato international airport & the International Convention Center in a wooden site of 6,000 sq. meters. Family-owned French & Malagasy hotel created in 2005, furniture is a combination between local tradition and international modernity. The park is full of bird and vegetal species which is part of our success for nature lovers. Buildings are incorporated in this surrounding which makes us "an oasis at the gates of Antananarivo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Relais des Plateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Des Plateaux Madagascar/Antananarivo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing