We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but a bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Waregem, Belgium
2 reviews
“Very good but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed at the Corinthia for four nights last week and everything was as I expected it to be. Staff was very friendly, a bit slow though, and service was good. The room was excellent, very spacious, bathroom with shower and bath tub, plenty of towels, bath robes and slippers. Big flat screen television with dozens of satellite TV channels.
Great breakfast buffet. Small snacks in the Café at lobby level are also acceptable. Pizza in the Italian restaurant was so so. Didn't try the buffet restaurant for dinner.
Room service is available and it is pretty quick.
You have to go through a scanner to enter the hotel. Taxis are found outside the hotel. for 5 Dinar you can go a long way.
A cold beer after a long working day would be great, but obviously this is not available.
So very good hotel, but overpriced at 255 Euro/night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
4
9
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for business (255 euro pet night ). The rooms are spacious, the bathroom has speakers where you can hear the TV or any connected audio device. The floor is not covered with. ......., which i didnt like. They provide you a bunch of fruits daily. Towels at the bathroon eere not changed during my two nights stay but i dont mind. We had a meeting at one of their meeting rooms and it was bsic. They allowed for late check out (6:00 pm) for free. Overall, this is a good hotel but it is overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled_Atef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here 10 days in April and booked about 15 additional rooms for a delegation. Service was very poor and not as a cause of still returning to normal. It doesn't really take much to give a wake up call after agreeing to. Still no room service and front desk service was non-existent. Staff is nice though indifferent, and they don't seem to have any management to keep anything on track. Management that are there seem focused on price gouging rather than providing value for money. Radisson service is much better and prices are lower.

Room Tip: Executive room floors are the same rooms, but have access to the executive lounge. The guys who are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWDWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights. High prices but best hotel in town. Rooms are very large and 
With sea view. Walls and door soundproof. The hotel was not crowded at all. Reception and security guys very very smiling and nice. The receptionist could speak at least Arabic, English and French (very good French). Security guys always had a word in French. Only one restaurant La Valette was opened with buffet: very nice, very good and fresh food. This comes at a price: 40 euros... Very very expensive for Lydia and would be too expensive in Europe. but that is the price to pay there. Internet free in lobby and in rooms: very good speed. They forgot to clean my room one day.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MeddEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed at the Corinthia Hotel for 3 nights on a recent business trip and they have returned to International levels of servuice and performance very quickly after the conflict. Not all the F&B venues are operating as yet and you maybe notice that a little after a few days but what is open is a very good standard. The staff and rooms are first class and the views amazing - strongly reccommend the place.

Room Tip: Clubs level is worth the small extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunesdweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Signs of the recent conflict are still very evident. The airport contains the sight of injured people going to and returning from medical aid aboard. Airport security was still under the control of one of the main malita groups and not what you would expect at most similar venues. I was directed out onto the front public part of the building in order to change money and pay for my visa!

That said the collective sense of release and joy hits you very early. Yes we had a few hassles at first but found that some of the 'officials' even had a sense of humour (when was the last time you encountered that in the west). On route to the Hotel had to get throught a couple of milita road checks, again you will feel more threatened by many national police and military bodies in other countries.

On arrival the Hotel had armed security and scanners but the atmosphere even after dark was relaxed. The check-in went well and the staff were organised and spoke good English. The reception area was huge with an open cafe area and signs of people conducting business.

Rooms were large and clean with what I took to be a North African theme. The mini bar contained everything but alcohol, as the demon drink is still considered a big no no. WC and showers were fine and yes the TV was one of the smallest I have seen in any Hotel.

Enjoyed breakfast and lunch over a three day period and could not fault it. The service was friendly but maybe they could have done with a few extra bodies. The business facilities were up to standard and it was clear the venue was being used to conduct lots of business.

Maybe not everyones idea of 5 stars but all considered this Hotel is doing better that it has any right to. My guess is it will go from strength to strength and in a year or two it will be truely excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockstarNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Little to say here other than this hotel is smart, clean and well presented, the staff are attentive and efficient though not many are Libyan. The rooms are reasonably priced but the food is expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tripoli
1.7 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sabratha Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Sabratah
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bustan Urban Retreat
Bustan Urban Retreat
#6 of 21 in Tripoli
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corinthia Hotel Tripoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corinthia Hotel Tripoli

Property: Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Address: Souk Al Thulatha Al Gadim, Tripoli 82874, Libya
Location: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Spa Hotel in Tripoli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Corinthia Hotel Tripoli 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corinthia Hotel Tripoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corinthia Bab Africa Tripoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing