We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spcially place front the nice Sea”
Review of Lamma Cafe

Lamma Cafe
Ranked #34 of 70 Restaurants in Tripoli
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“spcially place front the nice Sea”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

cool place because oz i can breath clear air in cafe on the sea .. nice view also .. friendly stuff ... i can say romantic place

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kimmeladam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home made take-in”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We ordered food at the Lamma in advance and the owner brought in some dishes made in a very traditional way from the Green Mountains in eastern Libya. Highly recommend this place. Nice sea views on the terrace.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank JR_Allen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, Sceney - but manufactured and "Out of a box", not Libyan”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I have been truly disappointed with Tripoli restaurants. The best food I have had is local cooking, but even that isnt great. At Lamma anything that was not North African cuisine looked pretty bad and my dinner, bbq chicken was super dry and looked like something off a kids menu at Fridays. It was probably about 35 LYD or 30 USD and it was a chicken breast baked with no spices on it and then doused with bottled sugary bbq sauce.It came with fries (which they would not substitute with veggies) that were also covered in the same cheap heinz knock-off bbq sauce. My boyfriend ordered the lamb tagine which was markedly better, but definitely not what I would have expected being in the region and for 35-40 LYD. The people we ate with ordered the ceasar salad which didnt seem very good or authentic and some feta balls, questionable that it was feta and whether they were frozen like 30 minutes before they came to our table.
This place gets rave reviews in a town where there are not many options, but I say skip it or get a coffee or juice here to check out the scene and get your food at a more authentic north african cuisine restaurant or cook at home if you can. The markets have great spices and foods. The restaurant scene is definitely in development stage and I just don't see spending 50 LYD/person to help them figure it out.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Smitty217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

The Resturant is in nice location opposite to the sea , however there are no parking area. Resturant is full of flys. Service is good , but food is bad. Food is expensive , but drinks are reasnobly priced

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Talams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“For a second you'll forget you're in Tripoli...”
Reviewed November 12, 2009

The only fault I can find with this restaurant is the price - 9 LYD for a Libyan soup is absolutely ridiculous and the over priced menu does not stop there. Having said that, it is a nice place that is decorated to a very modern standard and therefore has a nice atmosphere which is reminscent of somewhere very far away from Tripoli. There is a variety of international and Libyan food ranging from sandwiches and salads to steaks and seafood and quite a bit in between. Everything that I have had there has been quite tasty. I recommend the paella - pricey but very good. Given the very few decent restaurant choices in Tripoli, Lamma is a very welcome addtition!!
Directions...
If you are headed west on Gargaresh turn north, (right), at the Cook Door. Head straight down that road until the end of it and then turn right. You will find Lamma on the right hand side. It is located across the street from the Med though construction prevents one from really enjoying that at the moment.

Helpful?
3 Thank laurieloo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamma Cafe also viewed

Tripoli, Tripoli District
Tripoli, Tripoli District
 
Tripoli, Tripoli District
Tripoli, Tripoli District
 

Been to Lamma Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing