We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start in tripoli”
Review of Al Waddan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al Waddan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent start in tripoli”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is part of the tripoli history. It's a good hotel with the following point of stoke: good room, not noisy, good breakfast and restaurant, familiar environment, Free internet connection. Weak points: sometime the service slow down and I have experienced little issues solved from the staff. To this aim, special mention to Mohammed (reception supervisor) that represents an added value for the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vis1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

absolutely absurd, even for Africa with their filthy carpets, intermittent wi fi connection and nasy Southeast Asia front desk staff.

Hotel seems to be empty, seems I was one of the only people gullible enough to pay these rates.

Never again.

Room Tip: do not accept a room above overpass crossing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saint77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Libya has limited options for good hotel
The good hotels generally are too expensive
In this hotel , you may get fair quality with med-high price
Positive
Clean
Free Internet
Good room space
Free Internet with good strength and coverage

Need to improve
Not all rooms has the same quality
Not quite area
Minibar , without any options m empty mini bar

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maenaddassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A real nice hotel, gentle staff, superb patio, ideal for an arabic coffee.
Comfortable and vast room, always kept clean
Great breakfirst in a superb diningroom, main meal less enjoyable.
Quite reasonnable price in regard of service rendered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Al Waddan is a part of Tripoli's history, I was told by a man I met in the lobby on my first day in the hotel. He lived now in Washington DC but had lived in Tripoli and remembered when there was a casino and a movie theatre that used to show first-run Hollywood movies, in the time when there was a large American base in Tripoli. He explained to me that the hotel design reflected the way Libyan houses used to be built - facing inward to a courtyard, often with a fountain, with canvas stretched across the roof to shelter from the rain while allowing air circulation.
The lobby, which has sofas and chairs set around tables, does indeed seem to be a place where people gather, for cappucino or for quick meals, which include traditional Libyan cuisine. In one corner is a stone fountain and pool, with flowers set in glass pots along the edge, and the sound of running water is soothing.
Many of the rooms on the upper floors have balconies that overlook the lobby, and on my first stay, I had one of these rooms. On a later stay, I had an inner room with no balcony. Both were a reasonable size, well-appointed, with comfortable beds, a desk, and flat screen tv.
The bathrooms are excellent, some with only showers and some with baths and showers. I remember my first shower, after arriving from the airport, with particular fondness, especially because of the wonderfully scented toiletries the hotel provides, along with a bathrobe and slippers and big towels.
The dining room offers buffet style meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner, all with a great variety of foods. Often at breakfast, you can have an omelet made especially for you. The only challenge is on Fridays, especially during Ramadan, when you have to make other arrangements for lunch and dinner :) During Ramadan, iftar is served outside on the balcony that extends outward from the dining room, where barbecues are often held at other times in the year.
The hotel has a glorious-looking swimming pool in the outside courtyard, although I never had a chance to swim (too busy). And the view of Tripoli's harbour from the dining room balcony is superb.
I enjoyed my stays here. Service was good, and the hotel staff very efficiently found me a vase (a large crystal one) in which to place the roses that one of our friends in Benghazi gave me when we left there. Checking out, and billing the stay to my credit card, was done very efficiently as well, and the staff were friendly and pleasant.
We had one fire alarm in the middle of the night, apparently caused by someone smoking in the room (not allowed). The staff apologized for the disturbance but I was happy that the hotel's fire detection system was so sensitive and effective.
The hotel is not far from the old part of the city, with its amazing markets and outdoor cafes.
All told, a very pleasant place to stay in Tripoli.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing into the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outsider222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My many stays in Al-Waddan hotel always bring joyful memories. This fantastic landmark of our great capital is truly a remarkable achievement of the hospitality industry in Libya since the Kingdom time. The staff made me feel very welcome as if I was home. Their professionalism is unmatched to any of the hotels around the world and I have been in many. The interior design of the hotel adds deep warmth and comfortable feeling. The restaurants ambiance and the food are absolutely divine. I thank all staff members without excluding anyone for their excellent service. I look forward to my next stay in this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aladdin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Union, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I can remember staying at the Uaddan Hotel and Casino in 1956 and found it to be delightful as I see it is once again. I had a large room overlooking the harbor. There was a lounge that was used by the US Military, British and the Oil Company Geologists that were searching for oil that they eventually found. I don't remember the lounge but it was always packed and was the place to be back in those days. Wonderful memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tripoli hotels
0.5 mi away
Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli
1.2 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
Corinthia Hotel Tripoli
#2 of 27 in Tripoli
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Awal Hotel
Awal Hotel
#6 of 27 in Tripoli
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
Plasma Hotel Tripoli
#18 of 27 in Tripoli
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
JW Marriott Hotel Tripoli
#5 of 27 in Tripoli
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Khan
El Khan
#5 of 21 in Tripoli
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Waddan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Waddan Hotel

Property: Al Waddan Hotel
Address: Dahra, Tripoli 2309, Libya
Location: Libya > Tripoli District > Tripoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Tripoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Waddan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SITUATED IN THE HEART OF TRIPOLI, AL WADDAN HOTEL NESTLES BETWEEN THE BEAUTIFUL MATURE FREES AND SHRUBS THAT KINE THE CORNICHE.AL WADDAN IS TRIPOLI'S OLDEST HOTEL, DATING BACK TO THE 1930'S, AND THE NEWSEST RENOVATION WHICH, WITHOUT A DOUBT IS LIBYA'S MOST ELEGANT BOUTIQUE HOTEL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Al Waddan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing