We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Plasma Hotel(Tripoli)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Khan(Tripoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awal Hotel(Tripoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Assafi Hotel(Tripoli)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
39
65
23
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
65
23
8
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 135 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Everything you would expect from a top brand such as Radisson, including the price. Rooms are clean and modern with all the usual facilities. Food in the restaurants is pretty good, but expensive. The buffet is LD60. There is a good fitness room and nice outdoor pool. The only thing missing is a cold beer. The hotels location gives it a good view over the harbour and sea. The higher rooms have better views. There are 15 floors.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room for the best view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davestly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This waterfront hotel offers decent security and the sort of western amenities some travelers require. The security screening staff are watchful but clueless.

The food is pricey but good. The cafe has the best, and maybe only, American-style cheeseburger cooked right and served on an actually bun. 20 LYD for a burger is very expensive but worth it after an extended period of eating shwarma and shish kebab.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiveXplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Absolutely what you need to relax after a day's work...rooms are fine, restaurant can be daunting with a fixed rate for meals and tons of food to get your money's worth. Sea rooms give stunning views over the harbour. Unfortunately, at the moment you won't find many tourists and the hotel is mainly full of business and conferences

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mithal E, General Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Mr. Kevin,
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor, dated 7-June-2012. With great pleasure we acknowledge your positive feedback, which will be shared with all team members accordingly. We appreciate your consideration of our hotel and thank you very much for your time to share your comments with us.
It is very important for us being able to show our team members the positive results of their hard work and dedication, and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to present our people your warm and grateful feedback.
On behalf of the management team we remain
Yours sincerely,
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in May 2012 and found it everything I wanted it to be.

The staff were helpful, rooms were clean, the restaurant always had plenty of food, a gym and swimming pool.

Security is high on their agenda with cars being checked before they arrive at the entrance and an airport style walk through detection unit if nothing else shows they want to be doing the right thing.

My only issue was that the food was the same most days so variety would have been nice and I've yet to understand why all hotels in Libya need to "process your passport " for 24hrs.

Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Peacock_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mithal E, General Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor, dated 20-May-2012. With great pleasure we acknowledge your kind feedback, and are happy to learn that you had a nice stay with us. Your negative comments on the subject of food variety, and passport process have been noted very carefully. Action has already been taken to solve the issues and to avoid such incidents entirely in the future. Thank you for informing us about weaknesses in certain areas in order to enable us to solve them right away.
We sincerely do hope being able welcoming you again soon and we remain with our best services and attention at all times,
On behalf of the management team
Yours sincerely,
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 3 weeks. It is a modern structure, perhaps 3 to 5 years old.

The hotel is very poorly managed. There are no expatriate staff employed to provide training and development to the Libyan workers, and as a result, the quality and consistency of service varies wildly from day to day, mostly towards unacceptable.

Because there are no expatriate staff, nothing ever gets fixed when it breaks, and no maintenance (preventative or otherwise) is ever carried out. Housekeeping standards are very poor. Carpets in the rooms and hallways are dirty. Burned out light bulbs are commonplace. No ‘deep cleaning’ is ever carried out on the guest floors, although the lobby is always spotless.

Water pressure varies wildly every day. Hot water is not always available during high demand periods such as the early morning. Internet service is cumbersome, slow, and unreliable. The hotel does not ‘throttle’ internet users to level out demand, thus, if someone decides to download a Netflix movie, service for every other guest in the hotel slows to a crawl.

The hotel is extremely noisy. Door closers on the guest room doors are not properly calibrated, and the sound of heavy wooden guest room doors slamming can be heard 24 hours. There is a mosque across the street with high powered loudspeakers aimed directly at the hotel. Hoodlums race cars, rev engines, and do burnouts (cars spinning in circles) in the street, directly in front of the hotel.

Prices are extraordinarily high, for example, rooms average about $400 a night, and the business center charges 3 Dinars (about $2) to print a single sheet of paper on their one and only laser printer. One evening, I visited the main restaurant to eat the buffet meal ($50 per person, no alcohol). I was the only guest in the entire restaurant. The 3 waiters and 1 manager on duty ignored me.

This hotel has the potential to be the best in Tripoli, but to achieve this potential, the owners will need to bring in perhaps half a dozen expatriate managers to provide training and development to the Libyan staff. Until that is done, things will continue on a downward spiral.

The owners of the hotel – a Turkish consortium, I believe – ought to be ashamed of themselves. They are extracting maximum money from the guests, as much as the market will bear, and putting nothing at all back into management and employee training. Completely short-term thinking.

Room Tip: NEVER accept a room facing the street at the front (rooms ending in -01 to -05). Far too noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mithal E, General Manager at Al Mahary Radisson Blu Hotel, Tripoli, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor, dated 15-May-2012. With big regret we had to learn about your experience in our hotel during your last stay. Please rest assured that this is not the way we treat our customers, and we deeply apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Right after receipt of your message we investigated the matter in detail. Action has already been taken to solve the issue and to avoid such incidents entirely in the future. We deeply appreciate you showing us our areas of weakness and giving us the opportunity to improve our services.
We sincerely do hope that it will not be before long that you plan to return to Tripoli and to our hotel and we will be happy showing you the improvements we achieved in our services to our guests.
We remain with our best services and attention at all times,
On behalf of the management team
Yours sincerely,
Volkan Vural
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews