We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POOR, FAKE”

Storico Ristorante Italiano dal 1927
Ranked #23 of 72 Restaurants in Tripoli
Price range: $12 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Storico Ristorante Italiano from 1927, certificate. In the city centre, adjacent to the Tripoli International Fair, it is the ideal place for meetings between friends and business lunches.The restaurant is equipped with wireless and tables well spaced to encourage confidentiality of businessmen.Also ideal for family lunches and romantic dinners. Very pleasant and clean environment, relaxed atmosphere with background musicand soft lighting as desired. Smokers ' area.If you want to eat delicious Italian dishes in a unique environment and excellent service we are open every day. We can accommodate events, groups and conferences up to 60/70 people.We organize gastronomic and cultural events. Business room reserved.Ristorante Italiano , certificato. In centro citta' , adiacente alla Fiera Internazionale di Tripoli, e' il luogo ideale per incontri tra amici e pranzi di lavoro .Il ristorante e' attrezzato con wireless e tavoli ben distanziati tra loro per favorire la confidenzialita dei businessman.Ideale anche per pranzi in famiglia e cene romantiche. Ambiente molto piacevole e pulitissimo, atmosfera rilassante con musica di sottofondo e luci soffuse a piacere. Zona per fumatori.Se desiderate mangiare dei deliziosi piatti italiani in un ambiente unico ed un servizio eccellente siamo aperti tutti i giorni. Possiamo ospitare eventi, comitive e convegni fino a 60/70 persone.Organizziamo eventi gastronomici e culturali. Sala business riservata. Dal mese di febbraio sara' aperta la Pizzeria Bella Napoli con orno a legna. La pizzeria si trova nello stesso stabile del ristorante.
Bologna
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“POOR, FAKE”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just the name, nothing more. Unless you don't know the real italian cooking.
A phatetic imitation and the price is not cheap compared to the overall quality.
Look at other restaurants in Tripoli and you'll get better satisfaction.
Paul

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, Proprietario at Storico Ristorante Italiano dal 1927, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Google Translation
Egregio Signore Le sono grato per la Sua visita al ns. bel ristorante. Mi dispiace molto Lei non abbia trovato di Suo gradimento il piatto che ha mangiato.... , peraltro ...., piatto della tradizione italiana senza bisogno di particolare elaborazione. Mi spiace inoltre, Lei non abbia visto gli operatori italiani che, a detta dei clienti, offrono un servizio eccellente . Lo chef, il Maitre e il sottoscritto .... Saremo lieti venisse ancora a trovarci per darci una nuova possibilita'.
Giuseppe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reggio Emilia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Real Italian Restaurant, very good quality food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I’m a picky Italian “gourmader”. I like fancy restaurant where the quality has to be at the top.
When I travel I’m obsessed by tasting the quality of Italian restaurant abroad. Normally I came out disgusted and I blame myself for choosing to eat spaghetti in Vietnam….
This time, strange enough for Libya, I found a restaurant with properly cooked pasta, really “al dente”, and tasty meat.
With an excellent service and a reasonable price.
Considering where we are it is a miracle.
The I discover that the owner is an Italian business man with the passion of the “haut cusine” who knows how to run restaurant.
Anyhow I strongly recommend this place in any occasion.
Without any doubt the best restaurant in Tripoli

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, Proprietario at Storico Ristorante Italiano dal 1927, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Signor Marco
E' un grande piacere ed una immensa soddisfazione poter leggere una recensione tecnicamente ponderata ed eccellente nel risultato .
Grazie . La soddisfazione dei nostri clienti e' la nostra linfa vitale. Spero di vederLa presto nel nostro ristorante.
La direzione. Giuseppe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food and steaks.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent food and service, the appetizers were great and so were the main dishes. The steak was great as well. Overall highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, Proprietario at Storico Ristorante Italiano dal 1927, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Google Translation
Egregio Signore,
la ringrazio per gli apprezzamenti che ha fatto al nostro ristorante.
Questo ci aiuta a lavorare con entusiasmo e a migliorare.
Sarà un vero piacere poterLa rivedere nel nostro ristorante.
Grazie
Giuseppe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not real Italian”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The restaurant is nicely redecorated and decoration is much better than before the revolution, but some of the food could be better. The mozzarella tastes like plastic and doesn't come close to the real Italian mozzarella di buffala. Spaghetti was OK and worth a second visit.

Visited October 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe C, Proprietario at Storico Ristorante Italiano dal 1927, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Sir,
for me it was a real pleasure to be able to accommodate in Italian restaurant.
We are pleased that want to return.
It will be a nice opportunity to show our value.
Thank you.
See you soon.
Giuseppe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Off the (Libyan) beaten track”
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Tired of Libyan soup, eggplant, and hummus? Hail yourself a cab and hike down to the aptly named Italian Restaurant - but not before 8:30 or 9:00, when otherwise empty tables start to fill up. The pizza and pasta are almost authentic enough to convince you you're back on the mainland. A bottle of red wine would be great, but, alas, not a possiblilty here or elsewhere in Libya. Go with the Beck's non-alcoholic beer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storico Ristorante Italiano dal 1927 also viewed

Tripoli, Tripoli District
Tripoli, Tripoli District
 
Tripoli, Tripoli District
Tripoli, Tripoli District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing