We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Highly recommend!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trading Post

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maseru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trading Post
Ranked #4 of 26 Maseru B&B and Inns
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here in late October 2013 a group of 8 of us. It is about 20 minutes out of the main city in rural Roma. its hard to find if you don't know the way, but worth it! We stayed in the large guest house. It has three bedrooms all with ensuites. A large kitchen, lounge, dinning room and beautiful deck out front. All surrounded by lovely gardens. There is also two other rooms just outside the front door if you have more in your group.
Internet is avail near the owners house and they are very happy for you to sit down there and use it.
Water is from a bore they have been using for over 100 years we all drank from the taps and none of us got sick.
They still run the trading post and the locals come each day to the mill to grind their maize. We went for a walk up the hills to see the views, one of their workers took us up there. Beautiful views!
We only had two nights there and could have stayed longer. Lovely people, lovely place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Roma Trading Post and Guest House is lovely! The owners are an important part of the community and treat guests and staff alike, with courtesy and respect. Lodgings are in charming thatched stone huts, which are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rehamilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Roma Trading Post and Guest House is a jewel in Lesotho's educational hub of Roma. The owners attend to ones's every need and give helpful local suggestions. The meals are delicious and ample, and the dining room offers a stunning view of the mountains that begin just beyond Roma. We stayed for almost a week, lodged in a charming thatched rondavel which was clean and comfortable. We strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We turned up here without booking and were very relieved to find such a pretty spot, and rooms available. We stayed in a small rondavel with its own ensuite facilities. The house has been there since 1903, and is covered with creeper and looks over a delightful garden which you are welcome to wander round. There is a small swimming pool.

We didn't eat there, not having warned them we were coming, and just went for the inclusive diy breakfast of tea/coffee and cereal. This is to be found in the rather basic kitchen, but you can take it to eat in the conservatory overlooking the garden.

It all felt very relaxed and the others staying there were very friendly. It seems to be well used by ex-pat aid workers and missionaries.

They offer a range of activities and we took a guided tour of Thabu Bosiu which is not far away - very informal, but our local guide was helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SV_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

The Thorns (proprietors) are very helpful and welcoming. We stayed in the rondovel at the Trading Post over the months that we were working in Maseru. Accommodations at the Trading Post are mostly simple, but this peaceful village is a gem. The Thorn's guests are diverse so that makes breakfast and dinner conversation interesting too. The drive from Maseru to Roma is picturesque - we miss it terribly.

  • Liked — The Thorns are the most gracious hosts.
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Africanbychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

I had to be in Roma on business at the National University of Lesotho, which is located in Roma. The Trading Post is the only accomodation in town, and it is very, very rustic, although the owners are quite nice. If I ever have to return, I would stay in Maseru and drive the 39 kilometers each way!

Helpful?
2 Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maseru
0.0 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#5 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.0 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#3 of 26 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trading Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trading Post

Property: Trading Post
Address: Roma, Maseru 100, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Maseru
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Trading Post Lesotho/Maseru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing