We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it”
Review of Lancer's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maseru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lancer's Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Maseru
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We liked it”
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Our experience was enlivened by a "Stayaway" in the country due to political machinations. This took place whilst we were staying at the Inn and the doors to the hotel were all locked in case of trouble ! There wasn`t any in the end apart from the fact that some of the staff couldn`t get to work, so the management provided a basic (but free) meal for all the guests. It was nice actually and it`s certainly provided an anecdote for us !
We liked the rondavel type room and the breakfast was OK.
The hotel is in a convenient central location in Maseru.
At the time we booked they didn`t take credit card payments over the phone which was a bit inconvenient, and we had to make efforts to confirm our booking had actually been made, but we`d go back there no problem.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
11
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

Drove the Sani Pass & then toured most of Lesotho before arriving at Lancers. Having stayed in some basic accommodation en route we were looking forward to some reasonable comfort & good food in Maseru. The rooms are 2*, there is a small pool which is a bonus and the staff are lovely people (as were most in Lesotho). However, the lack of training and management resulted in total confusion in almost every aspect of service and information - and the restaurant was a disaster.
Only one (bath) towel in the room - when I asked for a hand towel was told they did not supply hand towels. So I asked for a pool towel - no, they don't supply pool towels. I eventually caught the manageress who agreed to let us have extra towels.
My wife wanted to wash her hair after 6 nights 'roughing' it so I asked if they had a hairdryer at reception - sure - so I borrowed it & took it to the room. Unfortunately, after my wife had showered, we found the plug didn't fit any of the room sockets. I went back to reception and pointed this out. 'We know' they said, 'it needs an adaptor' - could I please borrow the adaptor? - 'no, we don't have one'.
At dinner we were served inedible lamb chops (how do you spoil a lamb chop?) so requested a simple hamburger from the menu as we had been travelling most of the day and hungry. After 15 minutes they came back, 'Sorry, we have no beef for the burger so could I order something else?' OK, a cheese sandwich. After a further 20 minutes a hamburger arrived followed by the sandwich. Both were pretty awful.
Throughout our stay, all the staff were pleasant and did their best to please - the problem was total lack of training & supervision resulting in their obvious frustration and, for guests, poor service. The manageress ran round in a permanent state of panic & confusion which didn't help at all.
Overall the accommodation was OK, the restaurant service (except for breakfast) was very slow & the food well below McDonalds standard. Next time in Maseru we'll find somewhere else for sure.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

This is a great place to stay in Masaru - not an impersonal large hotel -most rooms are in small lodges at the back, restaurant attached has good evening meals and breakfast is also served there. Rooms are clean - not anything really special but bathrooms newly refurbished. There is secure parking for cars and very close to the supermarket - Shoprite - if you need to get in supplies of water , food etc. It wasn't noisy when we were there (unlike the other reviewer) .One disadvatage is they don't seem to have aa working e-mail address to make a booking - we got somone in CApe tOwn to book it through a travel agent

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zorrothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We went to South Africa for our honeymoon but we wanted to add something different hence we went to lesotho.

We found it hard to locate and book any accommodation but we had read positive reviews on Lancer's Inn. It seemed fine when we got there it was not as clean as it could have been though.

It had a quaint little pub we we enjoyed a few drinks, which the locals drank at too. Unfortunately the bartender kept the change (four times the cost of the drinks). From then on she was only given the right amount for drinks. The pub was still an enjoyable experience despite this.

Dinner in the restaurant was fairly average but there are not many options in general. During the night an outdoor party / rave started just behind the room we were staying in. We had no sleep that night and checked out the following morning.

We then went to the Maseru Sun. We had only read bad reviews on it but our only criteria from then on was the ability to get some sleep. The prices where much better than indicated on websites, very good value. It had simple nice room, friendly staff and good restaurants. I would recommend this hotel if you are travelling to Maseru.

We hired a car but I would recommend a 4WD for anyone sight seeing.

  • Liked — location in town, cute local pub
  • Disliked — Felt like we were sleeping in a nightclub
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I was a bit worried before I went because a number of people book the more up market Lesotho Sun, and Maseru Sun hotels in Maseru (the capital of Lesotho). But I didn't fancy these big two hotels because they seemed more global, impersonal and up market with casino's and cinema etc.

Well I was so glad I went to the Lancer's Inn. It is right in the city centre - a wonderful bakery next door, an internet cafe 50meters away (less than £1 for an hour). The hotel now has WiFi but it was a little unreliable.

The Lancer's is basic compared to the posh sun hotels - but it has all you need. Swimming pool, excellent service, friendly staff, highly rated restraunt serving throughout the day/night, a good hot/cold buffet breakfast. It is widely used by locals. With it's old colonial feel to it it gives you a more authentic experience of staying in the country. I'd definitely go here again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank themilkybarkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maseru hotels
0.9 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#7 of 9 in Maseru
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancer's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancer's Inn

Property: Lancer's Inn
Address: Maseru Centre, Maseru 100, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Maseru
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
Lancer`s Hotel Maseru
Lancers Hotel Maseru
Lancer's Inn Lesotho/Maseru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing