We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, adequate for an overnight”
Review of Lancer's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maseru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lancer's Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Maseru
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant, adequate for an overnight”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The over priced Sun hotels led me to look at guesthouses in Maseru. This guesthouse is no frills but not at all unpleasant. The rooms are adequately appointed, but there are no amenities in the rooms. The restaurant on site is handy and the food is pretty ok. The central location is also a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    45
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
11
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good points - great location downtown, very quiet, good food in restaurant

Bad points - rondatels too cold (gaps around the door could easily be fixed), leaking toilet, carpet needed a good clean, off-hand attitude of inefficient (female) front desk staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Best location in Maseru - right in the middle of town. Secure vehicle parking. Rooms adequate, but the outside rondavels are best. The restaurant's beef steaks are absolte the best - specially when ordered rare or medium rate - the chef knows his beef!

Room Tip: Outside rondavels are best, but book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Lancer's Inn for two weeks in April and May 2012. We got chalet #5, which is equal to the other chalets (1-6). The chalet is spacious with a kitchen, bathroom, livingroom and bedroom. The chalets seems to be under renovation, at least the facades are being upgraded. The standard is quite good, even though they are probably built 15-20 years ago. The rooms are well cleaned every day, and we didn't see many unwanted guests, e.g. ants.

The kitchen is not very well equipped, there's no oven, only a microwave. We didn't even have a frying pan, so there's definetely something missing. Otherwise everything was working just fine, and if you stay a week or more, you can easily buy some equipment from the supermarket as it's very cheap.

The beds are comfortable and quite new, so we slept well.

The restaurant and lobby were being refurbished during our stay, so they will probably look very nice shortly. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but ordered food for take out a few times, and the quality is really very good. Food is also quite cheap at the restaurant.

I would easily recommend Lancer's Inn, as it's a good place to stay at in Maseru.

Room Tip: If you need to stay for a week or two, the chalets (#1-6) are perfect. They are spacious and you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heggedal, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Lancer's Inn is smack in the middle of Maseru, but still feels like a quiet and peaceful refuge from city life. The main building is being renovated. I stayed in a single room that has just been upgraded in a tasteful way. No door between bedroom and bathroom is quite unusual, But if they only rent the room to single travelers like myself, then why not. The bathroom was outfitted in a mixture of modern and retro. Unfortunately the shower-head was one of retro features, based perhaps on the idea that the top of your head is the part of your body that is in the most dire need of cleaning. The first morning there was no hot water in the shower at 7 in the morning, but the second morning it was all right. A mirror over the bathroom sink would have been helpful. A card in 4 languages asks you to put your valuables in the "safety box in the cupboard", but no such devise was found when I checked. I suppose that both bathroom mirror and the safe deposit will come soon. I was probably one the first guests after renovation. There is a small flattscreen TV in the room, but only 3 channels, but with CNN and a sports channel I was happy. The reception people were pleasant enough, but not very helpful when I asked for suggestions about making a day tour outside the capital. They just didn't seem to have the necessary knowledge, and they had no maps or brochures to make up for the lack of knowledge. Breakfast was great, and both the tables outside the restaurant and the garden in the back were great places to soak up a bit of autumn sun. In the garden there is a small grove of birch trees, which made me homesick for my Northern Europe domicile.. 100 Rand for WiFi is too much, but for that amojunt you get 200 MB of uploads, which was more than I was bale to use during my stay. The WiFi was not very good in the room, but fine in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed for two nights at Lancer's Inn. Overall it is a nice place, the round chalet I stayed was very basic, not a fancy one, but very clean, AC and hot water work, they have got safe in room.
In fact , all the rooms are designed and decorated in different style. The restaurant "Le Rendez-vous" is quite a good place , very busy in the evening, it is good to order before 6:30pm. The only cons with this Hotel is that you have to pay for every extra, including the wifi voucher for internet and the personnel at the reception desk were never kind, they were just on duty. And finally, be aware of ants ...

Room Tip: Never choose the round chalet if you have a kind of allergy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Lancers Inn. We loved our rondavel, comfortable and clean, located in a well-maintained oasis within the Lancers grounds. The maid service was very good - the laundry service was outstanding. A nice swimming pool. We had an excellent dinner in the outdoor cafe area (chicken curry) - and well as beers with friends in this friendly place. Our reservations were all in order, though I did telephone in advance to confirm. There are shortcomings: the front desk had no maps or other info about Lesotho and at times was impatient with reasonable questions. All-in-all I would much rather be in this Lesotho place than in a Holiday Inn or Casino out from town. That said, the most wonderful part of seeing Lesotho was to get out of Maseru into the countryside. Our drive to TY and seeing the marvelous tapestries being made there at Setsoto Design was a high point. Also the drive to Thaba Bosiu (with very good, but long tour to the top) was very good - most wonderful was driving on from there into the Maluti Mountains with spectacular views of the fertile valley and mountains as we made our way to Ha-Kome (with the caves). The true beauty of Lesotho was here. (I'll also do a separate review about the excellent Maliba Mountain Lodge where we are now.)

Room Tip: I personally love the rondavels - but I here that there are many other good rooms (flats and chalets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maseru
0.9 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#7 of 9 in Maseru
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
64.4 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
567 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
Mpilo Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in Maseru
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Lancer's Inn

Property: Lancer's Inn
Address: Maseru Centre, Maseru 100, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Maseru
Number of rooms: 205
Also Known As:
Lancer`s Hotel Maseru
Lancers Hotel Maseru
Lancer's Inn Lesotho/Maseru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing