We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Hotel Victoria - Roof of Africa Terri Young”
Review of Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maseru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Maseru
Reviewed November 25, 2013

What a wonderful stay at the Hotel Victoria. The staff were pleasnat, polite and very helpful at all times. There was a lovely family feel and we were always made to feel welcome and special. The rooms were very neat and tidy, with a lovely little balcony where you could get a breath of the beautiful fresh Lesotho air. The dining room was beautifully set out with a buffet breakfast and supper. Meals are often served around the pool - weather dependant and this creates a lovely evening atmosphere. At times, there was a little language barrier, but the staff very quickly called someone to assist and this was done in a very polite and efficient manner. We will definately be staying there again.

Room Tip: Maseru is a very busy town, even at night, but, this does not detract from your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri-Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

Dries Neethling

I was told by a friend to use the hotel for a stay in Maseru! I stayed over and was pleasantly surprised . The back of the hotel faces the street but on my arrival at the entrance ,I was met by friendly helpful staff ,a quick check in,cleanliness throughout ,huge rooms with balconies and a stunning comfortable king size bed . It was very clean,and I had a comfortable stay . On my visits to Maseru in future this will be my base!It is evident that the team is working hard to please!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the swimming pool area ,they are more peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRIESIE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Service is poor from management, hotel is stinking and dirty! Aircons not working! Almost no water in bathrooms! Rooms are stinking!! Food is horrible!!!

We reported problems more than once, the lady in charge said she will sort it out within half an hour, well we were there 5 days and nothing!! I had to ask her over and over again, never even got back to me

the bedding was dirty. To all the guests we spoke, everybody was complaining about the same as we was.

very very disappointed in this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Let me say first of all, I'm giving the excellent rating in order to bring the average up to something more reasonable. I stayed recently at the Victoria Monday to Saturday whilst at a conference in another hotel. I come from the UK but have been working in Africa since September 2012. I had already booked before seeing these reviews and nearly cancelled, and am jolly glad I didn't!

The staff were very pleasant - but then, I don't wait for people to be polite to me before I'm polite to them. When I initially asked for an Internet token I was told there were none, when I insisted - politely but firmly - I was escorted by an off-duty member of staff to a neighbouring hotel where I was able to get one, and was shown a number of other useful places in Maseru at the same time. The food was fine. My room were fine, absolutely what one expect for the price. There was no problem with noise the way my room was facing. I have no idea where the 'nice prostitute establishment nearby' was, but then, I wasn't looking for one....

If western tourists want everything to be the same as it is in the west, my best advice is to stay there - or, pay considerably more for the international chains. If you pay a mid range price in Africa, don't be surprised if things are a little different. I enjoyed being at the Victoria, and would certainly go again. I very much hope that people reading these reviews will try the hotel out. To the staff of the Victoria - thank you for having me, you provided a great service, I look forward to returning to your hotel and beautiful country when I have the opportunity

Room Tip: I was facing away from the main road and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Lets see, no water coming out of the sink or shower, toilet didn't work, internet didn't work, TV didn't work, and to cap it all off, bed bugs! The breakfast was a joke and there is a nice prostitute establishment nearby. Spend an extra US $45/night and stay at either the Lesotho Sun or Maseru Sun hotels.

After one night at the Victoria Hotel I left and stayed at the Maseru Sun....waaaaaay better.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyujay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKubirske, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been and would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your unsatisfied stay.

I would, however, like to report that the hotel has been under COMPLETE new management since November 2012 and has already / is continuously undergoing some changes/ improvements.

On behalf of the current team I would like to assure you that we consider cleanliness and hospitality priority issues.

We would like to invite you to make contact with us on reservations@hotelvictoria.co.ls and experience the changes when next you are in Lesotho.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Two recent weekends spent there have left me unhappy. The failed air-conditioning, the reticent hot water and the very depleted menu and the surliness of some of the staff were bad enough. The locked (with heavy duty wire, twisted tight) fire escape was terrible though.

Room Tip: Very noisy location on Friday and Saturday nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken_Jenny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKubirske, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been and would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your unsatisfied stay.

I would, however, like to report that the hotel has been under COMPLETE new management since November 2012 and has already / is continuously undergoing some changes/ improvements.

On behalf of the current team I would like to assure you that we consider cleanliness and hospitality priority issues.

We would like to invite you to make contact with us on reservations@hotelvictoria.co.ls and experience the changes when next you are in Lesotho.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Чем выше - тем лучше панорама
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HomoPhoticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maseru
1.6 mi away
Kick4Life Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
AVANI Maseru Hotel
AVANI Maseru Hotel
#8 of 10 in Maseru
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
AVANI Lesotho Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0 mi away
Thaba Bosiu Cultural Village
0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Kingsway Road, Maseru 100, Lesotho
Location: Lesotho > Maseru District > Maseru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Maseru
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Hotel is a "city centre" hotel located within walking distance to banks and shopping malls. Transfers to other areas of town and/or the Moshoeshoe I International Airport can be arranged by Reception. We have 56 rooms with en-suite bathrooms, airconditioning, tea/coffee facilities and limited Dstv. Single, Double and Family Rooms available. Secure, ample parking is available with 24h security in a 'boomed' area. Our inhouse Restaurant serves buffet style Full Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Daily Specials are also available for the "not so hungry". Our open terrace "Beer Garden" as well as our Main Bar and Swimmingpool areas are very popular during summer and we regularly have guest DJ's entertaining the guests in these areas. Meloling Nightclub is open until the early hours of the morning with an in-house DJ during the week and popular guest DJ's over week-ends. (Closed Sunday and Monday nights). ​ ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Lesotho/Maseru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing