We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair, basic, oversized”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azalai 24 de Setembro
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bissau
Reviewed March 18, 2013

In Bissau, it´s a fair option, one of the best in town. Rooms are basic and small, electric wiring is weird as often you cannot switch off the lights without switching off the a/c. In an oversized hotel with few customers, dinner still takes a long time

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackGMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights on business recently interspersed with 2 nights in the interior. This was my first time in Guinea-Bissau. On arrival at 10pm I found the reception staff to be quite efficient but somewhat officious. English is not generally understood. The room was small and the shower room uninspiring. Breakfast was not great. Dinner was much better with well prepared food. Free wifi (but slow)There is a well kept pool (although I didn't swim). So what makes this four stars? Simply having to stay somewhere else inland for two nights and then returning. It is infinitely better than the general standard of the country. If I return to Bissau I shall stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank polygon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Perfect for a 5 day business trip. Internet just about OK. Rooms are fit for the job but wouldn't be right for a holiday.
Breakfast gets a bit monotonous and the lunch/evening menu is unadventurous but passable in the current circumstances.
I haven't seen elsewhere but don't really need to, this is fine.

Room Tip: The suites are better for longer stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a week while I was in Bissau for work. The hotel is enclosed and secure in a cul de sac a little way out from the city centre. There were large wooded grounds and a big swimming pool which made the whole atmosphere very relaxing. The bedrooms are large 3 roomed bungalows with air conditioning, wifi and a drinks bar. Water pressure in the shower was low but this was unavoidable. Cleaning of the rooms was done well.

There was plenty of comfortable seating in the long lounge. Unlike one other reviewer I thought the restaurant was fine with a varied menu. The range of food available for breakfast was not as varied as you would expect to find in a western hotel but it was perfectly reasonable. My only criticism is that the service at the bar was incredibly slow.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MalcolmBrown33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed at Azalai Hotel Bissau with very large rooms, very clean and restaurant serves good food in the evening. WLAN works very well in Lobby and is free of charge. For African destinations I was positiv surprised.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cervino4478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Azalai is not a conventional hotel. But then again, Bissau is not exactly a conventional town. In a location that is very challenging, the Azalai is a reasonable hotel at a more than reasonable price. It is not a standard single building but rather a collection of town house style villas spread out across a very well kept and very beautiful ground. The security is fine. The reception area and restaurant aesthetically pleasing, and the room adequate. It was small but there was hot water and air condition and working wifi. The lights stayed on and the location is great. That is way more than I could have asked for. However the restaurant is the pits. I mean how can you consistently mess up french fries or grilled fish. The food is awful, expensive, and even the breakfast reflects the poverty of the location and not the price of the hotel. It is so bad they would do better to eliminate it altogether and let the guests fend for themselves. The pool and hang out areas seem fine. Bissau is a nice town that hopefully will modernize soon. The Azalai is good enough to get a return visit only by default and because the price is not out of control at $110 per night. In another location, I would be a lot harsher, but for business or vacation, this is more than adequate comfort. Forget about TV. Limited at best. Staff is friendly; you can get by with French or English if you do not speak Portuguese. Overall, don't be afraid of it. Just keep your expectations reasonable. If you are going to Bissau, you will have to be prepared to do that anyway.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be about the same. But I would ask them to show several and select myself. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank doctorbird41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Great for working trips. Quiet atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff. Great pool. Internet access and good business centre. Pleasant, green areas, quiet even while under renovation. My room was great. Relaxing atmosphere. Will come back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lcp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bissau
0 mi away
Hotel Imperio
Hotel Imperio
#2 of 7 in Bissau
13 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bissau Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Ancar
Hotel Ancar
#6 of 7 in Bissau
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bubaque Island Hotel
Bubaque Island Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bubaque
2 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coimbra Hotel and Spa
Coimbra Hotel and Spa
#1 of 5 in Bissau
48 reviews
0 mi away
Malaika Hotel
Malaika Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bissau
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azalai 24 de Setembro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azalai 24 de Setembro

Address: Avenue Pansau Na Isna | Santa Luisia, Bissau 285, Guinea-Bissau
Location: Guinea-Bissau > Bissau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Bissau
Price Range: $135 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Azalai 24 de Setembro 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Azalai 24 de Setembro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azalai 24 Septembro Hotel Bissau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing