We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mariador Palace
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Conakry
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My employer chose to book me into this hotel and the reviews I'd read left me expecting the worst, but to be fair (and after being here only two days!) it doesnt seem as bad as I'd expected.

Yes, the catering and service leaves something to be desired and no, the internet doesnt seem to work in the rooms. Guests on a short-stay will probably need to huddle around reception for an internet connection but those on longer stay should brave a trip to the Orange shop down-town and acquire a USB connection. Unlike most USB connections that automatically configure themselves onto your laptop, for some strange reason you have to take your laptop (and passport) along for them to install and configure the USB. It's worth being certain that you've "cleansed" your pc before the helpful assistant simply tries to open a previously visited site that you might not want displayed in public,,,,!

I get the impression the room standards vary considerably but mine's functional in every respect. My biggest gripe? No plug for the sink or bath, but along with a few other "essentials" I carry everywhere, my "one-size-fits-all" plug from the hardware store solves that problem easily.

The contributor who noted this as being the "best hotel he/she had ever stayed at" might have a vested interest or perhaps doesnt get out much.

Room Tip: There's apparently another floor - the fifth - being constructed and rooms on the fourth suffer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 38 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business trip. I have traveled to Guinea on many occasions, and throughout East and West Africa, and so am very familiar with staying in rough conditions. However, this is the first time a hotel stay actually left me upset.

First, I was given a dirty and smelly room, with dirty sheets, used qtips on the desk, etc. I had to argue my way into switching rooms, and the one I finally received was marginally better, but only after I had the shower head replaced so that it would work. The internet barely worked, and breakfast was completely overpriced, with hidden charges (taking a piece of cheese will cost you an extra $10). The AC was not possible to adjust, so it was either too hot or too cold at night. Parties at night made it difficult to sleep. Nonetheless, all of this I was ready to forgive.

I left 30 minutes to check out, which in hindsight was a bad idea. When I appeared to check out, I was told that the hotel does not take credit cards at night. I was told the cost, and in a panic, I scrambled to find enough cash. The staff refused to take one of my few $100 bills, because the writing on it was too small (it was an older bill.) I spent the next 20 minutes arguing with the staff because they could not figure out that my paying $800 for a $783 bill meant that I should receive change, rather than that I should owe them money. My final bill was just being printed out when my driver came, and I made the mistake of not looking at the itemized bill until I had left. When I finally did, too late, I realized that I had been charged $120 for dinner one night instead of the already overpriced $28 I owed, and had been charged for a full final night stay, despite being promised that I would be charged a half day. Not having paid with a credit card, I cannot challenge the bill.

What a disappointing way to end my stay. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

MARIADOR PALACE, 4 STAR RATING! (EUROPE Standards of rating)

First impressions are good, good infrastructure, then .... it hits you like a brick wall!

GEOGRAPHICAL
Situated in the lower town, access is dodgy and filthy.

RESTAURANT

Waiters
- Aren’t properly trained, can not communicate, not client orientated and get orders wrong! -Placing orders can be a problem as waiters aren’t client orientated, playing with cell phones or chatting.
- Delivery of orders can take anything from 30 min to an hour, if they’ve not forgotten about the order!
- If for some reason you’ve send an order back, they still expect you to pay for it!
- Serving assistance, none. Waiters will lean over your food to serve colleagues opposite to you, and is not aware of table ettiket.

Food
-Beverages are 4x the local price.
-Meals aren’t served at same time, when eating as groups.
-Presentation and taste lack big time. (You can immediately notice there is no pride in the meal)
-Meat is often chewy, over done or drenched in tomato salsa sauce.
-Breakfast, only 2 options – Continental or American (wrong impression what’s on offer)
-Bacon is not an option on the menu although they do serve pork chops for lunch and dinner.
-There is no change in menu, no buffets offered, if you need a change in food, go to another restaurant!

In my 3 month stay, I had at least 5x stomach problems, and realized why when I walked into the kitchen. Walls, work surfaces and equipment is filthy, microwave oven looked like it have never been cleaned since in use. No controlled environment – no pest control, open windows, no air filters working which leaves majority of surfaces greasy, black colored with accumulated dust!

INTERNET
Hotel Internet is more offline or intermittent, more of a frustration, all 4 floors are suppose to have separate internet access but is intermittent and you end up to go down to the lobby to sit on uncomfortable chairs to try and do some work. Internet dongles gives about 7Kb/s if you’re lucky.

ROOMS
-Majority of air conditioners do not have any means of control, either on or off.
-Bar fridges aren’t cleaned.
-TV channels are local orientated, picture quality is bad, and some TVs don’t have remotes.
-Bed linen is to short for mattresses, leaving mattress exposed.
-Baths and basins do not have plugs, shower fittings are broken.
-Lights aren’t fixed, even after complaining.
-Towels are taken away for cleaning as soon as you leave your room for breakfast and only replace it late in the afternoon, which means if you don’t have your own towel for pool use you have to go without or laugh it off.
-Noise is a problem facing the backup generator which is running often due to power cuts. Rooms facing the pool and ocean, often have to deal with noise from functions carrying on until early morning hours.
-Curtains, hangs lopsided and runner stops are gone.
-Telephones, are available in rooms but majority doesn’t work or not connected.
-Toilet lids and door handles are dirty and unhygienic.
-Air extraction fans are clogged with dust or not working.

Pool and recreational area
-Often occupied by locals over weekend.
-Pool water quality not good especially over weekends

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cloudscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Had a day staying here while travelling through. Not bad at all, for West Africa...Traffic can be a nightmare so its handy that its closer than the Novotel. In a quiet area, pool, cold beer.
The rooms were a little basic, but clean enough, staff were so-so.
Had a great view, when the tides out all the locals get down to the beach for football training, hundreds of them, very impressive and entertaining. A few of them would have but many of my local team to shame..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyTravels262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely location overlooking the ocean down a winding street off the main drag and is predominantly used by business people who are working in Guinea, which is the reason for my stay. The rooms are nicely decorated in a rustic kind of way but they are slightly 'tired' and in need of some TLC. However, most facilities are available in the room including a TV with limited channels, efficient fridge, a/c (which is either all or nothing as far as I can make out), large double bed, desk and balcony - with bath and shower plus hairdryer.
Downstairs there is a dingy bar towards the rear of the lobby area but plenty of seating which is definitely needed, as the biggest problem with this hotel is that the internet is AWFUL. It is virtually impossible to connect in your room and most people resort to sitting in the lobby area next to a router to try and get any kind of signal - a REAL frustration when everyone who stays here is in some kind of business or another and in need of efficient internet.

The restaurant is a rip off as breakfast is charged on top of the room rate whether you have only a cup of luke warm coffee or a piece of bread with some curled up ham. For approximately $15 this is ridiculous. The waiters are sullen and don't put out new knives and forks when someone gets up to leave - so you have to scout about for some cutlery yourself. And the evening meals are limited, and from time to time you order something and Iinstead get what they have available rather than what you have chosen!

Outside the pool area is lovely, with limited sunbeds that fill up quickly at weekends. But the ambience outside is wonderful with the waves lapping the shore down below hotel level.

A lot of conferences are organised here so the place can obviously cope with the influx of lots of people but there is absolutely no management input that is effective in monitoring what is going on. If you have a complaint about a broken shower or inefficient a/c is does usually get dealt with but only after you have mentioned it many many times to different people at reception.
Otherwise I have to say that the atmosphere is tranquil and liveable with, but that with the development in Guinea that is upcoming they need to seriously pull their socks up and start living up to the expectations of the many business people who stay here - otherwise they will get left behind in the rush. One last small point - I wonder if the housekeeping department could find some sheets that actually fit the mattresses?!!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the ocean to the side of the hotel as the pool area can get a bit noisy wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This Hotel was fine for a couple of nights of business in West Africa. Yep it is West Africa and it is not of the same standards that Europeans are used to but it is fine for a night or two. Not a holiday destination.

Room Tip: Beach View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colts_tooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

I am required to stay at this hotel on a regular basis because the company I work for uses this hotel for employees transiting through Conakry (for an unknown reason).
I cannot find one positive thing about this hotel, and I dont understand why there are very good or excellent ratings by other reviewers because I haven't heard of anything positive from other guests that have stayed here. The staff at the front desk are rude, the rooms are dirty and unkept.

In every room I have stayed at, there is always something wrong - the air con doesn't work, the light bulbs are blown, the drains are blocked, the sliding door doesn't close, the towels have been used and are dirty. The food in the restaurant is terrible by European standards, very limited menu, dirty plates/cutlery/glasses (stay safe and stick with chips and beef strips), the milk in the morning is frequently sour and warm, the bread is stale, flies on fruit.
other problems - There is a bad mosquito problem and because it is situated close to a beach, you hear the stray dogs barking at night.
Overall, i felt unsafe staying here because of the electrics (exposed wires, black explosion marks around light fittings). Even for a developing country like Guinea, this hotel has very poor standards and there are far better hotels in Conakry to stay at (which I have stayed at before!) such as The Novotel or Grand Riviera. It is way over priced for what it is and watch your bill, you could be charged twice for something (and they will charge you a full breakfast even if all you have is a cup of tea).
This is a non-biased, honest review, as I have been working/living in Guinea/Liberia/Mali for the last 4 years and are very familiar with the challanges of staying in a developing area such as West Africa

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, make sure the air-con works and face the swimming pool side (avoid being k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Conakry hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Conakry
Sheraton Grand Conakry
#4 of 13 in Conakry
63 reviews
6.5 mi away
Noom Hotel Conakry
Noom Hotel Conakry
#1 of 13 in Conakry
110 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Millenium
Hotel Millenium
#2 of 13 in Conakry
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Tauyah Hotel
Riviera Tauyah Hotel
#10 of 13 in Conakry
30 reviews
4.3 mi away
Palm Camayenne Hotel
Palm Camayenne Hotel
#3 of 13 in Conakry
197 reviews
5.4 mi away
Riviera Royal Hotel
Riviera Royal Hotel
#5 of 13 in Conakry
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariador Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariador Palace

Address: Ratoma, Commune de Ratoma | PO Box 2146, Conakry, Guinea (Formerly Le Meridien Mariador Palace)
Location: Guinea > Conakry Region > Conakry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Conakry
Price Range: $191 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mariador Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mariador Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Mariador Palace Hotel Conakry
Le Meridien Conakry
Conakry Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing