We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mariador Palace
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Conakry
SW England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

As with most other European guests, I found that the hotel was reasonable for Guinea and most of the staff courteous.
However the whole experience could have been so much better with more attention to small details.
1. Keeping the gents toilets clean on the ground floor.
2. Making sure the bedrooms were swept clear of dead insects every day AND mopping the floors properly.
3. Breakast was not included in the price.
4. Not all floors have wi-fi.
5. Female waiters seemed to be happier in their work than the men. The latter serving as if they were doing you a favour.
.....
If you are from the UK, you will know what I mean when I say the TV program makers of 'The Hotel Inspector' would have enough material to make a whole series.
.....
However it was not all bad, there were some lovely staff and food was generally OK, and I am going back there in a few weeks time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterKSWEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    8
    6
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I stay in 30 hotels a year worldwide, and have for 20 years. This was a horrible experience, and the worst check-out experience ever. On check in they said breakfast was included with the room. On check out it was on the bill and had to be paid. They would not accept credit cards even though they advertised they would. The front desk lady insisted she had told me that I needed to submit the credit card a day earlier, but she did not. In the end she agreed maybe she had told someone else that looked like me, but since she did tell THEM, I should know. The hallway was filled with smoke (perhaps kitchen exhaust), the room had only three working lights out of six, there was no toilet paper provided, the remote didnt work and there were few channels. The free in-room internet doesn't work, ever. They refused to give me a control for the room split AC. The waiters would not bring your bill until you walked out of the restaurant, then they would chase you down with it.

Check out took 1.5 hrs and they kept walking away from me whenever I challenged them. The front desk staff clearly distain theirs guests. And in the end the choices are pay the wrong charges or dont check out. No manager was on duty.

There are no good hotels in this city, but given a choice of this hotel or another, the best choice is stay home.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadagainva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Conakry hotels

switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

It was my first and defenitly my last stay in this hotel, the staff was rude and arrogant, rooms needs to be totally renovate as long with all the infrastructures... It's a shame to ask that kind of money for so litle services.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexgeola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2008

Not satisfied at all, very bad Csuteomer Service, very Expensive food
No water for 2 days morning time screwed up all business deals
Very expensive 4th floow even do not have clean shower curtain and goos pipe fittings
Very slow internet connection and most of the time it did not work at all
Stay awy from this Hotel will be good idea

I woudl recommend Hotel Camyoun or Novtel

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — No Water
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank najeeb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

This is the best hotel I ever stayed in since I've been travelling around the world. The people are extremelly nice and the food was also unique. The room were clean and I fell very safe in this hotel. You should really think about staying there if you ever are in Conakry looking for a great hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank winter54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 3, 2004

Although Guinea is not really a crowded destination, there are some acceptable hotels in Coankry. Novotel and Le Camayenne are o.k. but the Mariador Palace Hotel I like the most. I have visited this hotel many many times since 1998, at least 25 times. The rooms are always clean and everythings works. If not, a technical team is immediately standby to repair. The hotel has a nice garden and big clean pool. Mariador Palace is located at the Ocean and not to far from the International Airport. For more details about Guinea and see some photos of the hotel visit my Guinea page at: http://www.africa-afrika.com/guinea.html

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Conakry hotels
0.6 mi away
Riviera Tauyah Hotel
Riviera Tauyah Hotel
#9 of 12 in Conakry
28 reviews
6.5 mi away
Noom Hotel Conakry
Noom Hotel Conakry
#3 of 12 in Conakry
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Conakry
Sheraton Grand Conakry
#5 of 12 in Conakry
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Millenium
Hotel Millenium
#2 of 12 in Conakry
101 reviews
6.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Central GHC
Grand Hotel Central GHC
#6 of 12 in Conakry
22 reviews
5.4 mi away
Riviera Royal Hotel
Riviera Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Conakry
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariador Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariador Palace

Property: Hotel Mariador Palace
Address: | PO Box 2146, Conakry, Guinea (Formerly Le Meridien Mariador Palace)
Location: Guinea > Conakry Region > Conakry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Conakry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mariador Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mariador Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Mariador Palace Hotel Conakry
Le Meridien Conakry
Conakry Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing