We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break out of the city”
Review of Iles de Los

Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Conakry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Conakry locals take boats over to this group of islands for relaxing and swimming at the beaches.
Travelling around
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice break out of the city”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice Island close to Conakry, perfect for a weekend getaway. Not the cleanest beaches, (to close from the city), but you can swim, and enjoy a beach day!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesgoesaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip -- a breath of fresh air from Conakry!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Some of the reviews on this site left me a bit skeptical, but I was very pleasantly surprised with my day trip to Iles de Los. A group of 5 of us had a private pirogue take us over to the islands, which took about 40 minutes, led by our Guinean guide Michel and his team of 3 young men. 40 minutes, but a world away from the hustle and bustle of Conakry! The beaches were very clean, as was the water, and we were able to walk freely and without disturbance along the beaches. The restaurant on Ile de Rome, while a bit slow with its service, had very fresh and delicious food. I recommend ordering and then going down to the beach to take a swim and enjoy the sun while you wait. For those on business in Conakry, a day trip here can be a much-needed pause from the chaos of the city or stress of your trip -- highly recommend it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LEK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Earth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Escape”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The beach is wonderful and relaxing. A great place to escape from Conakry for a while. The Food in the restaurant is so-so at best. They have still not grasped the concept of Cold Beer - the beer is slightly chilled if you are lucky and warm by the time you are half finished. The over-night rooms are very basic and rough, but a lack of electricity at night leaves much to be desired.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Probodyguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fab beaches”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

A group of 6 of us went here and had a very nice day out, the beaches are clean and untouched. There are 3 restaurants with fantastic fish and beer. There is also a bar thats just opened up for the bungalows and although I did not stay the night some friends did and really enjoyed themself.
We got the local boats from the petit bateaux port and takes about 40mins to cross. The best island is called rhum.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank chelsea1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iles de Los also viewed

Conakry, Conakry Region
 
Conakry, Conakry Region
 

Been to Iles de Los? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing