We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but very nice”
Review of Hotel Le Rocher

Hotel Le Rocher
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conakry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Le Rocher
Ranked #6 of 18 Conakry B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small but very nice”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here for a few days while on business. It is very clean, well managed and in a good location. There is a restaurant on-site that serves excellent food. There is even a pool area. The location is close to downtown but also has water views from the upper floors. The free wifi was fast and allowed me to work from the room at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'm a seasoned wildlife biologist in West Africa with the stomach of a goat, but their crab salad still put me out of commission with gastroenteritis. I know for a fact it was their food because my colleague ate the same thing that night and also spent the next morning being very ill. Be aware when eating there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Conakry hotels

Rio de Janeiro
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a small hotel, run by Tunisians. Rooms vary in size and quality, but are clean with hot water and aircon. TV rarely works (only local channels). Breakfast is simple but good and restaurant is busy at night serving average French/international cuisine.

Very far from being anything special, but represents probably the best value for money accommodation in Conakry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EmilRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed here again for business, and have previously stayed at The Novotel, Riveria and Galaxy.

This is hands down the best hotel I have seen in Conakry / Guinea.

The rooms are in generally good condition, beds are comfortable, air conditioning fully functioning, electricity always on, water warm and has good pressure. Internet is fairly decent and wireless.

The check in is perfect, all staff were helpful, hotel condition is good. The pool is very clean and of a good standard.

The restaurant is small, but is OK. Food is good ( better than Novotel, probably not quite as nice as Riviera ) which are generally meats or pizzas.

I'd pick this as the best option in Conakry, hands down.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank AverageJoeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
1,146 reviews
409 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

This hotel was suggested to me by my Novotel taxi driver after I told him about some of that hotel’s shortcomings (see review). I ran into the owner at Ile de Lots and decided to give it a try. I’m glad I did and only sorry I only stayed for a night.

This Moroccan run hotel has been going strong for about ten years and welcoming refugees from the Novotel. They have installed a super fast WIFI and cable system (10 Euro a day extra charge) and target business people and journalists who need to be reliably wired.

Despite the fact that it boasts a small pool, this hotel can’t match the Novotel’s garden setting overlooking the harbor. It also lacks character. It is, however, very well run and clean. Each room is reasonable sized with ensuite bathroom and tile floors that are easy to clean (unlike the Novotels’ old and dirty carpets). They have super hot water and back up generators.

Rates are 100 Euro for a single (discounts are given for repeat visitors and folks staying a long time) and this includes a breakfast of delicious baguette, croissant and pain au chocolat plus your choice of egg dishes. Service is excellent with every staff member from the receptionist to the wait staff going out of their way to attend to your well being. Someone mistakenly unplugged the central Internet and the manager was going to take me to an Internet café to work at night until they found out the fix was simple.

The restaurant lacks character and charm. It does serve international dishes (mostly pizza and pasta) and some Moroccan food but there are not a lot of vegetable dishes or salads and the cost is a bit more than the Lebanese restaurants charge.

I would stay here again but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Conakry hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Central GHC
Grand Hotel Central GHC
#5 of 12 in Conakry
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Noom Hotel Conakry
Noom Hotel Conakry
#3 of 12 in Conakry
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Camayenne Hotel
Palm Camayenne Hotel
#1 of 12 in Conakry
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riviera Tauyah Hotel
Riviera Tauyah Hotel
#9 of 12 in Conakry
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Sandervalia
Residence Sandervalia
#3 of 18 in Conakry
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Royal Hotel
Riviera Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Conakry
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Rocher

Property: Hotel Le Rocher
Address: Quartier Sandervalia, Conakry, Guinea
Location: Guinea > Conakry Region > Conakry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Conakry
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing