We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the mice”
Review of Airside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airside Hotel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Accra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beware of the mice”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I had the misfortune to stay here for 3 weeks on a recent business trip. The room I had was large and clean with functioning shower and aircon. However on a few occasions when getting up in the night I was startled to see large mice running around. The hotel did not do anything sensible like setting traps or getting pest control. Rather they had people check that for the mice, which unsurprisingly were not in evidence during the day. Staff overall are friendly and try to help but service is slow and don't expect anything proactive or any concept of good customer service. Breakfast is quite good but restaurant overall poor. For a brief stay over close to the airport this place will do but don't recommend for anything longer.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank goonertraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
4
3
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Acceptable rooms, not like the scary photos posted on web. Much cleaner than expected. Very simple. Don't depend on wake up calls. Restaurant is not good, and not a rich breakfast whatsoever. Yet it gives you a feel that you are in Africa. Overall pleasant nothing to worry about. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bela Bela, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stay over in Accra very frequently. Usually it is only for one night. All I am looking for is a good clean room with hot water, working aircon, wifi and not be charged $300/night.
This hotel offers this for around $120/night.
Most of the facilities in the room works and it’s all clean.
I have two issues with the hotel.
1 - Any extra's cost a fortune. I paid $23 for two cheese and tomato sandwiches and a few cokes. The bread was bad, the cheese was plastic and the service was poor. Small bottle of water at reception is $1.5 and no drinking water in the room. It costs you $0.5 per page that I had to get printed there. I don’t like to be ripped off.
2 - Staff is friendly, but simply not well trained or really interested in good service.

Room Tip: Rooms that start with nr 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything about this place is overpriced. Avoid it if you can. I'm only here because my company has an account. 3 GHc for s small water. 9 GHc for a Heineken. Can't wait to leave. Go to African Regent. First class. I actually have a 13" tv in my room. Didn't think they made those anymore! STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed twice at Airside hotel for a day, en route to and from Tamale and was pleasantly surprised by Airside Hotel. Airport vicinity hotels can sometimes be real rip-offs. Airside Hotel is small and simple, no fluff, no grandeur but they're making their passengers' stay enjoyable for short trips. The rooms are small but very clean and beds comfortable, the food is good. I didn't try the swimming pool. The proximity to the airport is a bonus.
But more than anything else, the staff is really friendly and effective, which in my various experiences of Ghana is a definitely rare (big) bonus.
If you're looking for an easy stay for a night, Airside is a great hotel. For longer stays, you may want to consider the next class...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewenlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
320 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The Airside is popular with people staying nearby the embassies or airport for business. Also met some people using the hotel for a sleep during a alayover between Kumasi and Europe. I spent a week here on business with a local school.

My first room was roomy with a larger bathroom and was on the first floor. When the door handle came off in my hand, I shifted to room 205, which was much nicer and larger, but the bathroom is tiny. They seem to have a love of chemical smells. Upon arrival, my tiny bathroom had 4 neon pink toilet cakes in it. I could hardly breathe. These are also stuck in plants and hanging on fire extinguishers in the hallway, so the whole place has a chemically smell. The bed was very comfortable and my room had Banana Republic linens. The hot water heater squeals all day and night, so, that can be annoying. Very annoying. I probably should have complained, but I only spent the nights in the room and had no desire to have a repairman in the room at night.

The staff are friendly enough, but you wouldn't call them "warm and welcoming". The breakfast (included) has daily fruit, veggies, baked beans and an egg station. The are also 6 chafing dishes with sausages, bacon and local dishes. Service can be a bit slow, so ask for coffee or tea when you walk in. The hotel lobby sells airtime minutes for more than face value, so pick these up across the street at the nice little market. Just 100 meters away is Koala, a European/American style supermarket -with European pricing. The shop across the street should suffice, unless you are seeking fresh cheeses or meats.

Very convenient location and a decent place with a very decent price in the expensive Accra market. The nearby Holiday Inn can be $300 U.S. I will stay here again on my next visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I cannot fault the hotel, its clean and tidy, the service is friendly and efficient. The breakfast buffet had something for everybody's taste and plenty of it. The pool was clean and even so I didn't use it on this occasion I would definitely next time. I stayed there the previous week and stayed again, in a different room. All very spacious and nice. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Can only recommend it if you need to be near the official places.

Room Tip: the fridge promised a mini bar but was empty. Drinks had to be bought at the restaurant. All rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerstin58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
0.6 mi away
Airport West Hotel
Airport West Hotel
#25 of 92 in Accra
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
ibis Styles Accra Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#19 of 92 in Accra
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Accra Airport Hotel
2.3 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Congress Hotel
#64 of 92 in Accra
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airside Hotel

Property: Airside Hotel
Address: 44 Patrice Lumumba Road, Accra 00233, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Airside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airside Hotel is located at the plush Airport Residential area,less than 5 minutes drive from the Kotoka International Airport and about 15 minutes from the Accra city center.The Hotel has a wide range of well furnished and equipped Standard Rooms,Double Rooms, Executive Double Rooms, Suites and a 2 bed-room apartment. The Zara restaurant and bar serve a blend of continental,Chinese and local dishes,as well as various kinds of beverages.The Swimming pool is available to all our valued in-house guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Airside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing