We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tribes Restaurant at AFIA Beach Hotel was OUTSTANDING”
Review of Afia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afia Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Tampa, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tribes Restaurant at AFIA Beach Hotel was OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed June 24, 2009

My stay at AFIA beach side resort was comfortable. I enjoyed the beach, although areas adjacent to the beach had quite a bit of litter. As a chef, I thoroughly enjoyed all of my meals at the hotel restaurant, Tribes. I found the owner, Kofi, to be super friendly and an excellent chef.

The hotel is about 5 or 10min drive from the city center, I would consider this a nice value at about $80USD, more plush hotels go for at least double that price, I am a very basic needs traveler.

Enjoy your vacation

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Execchefwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
35
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cologne
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Really liked my stay there. It is a quiet and nice location where you always have a breez from the see. I think it is more then a bargain for the price and has improved every time I have been there.

As long as you do not expect to go and swim in the sea (beach isn't so nice) I can only recommend the place!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the food was awesome! Classy decor and landscaping; I was pleasantly surprised.

The open restaurant, Tribes, over looking the rocky shore, provided great and welcoming service and atmosphere for enjoyment and relaxation. I really appreciated the accommodating attitude of the restaurant staff.

I would strongly advised anyone staying there to pay as you go and keep any receipts given to you at the hotel; I was asked at the time of check out to pay for a meal I had paid for immediately after receiving the service days before (as I did with all meals and services). I found this billing inaccuracy embarrassing, awkward and frustrating. Fortunately I kept my receipts to prove that I had paid for the meal (one of at least 15 meals that I had there).

The beach is not clean for swimming, in my opinion, but I enjoyed the walks, exposure to the locals there, sunrises and sunsets.

Internet never worked the whole time I was there.
I would definitely stay there again and would recommend a stay here to others.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satinfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel consists of a collection of 'huts' and is so different from faceless, boring business hotels and cheaper too. Rooms were spacious and clean and although we didn't have a sea view it didn't really matter.
Restaurant was great- we ate there two nights out of three- and the staff were efficient and friendly.
Although not right in the centre of town, the location suited us as it was quiet and close to some of the best tourist sites.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annebailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
476 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Afia is foreign co-owned and it shows! Design, service and attention to detail are all very good. Rooms are spacious and well-furnished cottages under palm trees, directly adjoining the beach. The beach looked too dirty for swimming but that doesn't stop the locals on the weekend.
The location is within walking distane of the crafts market and city centre, and Osu is a short taxi trip away.
The food was excellent, if a little pricey, with a good mix of (well made) Ghanaian dishes and European ones. The included breakfast was just toast and tea/coffee, with juices, eggs, fruit salad etc all charged.
Overall, a relaxing and peaceful place to stay, away from the noise and bustle of Accra.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I would definitely recommend Afia African Village hotel. We'd previously stayed at the Niagara Plus in Osu and had been very disappointed, so we didn't hold much expectations when we checked into Afia. But we were thoroughly impressed with Afia (which was cheaper AND the service/cleanliness of the room were much better!). Its location is perfect - within walking distance to the National Museum, Adabraka region, Black Star square and the National Cultural Centre. Although we didn't get a room with oceanview, it didn't really matter as it only took 1 minute to walk to the beach! The room we stayed in had been newly refurbished, and it was very clean. Everything was new in the room, even the air con! The food from the restaurant was excellent and the waiters were very friendly indeed - as was the owner of the hotel, with whom we had the pleasure of having a nice long chat one evening after dinner! Also worth mentioning is the owner's collection of Tintin comic books (available for reading in the lobby) - which kept me entertained most evenings after dinner.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKY_from_Oxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I had to stay at the hotel because the African Regent which was my first choice was fully booked. I stayed at Afia for three days - the rooms are average, the service in the restuarant was appauling and the owner kept interrupting us during meals.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay_Kay3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.8 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
8.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.5 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#26 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Accra Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Accra City Hotel
Accra City Hotel
#13 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afia Beach Hotel

Property: Afia Beach Hotel
Address: No. 2 Liberia Road Extension Osu, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of lush tropical landscape, Afia African Village is a quiet oasis in the vibrant city of Accra, Ghana. The serene oceanfront environment makes Afia a peaceful retreat from the daily activity of life in this busy city. Situated on the Gulf of Guinea, in a gentle bay sweeping from Ghana's Presidential Castle to Jamestown Fishing Harbour,Afia African Village is ideally located to meet the needs and interests of business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has been sensitively designed to take full advantage of the expansive ocean views and cooling sea breezes. Its traditionally styled architecture evokes the very essence of Africa. Within Afia African Village is Afia Beach Hotel,Tribes Bar & Restaurant and Afia Gallery.These three components have created a synergystic experience that has made Afia African Village a popular destination for all visitors to Accra. A Short drive (5 mins) to "Oxford Street" - Accra's main shopping and entertainment area and only 10 - 20 minutes (depending on the traffic) to Kotoka International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Afia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afia African Village Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing