We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, ok location, poor service”
Review of Afia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afia Beach Hotel
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Accra
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great view, ok location, poor service”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed there as our first stop into Ghana for 2 nights. Pickup at the airport was delayed, as they were picking up another group from a different flight, and had us all squished into a small car. The price was great for the room we got (ocean view). The included breakfast option was very limited. We found the staff not very helpful, and almost irritated when we asked questions and advice for places to go. The room itself was very nice, running hot water, a/c and wifi that worked (for a small price). We would stay there again now that we are familier with Accra and Ghana, but would not recommend it to first timers to the country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
35
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The place is not great but considering the prices in Accra one has to put this on their list. It is a very African style hotel right in the center of Accra. Perfect for a few days of party and celebration. The rooms are adequate and clean. However, the beach is not that nice but that's not why you should choose this hotel.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been staying there several times in the last 5 years, the quality and service of the hotel has been steadily declining while the rates have gone up. It is a great lottery which room you get, some rooms are still in a good condition, others have their "issues".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasperCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel this time although I have in the past but I visited the restaurant here which is called "Tribes". The food is really good and fresh fruit juice is available. They have added an extra building right by the beach where you can relax with a cool beer and watch the waves and the people coming by. So what if the the food takes a long time to appear? It's cooked fresh and I was waiting in perfect surroundings where I would be happy to be even if I wasn't waiting for food.
I would recommend a visit to this place. It's a bit difficult to find at the end of a bumpy track which seems to be know as the "ministires area" or the Liberia Road extension.

Room Tip: Those facing the sea are best but they cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibera, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The overall service at the hotel is just bad!! It seemed like a nice place at first and then I checked in my clients there for a week. The food takes close to an hour to get to your table when you order, you pay 4 cedis for an hour's internet use, the owner is a cranky old man who cant take a critique and the waiters could care less about the service. Also, they dont have a late check out policy and you have to pay $10 for each hour you stay after check out. The service at AFIA BEACH is absolutely horrible and no one should go there if you're looking to enjoy quality hotel service.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms gives a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Akuaba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Afia Beach Hotel seemed like a nice enough beach-front hotel to accommodate my father who was coming in from Lagos, Nigeria to visit my sister and I in Accra, Ghana for a week.

Big mistake.

First, he was checked into a room (Room 25) that was already occupied! Next, when he was given another room (Room 21), the lights in the bathroom, as well as the air-conditioner, did not work. We reported the faults to the Front Desk and a technician was assigned to fix them. After about two hours the faults remained unresolved and he was moved to yet another room (Room 17). In this room, the bathroom sink was wobbly, the tap was loose, and there was no water pressure in the taps. The bedside lamp had no bulb in it and the telephone did not work! So, of course, we had to complain yet again.

To our utter dismay, however, the proprietor’s response to our complaint was not an apology but rather: “This is Africa! This is not the West. In Africa, things break down; things do not work. This is what we have in this hotel and nobody has complained. I have prime ministers and other ministers of state coming to stay here and they have no complaints. My staff should have told you how things are here, so you could have decided for yourselves whether you can accept things as they are or not!”

To say we were shocked would be an understatement. At this point, we decided that we had had enough. We gathered Dad’s things, stuffed them back into the suitcase and left the room.

Afia Beach Hotel is most definitely NOT worth even half of the rates they charge; and I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaleeP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice location on the beach. The bar and restaurant terrace is quite welcoming.
The "balcony room" is large and airy, with adequate airco. Nice protected balcony. Good desk.

But…

Bathroom is far below standards (loose sink, no water pressure in the taps, collapsing shower curtain).
No wifi in the room, only at the bar/restaurant.
At the restaurant, if you want service, you must go and look for a waiter, and ask for it, every single time.
The restaurant food is horribly expensive, and dished out in minuscule portions.
The breakfast buffet is rather amateurish affair, offering hardly any variety.

Definitely not a hotel for a business stay, and very expensive for any other kind of stay.
All in all, at around US$ 100 per night, this is no value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BizGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.8 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
8.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.5 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#26 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Accra Beach Hotel
4.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
Accra City Hotel
Accra City Hotel
#16 of 92 in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afia Beach Hotel

Property: Afia Beach Hotel
Address: No. 2 Liberia Road Extension Osu, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of lush tropical landscape, Afia African Village is a quiet oasis in the vibrant city of Accra, Ghana. The serene oceanfront environment makes Afia a peaceful retreat from the daily activity of life in this busy city. Situated on the Gulf of Guinea, in a gentle bay sweeping from Ghana's Presidential Castle to Jamestown Fishing Harbour,Afia African Village is ideally located to meet the needs and interests of business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has been sensitively designed to take full advantage of the expansive ocean views and cooling sea breezes. Its traditionally styled architecture evokes the very essence of Africa. Within Afia African Village is Afia Beach Hotel,Tribes Bar & Restaurant and Afia Gallery.These three components have created a synergystic experience that has made Afia African Village a popular destination for all visitors to Accra. A Short drive (5 mins) to "Oxford Street" - Accra's main shopping and entertainment area and only 10 - 20 minutes (depending on the traffic) to Kotoka International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Afia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afia African Village Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing