We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afia African Village”
Review of Afia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afia Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Accra
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Afia African Village”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a slightly faded hotel on the beach, with reasonable food and bar and aircon internet room.
The individual chalets are a bit shabby, particularly some of the bathrooms, but adequate and come with mosquito nets, aircon and fans.
There is no pool, but there is a tennis court.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No1Sydneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
35
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
272 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I agree with the writers who have commented on the food at the hotel. Great food with a good amount of spice! The hotel staff were very friendly - and the rooms were fine. Simple accommodation, but with hot water and adequate water pressure. The beach is nice, but Ghana is not a beach paradise. If you are planning a beach holiday to Ghana, you should probably reconsider. Low expectations of beaches makes the beach experience even better. There is a very lovely boutique in the hotel that sells amazing craft-work that you will not easily find going around the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Afia Beach Hotel is in a very convenient and peaceful location. It faces onto the relatively clean (compared with many others in Accra) beach which was safe enough to swim in. The room was a little worn, particularly the bathroom, but for the price was very good value and fully functioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The restaurant serves good but comparatively expensive food in a nice location.

The main improvements would be more landscaping to the beach-facing garden and better access to the beach, which at the time of visiting was a bit of a scramble up a bank of rock and sand.

As non-chain West African hotels go, this is one of the best I've encountered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajw136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed there for one week in a beachfront room. Friendly staff, clean everywhere and everything worked, like Internet, AC, TV, Warm water.
The beach can be dirty, as the waves just show us how dirty we all are. Armadas of yellow dressed people came every three days to clean the mess up. So it depends, on which day you walk on the beach.
I appreciated the cultural mixture between tourists and Ghanaians. People who prefer their white linen environment and crystal wine classes should step out and go to a upmarket international place, but if you like to feel a bit of Africa and don't mind to go jogging on the beach, it's a good place for a fair price.

Room Tip: Take the Oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeymissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Upon arrival our taxi driver parked for some minutes, when we checked availability in the reception. The owner started yelling at him, and when we interrupted to pay so he could be going, the owner started yelling at us. The whole situation felt threatening and very uncomfortable. We were about to stay two nights, but changed our minds because of him. When we left on the morrow he started yelling again. Nice to be out of there! I feel sorry for his much nicer employees.

Stayed in an oceanfront room, neat and clean but very simple, not worth 120 dollars. Breakfast was ok, but below expectations. 20 meters to the beach is what one pays for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Accra hotels

Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel was an easy walk to town and markets in Accra. Staff were helpful and bungalows quaint and serviceable with restaurant on the beach. A walk along the beach found an interesting fishing village. Tried to stay at end of tour but was all booked. I found it listed as Afia Beach Hotel.Lots of locals stay here too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffetoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ok I have not stayed here but I ride out there often on the weekends for breakfast. Can't tell you what the rooms/chalets are like but I always wondered how one gets in or out when its raining?! I like the fact the chalets are shaded by trees, almost has this homely feel sragely as its right on the edge of the government offices/business district and right in the middle of two popular tourist attractions; the Kwame Nkrumah memorial and Black Star square and 5mins from Oxford str/Osu.

That staff are super courteous, the meals were always great, a bit pricey for what's supposed to be a 'budget' hotel. The juice is always fresh, and it has a nice rustic African feel with the carved wood columns, chairs, etc. You can whilst your meal is being prep'd browse the gallery/gift shop, a few unusual items in there :)

They've recently (12months) installed a tennis court, hard court (cement) but hey its by the beach! ok the beach suffers from same dirt et al the rest of the Accra suffers but they do their best to clean up what they can.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.5 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#26 of 92 in Accra
61 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.8 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Accra City Hotel
Accra City Hotel
#11 of 92 in Accra
63 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#12 of 92 in Accra
29 reviews
3.3 mi away
Midindi Hotel
Midindi Hotel
#22 of 92 in Accra
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afia Beach Hotel

Property: Afia Beach Hotel
Address: No. 2 Liberia Road Extension Osu, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of lush tropical landscape, Afia African Village is a quiet oasis in the vibrant city of Accra, Ghana. The serene oceanfront environment makes Afia a peaceful retreat from the daily activity of life in this busy city. Situated on the Gulf of Guinea, in a gentle bay sweeping from Ghana's Presidential Castle to Jamestown Fishing Harbour,Afia African Village is ideally located to meet the needs and interests of business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has been sensitively designed to take full advantage of the expansive ocean views and cooling sea breezes. Its traditionally styled architecture evokes the very essence of Africa. Within Afia African Village is Afia Beach Hotel,Tribes Bar & Restaurant and Afia Gallery.These three components have created a synergystic experience that has made Afia African Village a popular destination for all visitors to Accra. A Short drive (5 mins) to "Oxford Street" - Accra's main shopping and entertainment area and only 10 - 20 minutes (depending on the traffic) to Kotoka International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Afia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afia African Village Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing