We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect”
Review of Afia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afia Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Accra
UK
1 review
“Picture Perfect”
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I had always wanted to go to Ghana and found that looking for hotels was a very long process...i searched and found the popular hotels were too expensive and was not the 'african experience' i required. Then i saw the Afia Hotel website and new straight away that was the one to choose.

My husband and i stayed there for 10 days. When we arrived it was very, very humid. We had booked a standard room, it was clean had a tv (with some satellite channels too), air conditioning, fan, fridge - everything we would need. The view from our window was beautiful, we could see the sea, locals exercising along the beach, sunrise - perfect.

The staff couldnt be friendlier! They were very professional, very polite and honest! I have been to other parts of Africa and must say that the locals are very humble, friendly people. The location of the hotel is right near the centre of everything in Accra. When u reach the main road from the hotel 8 minute walk to city centre (to the left), and to the right to Little Oxford (named after Oxford Street in London). We took a can because of heat!

Also if you walk from the hotel to the main road turn left as going into town you see a market full of local art, instruments, etc, whereby you can use your bartering skills.

Food at the hotel was lovely, a good variety and tried almost everything on the menu. Food was reasonably priced. I plan to return to Ghana and would most definitely stay there again. The main thing i loved about this hotel was the location, it was peaceful, clean and honestly priced.

  • Liked — Vibe
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeeMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    38
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
35
29
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2008

If you go to Accra, you must stay here! I dont usually do reviews as I feel a bit of a gimp but I had to for this place. I stayed at Afia African Village for nine days in Feb 2008 during the Africa Cup of Nations. My stay was quite simply brilliant. The accomodation consists of 27 chalets set within leafy grounds overlooking the Atlantic coastline. Rooms are clean, cool, with everything you need including aircon and even satellite tv. The complex is newly built in 2006 and the owners (Helen and Kofi) have created a real African feel to the accommodation topped off by the superb tribes restaurant and bar - one of the few restaurants or bars that overlooks the majestic Gulf of Guinea in Accra. Being close to the coast mosquitos are also discouraged by the breeze, especially the malaria carrying ones that are too small to cope with a breeze.

There is also a stunning artefacts shop on site - be assured there will be absoloutley no pressure to buy anything like in some hotels I've visited in Egypt. Simple reason being this is one of the finest collections of African artefacts anywhere on the continent and customers - Tom Cruise included - actually come to it especially. Hence it's not cheap but have a browse - you'd be charged for the privelige in any museum!

The location is excellent, both tranquil yet near enough to Central Accra to be convenient (5 mins walk from Independence Square and 2 mins from Osu in a taxi). The beach is not a 'tourist beach' but clean enough to stroll on and paddle a bit. It's also safe, providing you don't do anything stupid like walk alone on it too far or at night. Indeed the Afia is arguably in the securist part of what is a city very safe for visitors as it's surrounded by busy government ministries. On this note whilst at the Afia it's a great chance to stroll up the road slowly (its very hot) and try some of the local streetfood. Even if you are ultra cautious on streetfood the roasted plantain, bags of ground nuts and sweet oranges can't possibly do you any harm at all as all are 'peeled'. This a great chance to talk to the Ghanaians who are surely amongst the most friendly and honest people in the world. In short if you are ever in a place that is busy in Ghana you will be safe simply because Ghanaians are around and they will look out for you. Go to the local 'spot' to the left of the first junction as you walk up the road, extra cold chilled star for 50p and a cool breeze. The locals will be pleased to chat but wont bother you either - they will just be happy to see an 'obroni' pop down to say hello. However you will probably eat in Tribes most nights - it's excellent. Especially the Ghanaian food including beans with yams and Banku with Okru stew. So stay at the Afia, even if you are convinced you need a 5 star, you won't be disappointed! Book - especially at weekends. 10 out of 10.

  • Liked — African feel
  • Disliked — I had to leave it
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ObroniLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2008

We have just returned from Ghana, where we spent a week sightseeing and taking in some of the Nations Cup Football matches.
The original idea was to book with one of the big four star hotels in Accra as a base (Holiday Inn, Hilton, Intercontinental Etc) but we saw the reviews for the hotel on this website and decided to take a chance on this instead.

What an excellent decision this turned out to be.

Amongst the chaos that is Accra this hotel was a perfect place to unwind and recharge your batteries.

Situated right on the beach, and 10 minutes walk (or a 1 Cedi Taxi ride) to the City Centre, Football Stadium, Independance Square, Theatre and market made the location perfect.

Although rooms were very reasonably priced at about £35 a night this is regretably way beyond the price range of most locals so our fellow guests were mainly Aid workers, Journalists and fellow European Travellers.

The greeting received on arrival was welcoming the food was of an excellent standard and the hotel staff were all very polite and friendly.

The rooms were in a chalet layout and all were furnished simply but tastefully, with TV, Fridge and a shower that worked (this is a bit of a novelty in Ghana).

Although most of the rooms were occupied the layout meant there was plenty of space to be as secluded as you wished or join in with other guests at the bar area if you preferred.

It is probably not the best choice for a familly who only want to stay all day sipping beer around a swimming pool, but for most other types of Business people or travellers it was an excellent Hotel and great value for money.

A big thank you to Helen and her staff for making our experience in Accra so pleasant.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, Excellent Service good value for money
  • Disliked — No Swimming Pool
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bryancox08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

I've heard many people say that there are few good hotel options in Accra. The rap is that if you want comfort, you've got to pay top dollar for places like La Palm or Labadi Beach. Hogwash. I made my second trip to Ghana within a year just this past August, this time with EIGHT family members in tow. There was no room for us at my favorite Accra haunt, The Mahogany Lodge, so, loving Accra like I do, I tackled the challenge of finding a decent, affordable alternative with relish. After a brief search on the internet and a call for recommendations to a friend based in Accra, I found my alternative at Afia African Village Hotel (also known as Afia Beach Hotel).

It's a very attractive new compound (2006) right on the beach just down from "The Castle" and most critical government ministries, so the area is very secure.

The rooms are clean, pleasant and modern - but definitely not institutional-feeling, generic cubicles - and many have ocean views. Service is great, There's AC and cable TV. Expect to pay only about US $55 to $70. There's a very fine restaurant, Tribes, which has become a favorite haunt of journalists, politicians, ex-pat writers and business people, as well as a diverse group of tourists and volunteers working in west Africa on behalf of the U.N. or various international NGO's.

It's an easy walk to The National Theater, Makola Market or the Art Market, one of the best places to buy authentic work of all kinds made by Ghanaian artisans. And speaking of authentic art, on the first floor of the hotel's main buidling, the owners run the best gallery for serious collectors of African art in the country. Many of the hand-picked items are truly museum quality - therefore, fairly pricey - but it's free to look, and it's a stop well worth an hour or two of your time. It's also well worth holding onto some money for a splurge here on something really exceptional.

The owner, a Ghanaian, and his Australian ex-pat wife are wonderful people, commited to a good experience for their guests. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Liked — Great value for the money
  • Disliked — No comment. We were very happy here.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ThatsMrGranttoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

When looking for reasonable accommodation in Accra, friends recommended this very pleasant family-run guest house.

This place is centrally located for almost anything in Accra close to
Independence Square, the markets and the Art Center.

Built on a slope facing the sea, you have a splendid view from almost
anywhere. Rooms are located in small chalets scattered across the grounds with reception and restaurant in a central building. The rooms are rustic and simple but clean and well maintained with everything you need for a comfortable stay including air conditioning and a refrigerator.

The restaurant is located in a covered patio and serves all meals. The menu is mixed Ghanaian and international, all the food we had was well prepared and reasonably priced.

Two things to be aware of: 1) the hotel does have a generator to provide power during “light-outs”, however it isn’t powerful enough to drive the air conditioners and 2) although you can enjoy the views of the beach and sea, the beach itself is full of rubbish.

Both staff and management are extremely helpful and friendly so we really feel welcome and well taken care of.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Lack of AC during light-out
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wohlert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
3.5 mi away
Bojo Beach Resort
Bojo Beach Resort
#26 of 92 in Accra
61 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
3.8 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Accra City Hotel
Accra City Hotel
#11 of 92 in Accra
63 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#12 of 92 in Accra
29 reviews
4.2 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afia Beach Hotel

Property: Afia Beach Hotel
Address: No. 2 Liberia Road Extension Osu, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of lush tropical landscape, Afia African Village is a quiet oasis in the vibrant city of Accra, Ghana. The serene oceanfront environment makes Afia a peaceful retreat from the daily activity of life in this busy city. Situated on the Gulf of Guinea, in a gentle bay sweeping from Ghana's Presidential Castle to Jamestown Fishing Harbour,Afia African Village is ideally located to meet the needs and interests of business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has been sensitively designed to take full advantage of the expansive ocean views and cooling sea breezes. Its traditionally styled architecture evokes the very essence of Africa. Within Afia African Village is Afia Beach Hotel,Tribes Bar & Restaurant and Afia Gallery.These three components have created a synergystic experience that has made Afia African Village a popular destination for all visitors to Accra. A Short drive (5 mins) to "Oxford Street" - Accra's main shopping and entertainment area and only 10 - 20 minutes (depending on the traffic) to Kotoka International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Afia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afia African Village Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing