We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An update on my previous review”
Review of Afia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afia Beach Hotel
Ranked #38 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I decided to give Afia another try (November 3- November 7, 2011)…and this time it was much better service. In fact, the owner confronted me about my aloofness during my stay and I told him about his rude/crude behavior when I was there last year. He apologized profusely and was extremely accommodating this time around.

The only down side is that the price of food in their café has dramatically increased and the water pressure in the shower was minimal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank florinedemosthene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

We chose Afia Beach as it seemed a more reasonable price than most of the hotels in Osu and ended up staying on 3 separate occasions during our trip to west Africa.. The hotel is situated on the beach about 10 minutes walk from Independence Arch. Its possible to walk to the main part of the Centre in around 20 mins but to get to Osu on a night you need a taxi. The hotel comprises of wooden chalets on the beach and up a slight incline towards the reception and restaurant. Some guide books say you can see the sea from the restaurant but this isn’t actually correct. However when we visited in Nov 11 the hotel was building a new restaurant on the beach.

A downside of this will be that the new restaurant will be directly in front of two of the beach front chalets -room 27 being one, and that was our room on our first visit. This meant that we could see the sea but that we were looking through the ‘under construction’ restaurant. The hotel is open to the beach which could be a security risk but at night there is a watchmen armed with stick and large dog.The room had a mosquito net, fridge and A/C and was decorated simply. The room showed signs of wear and tear but seemed clean and we slept well both nights we were there. Our second room was room 26- again seemed reasonably clean and simply decorated though there were a couple of problems- when using the sink, the pipe at the back wasn’t attached properly so all the water ran straight onto the floor.The hot water boiler didn’t work either but by this stage we were used to cold water showers so that was OK. The third room was room 11 which I felt was in the best location, had the best sea view and none of the small glitches the other rooms had.

A couple of negative points - the beach in front of the hotel can be quite dirty. Also next door is a waste ground which is the site of a now demolished hotel which people seem to use as a tip. On one occasion we were sat by the sea as the wind changed direction and had to move due to the smell. The beachfront chalets, rooms 1 and 2 are right next to the waste ground. However, it looks like the site is starting to be developed so the unofficial tipping site may move . Another negative was that the bar/restaurant closed at 10.30 on our first night. The hotel was quite empty but this took us by surprise on the night we arrived and we were unable to buy a late drink. I believe they stay open later if there are guests still eating but it isn’t a late night venue.

The owner Kofi was helpful and arranged a driver to take us to the Togo border and the staff were generally friendly and polite though the service in the restaurant was quite slow. There are some shower facilities in the new restaurant which are handy for late departures though the charge of 15 Cedi’s to use the shower and get a towel was a bit steep. As is the charge for wifi internet.

In summary, Afia Beach seems a reasonably mid range choice for Accra- its perfectly Ok though expect a few rough edges here and there if you’re expecting mid range to equate to a similar category in Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I return to Afia time and time again. It is a really pleasant and relaxing place to be in, very close to the ministries in Accra, with a nice sea frontage. (Not for swimming, the water so close to this city is probably very polluted, but the view is great and there is always a nice breeze.
The rooms are basic, but with all the necessary facilities, air conditioning, TV, fridge. Some have verandah's and picture windows overlooking the ocean.
The restaurant (Tribes) is excellent and the people are always very very friendly. Each time I return there, I'm treated like an old friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Very nice hotel if you consider atmosphere more important than standard. Wonderful location by the sea, fantastic restaurant - I only had breakfast, but it was very good and with the view...wow!
The rooms are simple, but spacious and functional.
This was my second trip to Accra and it was a much nicer experience than my first when I stayed at the Golden Tulip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Kiasi_Gani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We started our trip around Ghana here at the Afia Village staying for three nights and then moving on, we then returned at the end of our trip for a further four nights. The rooms are spacious, all with both a front and rear access. Our first stay was in the ocean view room which had a much larger bed than the 2nd room. For us, the extra charge for the ocean view wasn't worth it but if you intend to spend a lot of time sat on your patio (which every room has) then maybe you would benefit from the sea view. The bed in the 2nd room was smaller but still large so we still had plenty of sleeping space with the added bonus of more room space. The staff were all extremely helpful and very pleasant. Breakfast is "relaxed".
We arrived at midnight, and having never been to Ghana before, were a little concerned at the rough appearance of the entry road, much better in the day! We ate many meals in the hotel and were satisfied with them all; tasty and well presented although compared to other restaurants in Accra, the portions were somewhat smaller. A new restaurant is being built on the beach front which we're sure will be a big hit, although it will impact on the peace and quality of the ocean view rooms which are more expensive than the others!
If we return to Accra we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossendalelynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Afia African Village was definitely expensive but a worthwhile splurge just to get away from things. Our hotel room was clean and the (unnecessary) mosquito netting made it feel romantic. There was an operable TV, plenty of storage for our luggage and a spot to sit and relax. We were a short walk out to the beach where we could sit sipping drinks and reading. The hotel restaurant was yummy. From the hotel we could walk into town or take a short cab ride.

Room Tip: Definitely make reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I spent several nights at Afia African hotel with my mother and a friend after they had spent 2 weeks in a remote town. The rooms were nice with comfortable beds; overhead fans and AC options; decent shower; mosquito nets (though we didn't really need them) and good places to put things. We had adjoining ocean front rooms. Ocean front added having a deck with a table and chairs and stairs that walk down to the overlook of the beach. From the deck you look directly out on the ocean with palm trees around the decks providing some added privacy. It is very pleasant to sit out on the decks and was the highlight of the hotel. There are also hotel gazebos down near the ocean.

There is a good restaurant with great french fries. Service is typical for Ghana in that it is friendly but takes quite a while to get food. The restaurant is expensive for Ghana and only toast and tea/coffee are included for breakfast. You don't mind the service that much as the restaurant is very pleasant with open air setting and greenery all around. There is a second restaurant ocean front which will open in Sept 2011.

The beach in front and next to the hotel have a lot of trash on them and are near public access so there are a good number of people walking along it - makes for good people watching but not good sitting or walking on beach itself. We did see people cleaning the beach on of the days we were there. Near the hotel is the National Cultural Center which is really a set of craft workshops and shops - we walked there one day and got beyond the initial hawkers to the workshops along the beach and found old carvings and enjoyed talking the shop keepers there.

There is internet but it doesn't work well in the rooms and you have pay $2.75 per hour or so. I did use it mostly in the reception area.

You can't really walk to other restaurants or other sites but that was fine with us. There are always taxis right there and it was $2 to go to the main Osu area for restaurants and shopping.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 14 and 15 which are ocean front and they were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingRachelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
7.5 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#14 of 90 in Accra
37 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
2.8 mi away
Kings Royal Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Niagara Hotel
Niagara Hotel
#66 of 90 in Accra
62 reviews
5.3 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afia Beach Hotel

Address: No. 2 Liberia Road Extension Osu, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Accra
Price Range: $136 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of lush tropical landscape, Afia African Village is a quiet oasis in the vibrant city of Accra, Ghana. The serene oceanfront environment makes Afia a peaceful retreat from the daily activity of life in this busy city. Situated on the Gulf of Guinea, in a gentle bay sweeping from Ghana's Presidential Castle to Jamestown Fishing Harbour,Afia African Village is ideally located to meet the needs and interests of business travellers and tourists alike. The hotel has been sensitively designed to take full advantage of the expansive ocean views and cooling sea breezes. Its traditionally styled architecture evokes the very essence of Africa. Within Afia African Village is Afia Beach Hotel,Tribes Bar & Restaurant and Afia Gallery.These three components have created a synergystic experience that has made Afia African Village a popular destination for all visitors to Accra. A Short drive (5 mins) to "Oxford Street" - Accra's main shopping and entertainment area and only 10 - 20 minutes (depending on the traffic) to Kotoka International Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afia African Village Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing