We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, freindly hotel”
Review of Airport View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport View Hotel
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Accra
Reviewed May 11, 2008

I stayed at the Airport View hotel in February 2008 and found it to be very clean, friendly, helpful and surprisingly quiet and relaxed - I honestly didn't hear one plane in the five days I stayed there even though it's only a three minute taxi ride from the airport. The restaurant was basic by European standards but the food was decent enough. The bar was spartan but friendly and the pool was a godsend for those hot humid February days!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank andygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 251 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2008

I was most impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of the staff at the Airport View Hotel. They were helpful to me in every way possible. They allowed me to leave my giant suitcase in their office while I traveled upcountry for a few days, and then I retrieved it with no problem when I spent my last night with them in Accra. They gave me a room upgrade and charged me less than the published price, perhaps just for being friendly.

The room itself was clean and had all the necessary amenities. I appreciated the mini fridge and cable TV. The bed was comfortable. I ate in the diningroom a few times, the western and Ghanaian food was good. I used the internet there a few times- they only have one computer, in their office, and they charge significantly more than the going rate for internet access. That was kind of a pain, but it was convenient that you could use the internet at any time of day or night, so I was willing to pay a price for that convenience. I would use internet cafes around town for much less money when I was out and about.

I really liked the location. This is very important in Accra- many hotels are located in areas where when you step outside there are a million people trying to sell you things and generally harrassing you. Not so at Airport View- it's far enough away from a major shopping area that people aren't just hanging around, but close enough that if you need to get somewhere you can. It is just off a major highway leading to downtown, but in a pleasant suburban neighborhood. There are tons of tro tros and taxis on the main road, so you can get pretty much anywhere. And the traffic isn't too bad there. The airport is just down the street, and 37 lorry park in the other direction.

I only wish the building had a little more character, and there was somewhere to hang outside. A pool would be nice. But despite these minor issues, I will likely stay there again on my next trip to Ghana.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DJL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

I stayed at this hotel as a leader of a group of well-behaved teenagers who had travelled to Tamale, N Ghana to visit our partnership school there. We were hot, dusty and hungry. The hotel did its best to help us. The rooms were very well appointed, good aircon and bathrooms and satellite tv and wifi. The brand new pool was lovely, clean and we all had an excelllent stay. The manager even went out of his way to purchase some extra wooden crocodiles to remind us of our visit to the holy crocodile pond at Paga. Thoroughly recommended and very reasonably priced at around US$120 per generous double room.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CarolJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

First visit to Ghana and stayed at the Hotel 6 nights October 2007. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spotlessly clean. 2 Minutes from airport but never once disturbed by aircraft noise. Conveniently on main road to city centre. Walking distance (under 1km) to Woolworths shop and (1,5km) new Accra Mall with Game and Shoprite. Hotel has a courtesy car and driver which might be available depending on demand on a full-day (about 12hours) basis (about US$60 plus fuel) or per hour (about US$10, fuel included). Rooms fairly basic, but at $85 I can't complain. In fact my colleague who was there with his wife also only paid $85 for a double occupancy. Especially convenient if you just need a safe, clean and reasonably comfortable base and don't need a gym or intend spending much time at the hotel - there is minimal garden area and no pool. But the suburb is clean and pleasant and I enjoyed early morning exercise walks up different side streets - perfectly safe.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank onganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Solar people and very good, sincere, available, intelligent. Very clean (much more of some hotel of Europe which defines 4 Stars). Excellent cuisine, light and tasty. good people and, above all, honest. beautiful girls (one in particular...)! Also their honest (very!). Manager serene and available that only wants the best for their customers, very friend. To welcome the Mo friend Isaac (in bar) and the other of which do not recall the name. If D in Accra, stay in this hotel.
The people of Ghana deserves many good deals.
Bye Bye Vito Daniele( The Italian)

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Italian0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

A friendly little hotel that was very convenient for Kotoka airport. The air conditioning was reliable and they serve European food.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Tolonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
Thank RK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Accra hotels
1 mi away
The African Regent Hotel
4 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#2 of 90 in Accra
668 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oak Plaza Hotel East Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#14 of 90 in Accra
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiesta Royale Hotel
Fiesta Royale Hotel
#13 of 90 in Accra
247 reviews
3.9 mi away
Movenpick Ambassador Hotel Accra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport View Hotel

Address: No. 2 Amicar Kabral Road | Airport, Accra, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Accra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Accra
Price Range: $131 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEAREST HOTEL FROM AIRPORT Located adjacent Accra's international airport, the hotel offers a unique combination of world class service, facilities and a fantastic location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Airport View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport View Accra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing